We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest Hostel Ever”
Review of Wake Up! Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wake Up! Sydney
Ranked #4 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Biggest Hostel Ever”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This hostel is just the biggest one I've ever seen. We were accomodated in a room with 5 bunk beds, for a total of 10 people sleeping in there.
And there are tons of other rooms too, from the single ones to the even bigger ones.
Bathrooms are cleaned at least twice a day and big enough to serve everyone on the floor (9 levels!). There's a tv room with plenty of seats, a kitchen with a lot of facilities, a bar/club at the lowest level, a sitting/smoking area on the back of the building.
No regular keys, but magnetic key-cards. They also have wifi (quite laggy though) and a lot of pc stations. Staff is really helpful and you can tell they're all young guys fit for the atmosphere, they organize trips to Bondi Beach and sightseeing tours, there's a travel agency inside the hostel with tons of material and also a billboard with job announcements.
What else would you want from a hostel in a big city like Sydney? It's the perfect place to meet people and make new friends, and the price, even high, it's almost the same of other hostels around town.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    491
    170
    51
    27
See reviews for
20
201
601
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Cleanest and most modern hostel I stayed in throughout my whole trip. Facilities were excellent, showers, tv room, kitchens etc. Great location for exploring Sydney, very close to the train station to get out to the beaches! Can't complain in the slightest. Very helpful staff who knew their stuff about the sights. Bunk rooms were large which was a nice suprise, you didn't feel 'on top' of other travellers, especially when we all had large backpacks!

Room Tip: Large bunk rooms are very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateL1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The hostel is great. It's very clean. It's the first big hostel where the staff is really nice.
The organised city-tour is very good!
The bar downstairs is fun.
It would have been night if there was an outside place where you could drink your own alcohol, without buying it in the bar.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed in a double room for 3 nights at the beginning of December. The room was very basic and small, the windows did not open. The room also lacked character, especially when contrasted with the rest of the hostel.

The facilities at the hostel are good (kitchen, toilets, showers). There is also a very helpful travel desk, a nice cafe' and a bar downstairs. The staff are also very friendly.

Overall while the hostel has some good communal facilities, the basic nature of our double room made the whole experience seem very overpriced. We would definitely not stay there again.

Room Tip: Not able to recommend a good room - if you're travelling as a couple and want a double then we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agatabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offaly
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

nice hostel very decent cant complain nice location and reasonable price for sdyney nice little deli on the premises not to expensive rooms are big for a hostel

Room Tip: book very early if ur want to stay for christmas as there rooms go very quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majorca, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This a is an excellent hostel, efficient and friendly staff and perfect location, that enabled the family to explore Sydney with a reasonable price tag.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annarosemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights as a last resort given every hotel and inn in Sydney seemed to be booked solid.

Location wise, it's great and easily identifiable.

The hostel itself is funky, appears to run some cool activities for guests and the girls in my room were very friendly. It you're looking for some down time though it's best to avoid this place. My room faced Pitt St which meant that the street lights and the noise filtered through all night. Further, I don't know if the disco was in the building but there was techno thump music playing all night, until well after 3am and I was on the 6th floor. I never did find out where it was coming from but it really couldn't be avoided.

The best part was when the guy who checked me in repeatedly called me 'dude' even though it was obvious that 1) I'm a woman and 2) I'm not a backpacker.

Bathrooms were adequate and the rooms were of good size for 6 beds (because having spent my early 20s backpacking everywhere, I've seen some shocking attempts to squeeze 6 beds into a bupboard). Young people would probably give this place full marks, if you're looking for comfort and rest .. avoid

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#61 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#10 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wake Up! Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wake Up! Sydney

Property: Wake Up! Sydney
Address: 509 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wake Up! Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner '3rd Best Extra Large Hostel Worldwide' and 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney' at the 2017 Hostelworld 'HOSCARS' awards. Wake Up! Sydney Central represents all that Sydney has to offer. It's modern, it's clean and it's the hub of backpacker activity, right in the heart of Sydney. With a fresh layout, friendly staff and funky activities, Wake Up aims to offer an experience, not just a bed Join us and experience Wake Up! Sydney today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wake Up! Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wake Up! Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing