We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kanga Family !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kanga House Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kanga House Backpackers
Ranked #37 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Paris, France
1 review
“Kanga Family !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

As many people already said, the Kanga House is quite simple and the rooms little old, but the big difference with other backbackers was this family atmosphere.. I stayed about 3-4 months there and even if I was far away from my family, anyway I felt home in Kanga House.
Always nice people around, and the positive point is that even if the place is not that big, you can always find some people to talk and spend some time. I've met there amazing people and the staff helped me to find a job !
Other positive point is that Kanga House is really close to the city center, to the botanic garden and this is a nice area to hang out ;) there is a train station at the end of the street so you can move around Syd' easily.
Everything wasn't 1000% perfect, but I really have good memories there. I would recommend it to my best friend for sure !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    13
    10
    10
    17
See reviews for
Families
0
14
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

actually i've been a couple of weeks in kanga, and i would suggest to my best friend although the place, i mean the structure, is not the top, really easy going, with just 5 showers for everyone and a bad free internet connection, but the people around is really good, is like a big family, and also u can easily find a job putting your name in the jobs list, and if u have a problem just go to Peter, the greek one, and he will help u, really nice guy working there ...Brooke is nice as well but sometimes i couldn't understand her words cause the strong australian accent...anyway happy days in kanga house

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rodrigo6624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I love the Kanga house because it is very close to the center of the city, about 20 minutes walking, but without the noise of the streets of the city. Victoria Street is very quiet during the day and also during the night. In three minuts walking you arrive to Kings Cross, where there are many pubs and parties at night. The people from the hostel are very nice and helpful. And, the prices are also good. If you like barbecues every Sunday there is a free barbecue in the backyard.
I'll recommend it to my friends if they come to Sydney!!

Room Tip: The small rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josep c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed 3 months in Kanga House, in summer 2012/13.
Even though it's simple and the rooms are old I enjoyed staying there very much because it's a bit like living with a big family! The people there are very relaxed and you make friends easily. It's a hostel to stay for a longer time.
It's very close to a train station, a supermarket, many cafés, bars and clubs,
At the weekends the atmosphere can be a bit rough in Kings Cross, so it might not be for everyone.
The kitchen is in a good condition, so are the bathrooms.
They have a beautiful backyard and you can see the skyline, which is pretty awesome!
The staff is very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: It depends on the time you go there. In summer it's nice to have a room in the basement, in wint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

its a very cool and relaxed place to stay in sydney its nice and clean the staff is friendly and u fell more welcome then in other places!if u got problems they happy to help u and give u good advises and try to make your stay there as easy as possible!they even try to provide some jobs for the people who stay there even if its not possible to find s.th. 4 everyone every day! its not the biggest hostel so after a few days u start to fell our self comfertable there and it becomes s.th. like our sydney family!!!i loved the place the backyard the view the people the staff!!!!!realy good!!!prices are realy good and u are at the cross so its a 10min walk to the city and with the train its even better!all in all a wonderfull place to stay when u are in the greatest city sydney!!!! greatings to br&fo see u!!!! peter or nils or whatever!!!smiley

Room Tip: get the ones withh view to the city its nicer and more quiet at night times
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nils b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Kanga House is such a wonderful place to stay in Sydney! Not only are you in a great area (and a beautiful street) you have harbour views from some of the rooms and bathrooms. Despite the fact that the views are great, I would have to say the hospitality / friendliness and warmth was this hostels major strength!

It was so lovely to feel included and to speak to so many interesting and friendly people. When you are in a foreign country , it is lovely feeling like you are home.

The staff are friendly, and seem to remember your name and ask you about your day. They also provide jobs for you if you ask them to put your name on the working list. There is free breakfast daily/ Free BBQ on Sunday and free wifi.

This hostel is a family run hostel that is run purely on referrals/ return guests and Word of Mouth. I was lucky to find it that first day strolling on the street!

Kanga House have a lot to do with my great time in Sydney. Thank you- I don't want to go home ;(

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank surasak t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

nice place to stay, friendly staff, close to the city, train station, and anywhere you may wish to visit in Sydney like botanic gardens, opera house and .... cheap rooms, not a 5 star hotel but a lovely backpacker. many long staying guests or returning guests. you can find a job if you like to write down your name in the daily job list and ...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mehdi209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Eva's Backpackers
#13 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#38 of 136 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zing Backpackers
#34 of 136 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 136 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#7 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanga House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanga House Backpackers

Property: Kanga House Backpackers
Address: 141 Victoria St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kanga House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing