We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney
Ranked #93 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Me and my friends got 2 4 bedroom dorms. Really cheap location was good. Great environment. We were pre drinking on the balcony and the backpackers were heaps friendly. The only bad thing is the carpet had mould and it was quite abit of a walk to the toilet. Had an awesome night out and was easier to come back and get changed if something happened while your in the cross

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lankost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Thank God we only checked in for a night. We were given an all female 4 bedroom dorm and the room is really squeezy despite the staff's assurance that it is big and spacious and we will like it. (We actually booked for an all female 3 bedroom. Whatever) Hell, we did not. There is only room for you to put your luggages and to climb up and down the bunks. Our room was a 15s walk from the toilet so it was kinda annoying. The female bathroom is dimly lighted and the lighting works on sensors. So if you have been staying in the bathroom for too long, the lights would just automatically turn off. Bathroom is dirty and smells...

Breakfast is just toast and coffee and tea. Staffs are friendly though. We chose this hostel because of its generally positive review but I guess it's funk only because of the parties they have and the paintings on their walls and doors... Not suitable if you're finding for a place to rest and have a peaceful night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happysingaporean123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Only stayed here for a night, but in general it's a good hostel. Good value for money and the staff there are exceptionally helpful and nice. Rooms could use a little bit of sprucing up, but the atmosphere really makes up for it. Overall solid hostel

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlosAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Funkhouse was great hostel with a fun vibe and very friendly staff, especially Joanna! Joanna managed to help me and my friends out big time in finding a suitable room last minute so I'm forever grateful to her, plus she is really hot.

I highly recommend checking into Funkhouse, it's situated in a fun area, close to a cheap supermarket and plenty of nice bars and clubs. It's a perfect way to immerse yourself into Sydney.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Found this place online and saw some good reviews so I expected this to be a decent place but it turned out to be far from expectations. Bathrooms and rooms are reasonably clean but the wooden blankets/duvets smell. We were pretty disappointed because it's during winter and we really needed it to keep us warm. For people who dont club and drink much, this might not be a comfortable place for you. The whole street leading to the backpackers is full of clubs and pubs. If you're coming with a group of girls and planning to walk around late at night, I wouldn't recommend this place! But the best part is that they provide simple breakfast! This is really convenient and saves a lot if you're staying for a long period! Also, the staffs here are friendly and they will make you feel at home! For the price of 26 dollars, I think this place isn't too bad although it gets really noisy on those clubbing nights!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eelynnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Was here for one night, and did the trick. Close to King Cross station, night clubs etc
Probably wouldn't recommend getting a room that is road side and a good night sleep, particularly on the weekends with clubs going to 4am and roadside traffic.
Didn't get the chance to use the breakfast service as we were out fairly early doing activities

Staff were cheerful and helpful, as two of us had never been to Sydney, so their recommendations were great.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Mara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Cheap and clean, this hostel is highly to be recommanded in Kings Cross district, where you may live more bad experiences than good ones, when you choose a hostel.
Tight clean rooms, 3 kinds of toilet (male, female, unisex), all clean as well.

Don't go there therefore if you're afraid with comics! A huge comic character drawing is painted on each room door (Superman, Catwoman...), which makes the tight corridors even tighter!

Free breakfast is with toasts, butter, jam, tea and coffee.

3 minutes walk up to Kings Cross Station.

And the plus : shuttle to the airport for 12 dollars, which is far cheaper than train or taxi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierlouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Village Surry Hills
#94 of 145 in Sydney
144 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#23 of 145 in Sydney
725 reviews
Jackaroo Hostel
#29 of 145 in Sydney
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#10 of 145 in Sydney
421 reviews
790 on George
#56 of 145 in Sydney
207 reviews
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#41 of 145 in Sydney
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney

Address: 23 Darlinghurst Rd | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: £19 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Funk House Backpackers Hostel is known for providing safe, clean, cheap accommodation. Located in the heart of Sydney's main entertainment precinct, the best night life is right on your doorstep. All of Sydney's best bars, clubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. It's the Sydney backpacker experience not to be missed.You are close to all of Sydney's main attractions and can walk through the Botanical Gardens to the Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge or the CBD. Don't fancy the walk? Then it's only five minutes by train. If the beach is more you then Bondi is less than 15 minutes away.Meet our friendly staff for help with organising your tours providing free travel advice including bus passes, East Coast travel packages and more. With free breakfast, free KX Kit (with lots of goodies including food and drink vouchers, sim card and more), 24 hour internet access and WiFi facilities... we have it all.We invite all you backpackers, independent travellers and other Funky people to check out our unique, Funky atmosphere and famous Funky murals of our budget backpackers hostel right in the heart of Sydney. With only 3 to 4 beds in each dormitory, you can book an entire room with your mates.The Funkhouse Backpackers Hostel is owned and run by travellers for travellers. We want you to have the best experience of Sydney and the rest of Australia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing