We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it. AMAZING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney
Ranked #88 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it. AMAZING”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Amazing staff, amazing people. The kitchen was well stocked, the rooms were clean, the laundry was cheaper than any other hostel I've stayed at, and the staff were super friendly and always helpful. There's a party or something to do every night, it's close to tons of pubs and clubs, as well as a short walk from the CBD. They have a job board, and a few times a week had people coming in looking for workers, so great hostel to stay at if you're planning to find work. The people can be loud, but you stay there to have a good time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    42
    33
    24
    29
See reviews for
Families
0
38
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North West UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

read some of the previous reviews and it wasn't the same place. The staff rete great and helpful. The building is nessled the heart of kings cross a short walk from the metro.15 mins from the harbour bridge area. The decor is, well funky, with hand painted characters on room dots. The room we had was a double, and dispute the location and party next door it was quiet enough. The well stocked kitchen equipment could, keep ask but the most anal chief happy ..all in all clean safe and nothing feral in sight

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Ok this hostel in not perfect but i met so many cool friends, that my stay was perfect.

Good points :
-location in king cross, close to pubs and clubs
- i had a 3 dorm room for me and 2 friends so with no other guest, the room was tiny but with clean sheets, confy bed, fan
-party every night, the staff brings you in different places every night with free entry, by walk or by bus
- roof top, small but so cool to meet people and we also had a BBQ with the staff for 3 $, it was cool

Bad points :
- internet was expensive
- tiny kitchen and a bit dirty

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Rochelle, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

good welcome but If we like dirt and cockroaches, parties until 3am, noise in the hall, it`s the place to go! Very bad experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustineLeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I was here with my girlfriend..not the good place if you are looking for something quiet and very clean.. we had the smell of the outside restaurant in our room. Drunk people knocking at the door at 2am. Party on the roof with loud music every night... etc etc ..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blumenau, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The hostel is a little bit dirty. The main issue I had to face was that the night man stole me AUS 12.00. Yeah, that's no a typo. The doorman stole me 12.00 australian bucks. The hostel pay a part of your shuttle service. I bought my ticket for the shuttle service in the night before I had to travel. In the next morning I was surprised when the morning receptionist told me that there was no indication that I had payed and that I should pay again. I tried to talk to them via skype, however they did not answer me. Thus I'm making this complain to tell everybody to boycott them. Do not use this hostel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafa-Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Good place to stay overall, met some nice people.

Beware of the longtermers...VERY clicky. Almost immpossible to get involved or get a seat on the roof when they are all up there, which is practically everynight.

Beware the intercom....particularly at its loudest on weekend mornings!!Very annoying and unnecassary, only hostel I've ever stayed in with this happening... Everyone knows the checkout time is 10.00am, there is no need for it to be continuosly shouted throughout the hostel from 9.00am-10.00am.

Cleaners are good but be aware of other members of staff just letting themselves into your room...not ideal.
Some members of staff on reception can also be particularly rude. Others not though :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller198999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Jackaroo Hostel
#23 of 137 in Sydney
279 reviews
The Village Surry Hills
#82 of 137 in Sydney
132 reviews
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#34 of 137 in Sydney
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 137 in Sydney
1,298 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 137 in Sydney
396 reviews
Newtown
Billabong Gardens
Billabong Gardens
#1 of 2 in Newtown
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney

Property: Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney
Address: 23 Darlinghurst Rd | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Funk House Backpackers Hostel is known for providing safe, clean, cheap accommodation. Located in the heart of Sydney's main entertainment precinct, the best night life is right on your doorstep. All of Sydney's best bars, clubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. It's the Sydney backpacker experience not to be missed.You are close to all of Sydney's main attractions and can walk through the Botanical Gardens to the Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge or the CBD. Don't fancy the walk? Then it's only five minutes by train. If the beach is more you then Bondi is less than 15 minutes away.Meet our friendly staff for help with organising your tours providing free travel advice including bus passes, East Coast travel packages and more. With free breakfast, free KX Kit (with lots of goodies including food and drink vouchers, sim card and more), 24 hour internet access and WiFi facilities... we have it all.We invite all you backpackers, independent travellers and other Funky people to check out our unique, Funky atmosphere and famous Funky murals of our budget backpackers hostel right in the heart of Sydney. With only 3 to 4 beds in each dormitory, you can book an entire room with your mates.The Funkhouse Backpackers Hostel is owned and run by travellers for travellers. We want you to have the best experience of Sydney and the rest of Australia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing