We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dury House's Backpacker

Dury House's Backpacker
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dury House's Backpacker
Ranked #91 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Arrived late to find the front door locked. Not what you want when you're right in the middle of the red light district! Had to keep banging on the doors until someone let us in even though we had told them our arrival time. Everyone in there looked like they had been smoking something for definite! The rooms were dirty and full of long term peope with their stuff everywhere. Wifi gets turned off overnight. The kitchen is tiny. Checked out after just one night and went to the jolly swagmans round the corner. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I recently spent 1 week at this hostel. Roy at the front desk was nice enough to wait for me to check in after 11PM. The hostel rates are cheap compared to others around Sydney, and the location makes for easy access when getting around by train or bus. There is a library next door, and a variety of stores and restaurants nearby all within walking distance. I stayed in a 6 bedroom dorm away from the street which I heard was much quieter than the rooms facing the street. Free rice and bread are served daily, kitchen area is nice with dishes available, the room had a mini fridge, hot/cold water for showers and it was cleaned throughout the week. The mattress was kind of lumpy but had no bugs/stains or foul odors. I really enjoyed that this is not a party/club hostel, there is plenty of that in the neighborhood. Overall, I had a safe and restful stay. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room away from the street for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We arrived in Dury House after spending 32 dollars a night in an awful hostel on Forbes Street, down the hill from here, and we couldn't believe how much better it was! Our weekly rate for an 8 bed dorm worked out around 18dollars a night, which is amazing considering we're here at the start of peak season and everywhere else seemed to be double or more that price! There's free wifi (which is hard to come by in Sydney!!!) free rice, free bread, jam, spread and peanut butter as well as tea and coffee! Dury House felt like a little home for the week! The room was cleaned daily, It actually fit 8 people comfortably which is another rarity in Sydney! We met loads of other travellers, the roof is a great feature for socialising and goon-drinking!
The only real negatives are that the noise from the street, it's pretty relentless throughout the night, especially Friday and Saturday nights because Kings Cross is such a party area. The other drawback might be that although the kitchen is clean and well-stocked it's quite small, especially for the number of people using it at one time! All things considered however, we had a great stay and would highly recommend it... whether you're on a tight budget or not!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed for two months whilst working in Sydney. The owner is very friendly and kept dropping the price each week from $120 - $100 by week 3. This was the best we found locally at the time.

Dorms are 8 or 6 bed. Each has a fridge and bathroom attached. They get cleaned every day.

The place is a bit worn and the kitchen appliances in particular were pretty bad, although as it turns out these were replaced a few days before we left (damn!)

The free WiFi was very welcome as was the free bread (plus spread/jam) and rice which gets topped up throughout the day.

All in all it was great for us - cheap, nice to save on internet/food basics.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missinglouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#33 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Jackaroo Hostel
#22 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Kings Cross
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asylum Sydney
#61 of 136 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Kings Cross Backpackers
#51 of 136 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dury House's Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dury House's Backpacker

Property: Dury House's Backpacker
Address: 48A Darlinghurst Rd | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Kings Cross
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dury House's Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing