We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Great Place to Stay!”
Review of Wake Up! Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wake Up! Sydney
Ranked #4 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Got to Wake Up at about 11pm and the staff checked me in really quickly.Its right across from the train station so fantastic from the airport. When I got up to the room it was spotless and really comfortable. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm. Bed was really comfy and the linen was clean (I know should be a basic but isnt always) The bathrooms were fine. I think the volume of traffic through them meant they werent always spotless but they were fine and I didnt have to wait for a shower at all. All in all a really good budget place to stay in the centre of Sydney.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah2009Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2011

This hostel was a little too much for me. I wanted a lively hostel good to meet other travelers however this wasn't it.
Check in was ok a long que but the staff were very friendly and helpful. in reception there were a number of PCs to use the internet. I got to my room (a 10 bed dorm) and was shocked with the level of mess, okay, for a dorm you expect it to be a little untidy, but everything was everywhere.
The room had a small cupboard to put valuables in, however there weren't enough space for all the residents to have a cupboard each. The hostel was very noisy and was difficult to get sleep. Also there were a number of occasions of people having sex in the communal areas.
The people in my room were long term residents of the hostel and hence it wasn't great for meeting new people and fellow travelers.
The location of the hostel was good, walking distance to most of the sites. and the communal bathroom was relatively clean. The hostel also had a very lively bar which was good for drinks music and dance.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 511,915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I was very impressed with the facilities at Wake Up. You require a swipe card to enter each room, so your stuff is safe. The rooms came with lockers - bring ur own locks.

The bathrooms gender separate. The girls bathroom was big and very clean. The water temperature and pressure was very good too.

I have stayed at other hostels and this is by far the best one yet.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryLilly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Great location, friendly staff. Very clean. A great place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiamiTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Great hostel. Huge with plenty going on. Not great value but you get what you pay for and it's a good hostel. Perfect location near the centre of town. Kitchen and TV room very impressive. Loads of computers although internet use quite pricey. They offer loads of activities and good discount to the bar below the hostel, which is very lively on almost all nights. Downside is you might be disturbed by people partying if you're in a big dorm, but this is Sydney, you don't go there to sit in your room. I'd stay here again, met loads of cool people and felt right at home for a 5 night stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masonary84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

The hostel is clean, but totally overcrowded. In the evening it is hardly possible to cook something for everybody is using the kitchen too, but there is not enough pans and pots and cuttlery available. also the fridge is overcrowded and we could not put something in.
the rooms are ok, we stayed in a dorm with 8 people-the room looked like a bomb had exploded.
But it gives you hostel flair!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixitraveltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

A very very good location, with many buses and train within walking distance. People at the reception were really helpful even though we were only there for one night! For a hostel, I slept really well even though I was expecting some noises, rooms were really clean as well. Computers were readily available at a very reasonable rate.

I will definitely go back there again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blurberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 179 in Sydney
1,908 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#65 of 179 in Sydney
4,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 143 in Sydney
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wake Up! Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wake Up! Sydney

Address: 509 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: £23 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wake Up! Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner '3rd Best Extra Large Hostel Worldwide' and 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney' at the 2017 Hostelworld 'HOSCARS' awards. Wake Up! Sydney Central represents all that Sydney has to offer. It's modern, it's clean and it's the hub of backpacker activity, right in the heart of Sydney. With a fresh layout, friendly staff and funky activities, Wake Up aims to offer an experience, not just a bed Join us and experience Wake Up! Sydney today. Now with FREE High-Speed Wifi available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wake Up! Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wake Up! Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing