We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party hostel”
Review of Wake Up! Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wake Up! Sydney
Ranked #4 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Perfect for young travellers looking for a party hostel. Great for a starting point in Australia. If you want peace and quiet don't come here. Excellent location opposite central station. Within walking distance of major attractions. Has a bar downstairs which is good place to meet over travellers to party.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sedsy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Glad you had a great time, and particularly glad you enjoyed the location and bar. Hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Wake Up! Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 941 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

First hostel I booked in Sydney. Staff very helpful friendly. Nice big rooms very clean. Good kitchen facilities good bathrooms and showers. Lively place in good location and half decent club in basement not good if you want a good nights sleep. If you want anything be prepared to pay for it. Everything is really expensive you pay lots for wifi lockers laundry food and drink but still worth it in comparison to other hostels

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Bertie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Bertie,

We are very happy to hear we had the pleasure of being your first! Great to hear you enjoyed the staff, rooms and facilities. Thanks for the feedback on the pricing of some of the extras, and as a result of feedback we have decreased the pricing on several of these items over the past few weeks. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and hope we have the chance to have you stay with us again in the future.

Wake Up! Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Most people here are very young. It is pretty cool. Staff are all friendly and outgoing. They have everything you need. The location is convinient. You can go anywhere easily. They can help you with lots of things. From its price, it is awesome.

Thank Yu En H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thanks for the great review! Hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Loved this place Wake up! I never felt homesick when I stayed here. It got SideBar, cafe, internet cafe and lounge room. It was very busy when I stayed but great place to meet other solo travellers. Fab location, a lot of shops and foods nearby too. Near Central Station which is handy! I wasn't happy with one of my room so I asked to switch rooms and the staff were great about that. They were so helpful!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thanks for the review Kelly, and appreciate you choosing to stay with us.

Absolute pleasure having you and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

The Wake Up! team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

This hostel has all the ingredients for a good stay, rooms are big, bathrooms clean, beds comfy, great location and helpful staff. But it's full of 18 year olds just arrived from home and all about the partying. This is ok, everyone likes to party, but when your being woken during the night it can get pretty annoying. I prob would stay again as it's so handy for the city centre and the airport, I'll just be crossing my fingers I get considerate room mates

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank DublinLass26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave some comments for us. We work hard to make sure our in house bar (Side Bar) is a great attraction which hopefully helps people party in the bar instead of the room, but we also have security patrolling the hostel 24 hours to make sure everyone is safe and respectful of others. We are aware of the different needs all travellers have and know some travellers love to party, but also that some value peace and quiet. If we have the pleasure of you staying with us again feel free to let us know if the finger crossing doesn’t work and you need to change rooms to help you properly enjoy the hostel and its facilities. Glad you enjoyed the central location and the massive rooms and certainly hope to see you again soon!

The Wake Up! team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

it was an good but expensive hostel in Sydney, there is no free wifi in here.

rooms are very big for a hostel, showers are good and met nice people in here, people from all over europe (mainly germans but also other nationalities)

there is an bar in the basement, its okey in there, but if you want an nice party you should go somewhere else

this hostel is near the central station, but you should beter take the airport shuttle bus (airport bus is 15 dollars, and the train to the central station is 13 dollars)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Achterstevoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dario,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us some comments, and glad you enjoyed the hostel. We have taken on your feedback regarding the WiFi and dropped the prices by around 30% as a result, so hope this helps on your next stay. Glad to hear you enjoyed the big rooms and showers, and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

The Wake Up! team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This isn't a bad hostel, it's relatively clean and we have stayed there a few times however it defiantly has a party feel, and so if you want a place to relax after a long day walking around Sydney this isn't for you.

We stayed a few nights before Christmas and it was full of 18 year olds who spent all day and night drinking. As I say, if that's what you like, this place is perfect and the staff are very fun and outgoing. This hostel offers a free orientation walk of the city, and although we didn't do it, we heard it was a good way of getting to know Sydney, as well as fellow travellers. Wake up also offers discount vouchers for Side Bar, although we still found the price of drinks to be very expensive, and there are cheaper, nicer places to get drinks in the city such as Shark Bar ($3.50 drinks between 5-7).

The rooms were okay but we found some floors to be cleaner than others. We have stayed in a double room, twin room and 4 bed mixed dorm. The double room was nice and even had a tv. The twin room was small and as it was situated in a corner it was a funny shape, although fine for 1 night. The 4 bed dorm was not a bad size but the lockers were a funny shape so even small day packs didn't fit. In all of the rooms the air con was on pretty high so it got cold of a night.

Didn't buy the wifi as it was expensive-instead I used my phone data.

Wake up is very central and so is in a perfect spot to access the heart of Sydney.

Overall we didn't particularly enjoy our stay here and would not stay here again as it was fairly expensive and not really value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, at the back away from Side Bar. If you get a room on a low floor abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#107 of 179 in Sydney
1,953 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 143 in Sydney
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 143 in Sydney
1,088 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#7 of 143 in Sydney
299 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#12 of 143 in Sydney
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wake Up! Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wake Up! Sydney

Address: 509 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: £23 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wake Up! Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner '3rd Best Extra Large Hostel Worldwide' and 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney' at the 2017 Hostelworld 'HOSCARS' awards. Wake Up! Sydney Central represents all that Sydney has to offer. It's modern, it's clean and it's the hub of backpacker activity, right in the heart of Sydney. With a fresh layout, friendly staff and funky activities, Wake Up aims to offer an experience, not just a bed Join us and experience Wake Up! Sydney today. Now with FREE High-Speed Wifi available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wake Up! Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wake Up! Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing