We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively, fun and modern backpacker hostel”
Review of Wake Up! Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wake Up! Sydney
Ranked #4 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I spent a short time at the hostel whilst I was in Sydney because I had an early flight in the morning. The reception staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Access to the lift and room is via a keycard provided at check-in - so the hostel feels very secure. The hostel is located about 2-3 minutes walk from Central station - take the exit on Eddy Avenue (turn left out of the exit, walk down Eddy Avenue then turn left onto Pitt Street - the hostel is on the opposite side of the road - you can't miss it).

The communal areas are modern, clean and tidy. There is a communal television room and kitchen on the first floor. The television room has a large screen and seating with bean bags and cushions. The adjacent kitchen area is a modern stainless steel kitchen area, the kitchen closes at 10pm.

The reception area has a large circular soft seating area and a large flat screen television showing movies. There are internet terminals at the side of the reception area. Opposite reception there is a kiosk providing local information and careers information.

The room I stayed in was a four-bed dorm. There are lockers provided inside the room which you can use with your own padlock. There are toilets/showers on each floor. Rooms are basic and functional, clean and tidy.

My experience of the hostel is pretty limited because I arrived quite late and left quite early but what I did see was a lively hostel where you can meet great people who are travelling or working in Australia. The hostel has a truly international feel and a great place to meet people. It can be noisy until quite late but most people are doing the same thing and having fun in Sydney so keep it in mind if all you want to do is sleep. I did see a couple of people who had drunk too much and were a little boisterous during the early hours but nothing that wasn't dealt with swiftly by security/reception staff.

I would definately recommend this hostel if you are in Sydney and want to meet new people whilst travelling.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors will be less likely to be disturbed by noise from the communal areas and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lonewayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,076 - 1,082 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights, lovely staff, nice atmosphere, not very noisy (bar is underground so can't really hear it) and they had good activities to do!

Stayed in a 4 share room - was clean and had comfortable beds (2 sets of bunks). The bathrooms were mainly clean, girls can be dirty though...

The quiz night was a lot of fun and I loved that on a day it was raining tons they played movies in the basement with free sweets and popcorn, that was awesome :)

Not a bad location, it's about a 30min walk to the harbour bridge etc, but there is a free bus you can get from near to the hostel as well to get to all the main areas of Sydney.

Loved this hostel, great end to my stay in Aus.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sb1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Was brilliant clean hostel, friendly staff, great fun atmosphere would defiantly stay there again! Thanks wake up!!

Thank Pinkjojojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here for four nights, in a double and an ensuite double. The rooms are cleen and tidy, but very bare. The location in the centre of Sydney is good, but very noisy. A buzzing backpacker hostel, with good facilities, but very dark in places. The airconditioning was either too cold or too hot.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyandClaartje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed at Wake up! for 3 nights and was very disappointed. The staff are very rude and disengaged. They were not at all helpfull, when we asked where the supermarket was she responded with *points* that way then went on to talk to her co-worker, asking for towel hire was just as bad, literally threw the towel at me and said bring it back.
The private room was not at all worth the price, It was barely big enough to fit the very uncomfortable double bed with very old stained linen and barely there pillows. The blinds over the window are between 2 panels of glass and couldn't be opened to look out the window or let any light in.
Very much a Party hostel, there were all night parties in the hallway and surrounding dorms. Noise isn't monitored at all at night.
Also a very dirty hostel. The Bathrooms are filthy the entire time we were there, having to wear thongs to avoid the dirty floors. There was vomit on the hallway floor, brought this to the attention on staff on our first night but was still there when we checked out 3 days later.
When asked at reception if you would like to paid the whole stay or by the night i highly recommend by the night as they don't do refunds.
Maybe is was just a coincidence, but after eating at the cafe we were both very ill and vomiting for a few hours.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMP1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Great hostel. Stayed for 3 nights, could of stayed more! For a hostel, it's a bit expensive but that's Sydney for ya. You get your money's worth, that's for sure. It's more for a party-hardy hostel than travelers one. Great cafe and bar at the bottom of the place. It's great for meeting people and having fun in one of the best cities in the world.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Very good hostel, good service at reception, rooms clean and facilities are very good. More like a hotel feel so i think good value although slightly highly priced compared to some hostels i think this is worth it. Very good security too....good location as close to station and can walk along George street to harbour.......definately reccommend!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlyh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#107 of 179 in Sydney
1,952 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 143 in Sydney
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 143 in Sydney
1,087 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 143 in Sydney
299 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#11 of 143 in Sydney
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wake Up! Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wake Up! Sydney

Address: 509 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: £23 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wake Up! Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner '3rd Best Extra Large Hostel Worldwide' and 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney' at the 2017 Hostelworld 'HOSCARS' awards. Wake Up! Sydney Central represents all that Sydney has to offer. It's modern, it's clean and it's the hub of backpacker activity, right in the heart of Sydney. With a fresh layout, friendly staff and funky activities, Wake Up aims to offer an experience, not just a bed Join us and experience Wake Up! Sydney today. Now with FREE High-Speed Wifi available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wake Up! Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wake Up! Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing