We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney
Ranked #90 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Can't beat it for the value.... Could be cleaner I guess but what do you expect with the word backpackers in the name. Great place for what it is. If you are in the area & want a place for a great price, this is it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRLASVEGAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    42
    33
    24
    30
See reviews for
Families
0
39
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I'm a backpacker,stayed here for a month,then came back for a second time.The staff are so.helpful and friendly gives the.place a warm atmosphere.The wifi showers and breakfast are decent,I like the rooftop the TV room.It's a little dirty but that's to be expected with so many back packing residents,having said that all the residents are lovely and fit well into the vibe of the place. I get the impression that if a resident was a complete tool they wouldnt last long.Safe,happy fun environment highly recommend to first time backpackers

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellybeanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Funny how this place won't refund my money a day in advance. My flight was canceled and I couldn't make it. Keep in mind you also get blast mail from them. I didn't enjoy this experience. I also emailed them and got a response stating they wouldn't refund me. I'm sure there are better places for people who may have something come up.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Classic952612763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The staff here aren't particularly friendly. The first thing they get you to do when you arrive is sign a long list of strict and unfair rules, such as no deodorant in the rooms. I personally am not a fan of small dorms, and all the dorm rooms here are for 3 to 4 people. The toilets aren't particularly clean, and the place was very noisy into the early hours. They don't offer refunds, which was inconvenient for us as an hour after asking to stay an extra night, a relative offered us to stay at their place however the hostel refused to refund, or even give a discount. The breakfast is literally a loaf of bread and some cereals in a container which you make yourself. The common room is dirty. The wifi is good though and I enjoyed the individual artwork on each room door. Very average in my opinion.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cimmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

this hostel is the est in sydney by far!
We stayed there for most of the summer and had a ball, the staff were excellent, cleaners considerate to our needs ( ie when I wanted a lyin!)
Hostel clean, tidy, lovely HOT showers etc...
free breakfast was useful, and movie night fun!
overall a lovely homely hostel and family feel.... thanks xx

Room Tip: only 3 or 4 bed dorms..... Winner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

After many backpacker, I can tell it was the bet one!!
This Hostel is the best for start your new adventure in Sydney!
I made so many friends there, I'll remember all my life this place!!!
Everybody talk with everybody, we help each-others etc.
I lived 6months in this place! My first 2months and after living in a flat for few months I went back in this Hostel because was better finally! You feel like you're at home with a lot of friends! Can't imagine before that I'll live in a backpacker, but this place is really nice and the peoples at the reception are really nice as well!!! (Johanna, Sam, And Marcus the director)
If you want to hanging out, tcheck the blackboard you will found the place to go for the night, and if you want to sleep because you work it's fine, you have some quiet room for the Long Term resident)
I had my best parties on the rooftop, and every fridays there is a BBQ!
I recommend this place absolutely!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALEXsansDrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here for four nights because it was the best option we could find (we didn't plan much...), and it ended up being pretty good.

Since we were staying for 4nights we had free pick up from the airport, but the company that runs them was not the best... We had to wait for over 2 hours. Anyway, that was not the hostel fault and we saved $30.

The hostel is easy to find and walking distance to the CBD, which is good as we didn't need to spend much in public transport. The only bad point of the location is that the area is not very nice if you don't want to just get smashed every night...

When we arrived one of the receptionist checked us in and gave us our keys. There was a deposit of $20 (mentioned in their website though) that we got back with no problems when checking out. The room was private with a double bed and shared bathroom. It had a TV, a little fridge, a table and a chair, and although it was tiny there was enough room for all our stuff. The most important thing is that the sheets were clean and the room too (it was not immaculate, but remember it is not a hotel!). We even got our rubbish removed every day! Bathrooms were cleaned regularly too. The bed was quite comfortable.

They offered free breakfast every morning, which consisted of toast, tea and coffee, and cereal. It was nothing special, but it saved us some money...

We only had two "issues" during our stay, and they weren't too bad. The first one was on arrival. Since we arrived after 6pm they had run out of towels for hire, so we couldn't have a shower until the next day... In the morning they didn't have any yet, so I was reccommended by the receptionist to buy some in a cheap shop nearby, as so I did ($8 per towel, not that bad I guess...). The other problem was during the last night there, some drunk guy was smashing all the doors and yelling some crap in the middle of the night which must've woken everybody, this went on for at least 20 minutes

In conclussion, this place is great if you want to get something cheaper than a hotel, but I wouldn't reccommend it if you expect the "luxuries" that you can get in a hotel. It was not heaps cheap though, I'm sure you can get something cheaper, but I don't know about better value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inmajake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#35 of 139 in Sydney
120 reviews
Jackaroo Hostel
#24 of 139 in Sydney
286 reviews
Darlinghurst
Nates Place Backpackers
Nates Place Backpackers
#39 of 139 in Sydney
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village Surry Hills
#89 of 139 in Sydney
138 reviews
Newtown
Billabong Gardens
Billabong Gardens
#1 of 2 in Newtown
145 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 139 in Sydney
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney

Property: Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney
Address: 23 Darlinghurst Rd | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Funk House Backpackers Hostel is known for providing safe, clean, cheap accommodation. Located in the heart of Sydney's main entertainment precinct, the best night life is right on your doorstep. All of Sydney's best bars, clubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. It's the Sydney backpacker experience not to be missed.You are close to all of Sydney's main attractions and can walk through the Botanical Gardens to the Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge or the CBD. Don't fancy the walk? Then it's only five minutes by train. If the beach is more you then Bondi is less than 15 minutes away.Meet our friendly staff for help with organising your tours providing free travel advice including bus passes, East Coast travel packages and more. With free breakfast, free KX Kit (with lots of goodies including food and drink vouchers, sim card and more), 24 hour internet access and WiFi facilities... we have it all.We invite all you backpackers, independent travellers and other Funky people to check out our unique, Funky atmosphere and famous Funky murals of our budget backpackers hostel right in the heart of Sydney. With only 3 to 4 beds in each dormitory, you can book an entire room with your mates.The Funkhouse Backpackers Hostel is owned and run by travellers for travellers. We want you to have the best experience of Sydney and the rest of Australia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing