We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodation adequate at best, staff horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sydney Central Backpackers
Ranked #83 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
“Accomodation adequate at best, staff horrible”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Came here because it was one of the cheaper options in sydney and it was relatively central. These were about the only things this place got right. First and foremost the staff were most definitely the most rude I have experienced in a hostel - everything we asked them was made out to be a hassle and they seemed completely bored and disinterested about the experiences of their guests. There was not even a greeting and every time you walked in they looked at you like you were scum or omething. We dont have massive standards in terms of facilities but the bathrooms were definitelty below par. The shower doeant work hot/cold wise and there is nowhere to put your stuff ao it all gets wet. The toilet was blocked twice and was poorly set up so you could barely use the tap. The whole hostel constantly smells of weed which is bearable to a point but wears thin after a while and the place is loud but at the sametime the hostel doesnt really have a positive party vibe. Not usually one to go out of my way to write a negative review and usually find positives in most of the many hostels ive stayed in but this place definitely needs to lift its game!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meekathorbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    20
    20
    15
    23
See reviews for
2
24
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I have stayed here several times, usually for a week at a time in a dorm room, the great location & easy directions from Danny & his staff made it very very easy to find my way around Sydney. From the moment I was picked up from the airport, via their free shuttle & bought into their hostel, I have experienced truly genuine, friendly staff & guests, I find the hostel very clean & inviting & also very socialable. The rooms were clean & they filled all of my requirements (beds, linen, windows, fans, fridge, power outlets, shelves, bins & other guests(new friends). I will again have the pleasure of staying for another week in October, next month, I look forward to relaxing & having a drink with you all :-X

Room Tip: Remember, this hostel is based in the middle of Kings Cross, so nightlife is always happening!! If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyäegha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

When i arrived to Sydney , I stayed one week in Sydney Central Backpackers.
I had a such great experience! , it's an excellent stay for the price.
Great localisation too , the city center is at 15 min by walk, and there is a lot of bars and clubs near by.
Owner Danny and the staff are very friendly, always here if you need .
Cleaning room every day. Every room has a fridge.
Free breakfast
And the rooftop is awesome with barbecue too.
Would recommended and stay again !

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed at sydney central for a long period of time. the hostel has a really homely and family envirnment. We even left sydney and came straight back there when we returned. You have your own fridge's and sinks in your room so you dont have to worry about putting your food in a communal fridge's for it to get stolen.

It has a roof top which has great views and good to drink on with all the amazing poelpe that you will meet staying there.You are also in walking distance to the train station and a 10 minute walk into the city for when you want to see the sites of sydney. For when you want a night out all the backpacker clubs are a small walk away but its good because the hostel is off the road from all of them so you dont hear any of the noise of kings cross as I have done in the past staying at other hostel's in kings cross.

i would recommend this hostel for people to stay at, I had the best time staying there. met some amazing people and became really good friends with the staff there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Reviews for this hostel vary, the only bad thing I have to say is the kitchen is a little small but never seems to be an issue for anyone, every hostel I've stayed in sydney has a busy dinner period no matter how large the facilities are.
I have stayed in this hostel for a couple of months now as have many people I know here.
Rooms are cleaned every morning and vacuumed as long as your reasonably tidy with your belongings and don't cover the floor.
Bathrooms are cleaned first thing in the morning, after lunch and later in the evening.
24 hour reception, foxtel in the common area, and recently updated wifi.
Always nights to go out on and a great rooftop for weekend socialising in good weather with views of the bridge and opera house.
I would recommend this hostel for anyone ages between 18 and 30!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steviearcher86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I'm a student backpacker and stayed at sydney central backpackers for 2 nights before moving on to chili blue backpackers. I had found Sydney Central Backpackers (SCB) really nice at first glance, but I've then found it quite dirty (the kitchen especially). The room's where not cleaned during my stay once, except they do give you clean fresh linen upon arrival. I would recommend this for those who don't really care about cleanliness and simply want to party since every night there's parties on the rooftop until around 10 and then they go in front of the hostel to finish the partying. I (being a clam and non-partyer backpacker), did not like this hostel, but some say the very opposite. Check it out if you like parties yes! On the opposite hand, if you want tranquility, I would Suggest Eva's which is right beside this one. (more expensive, but really clean and quiet)!
Have fun!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImOverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The other positive and glowing reviews for this property are grossly inaccurate. This is a slum. Plumbing and electrical hazards abound along with other hygiene concerns that would make you want to look elsewhere for your tourist activities. Cramped and useless bathrooms for instance making it all but impossible to enter or exit.

With little exception, the staff were neither friendly nor helpful. Although the hostel advertises itself as a resource for activity planning and booking, not a single staff member I spoke with was willing to provide any helpful information or recommendations. The cooking area was very dirty; the hand towels there for clients to dry dishes with were covered in food residue. They would fall onto the floor and staff would just pick them up for you to use again.

Other guest are as rude as the staff members there and they seem to like to lord over people to make trouble for them, all in all a bad situation even if you thought you wanted to live like a homeless person for over $1000/month. I'd forget booking ANY accommodations with these people.

Room Tip: Do not go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.0 mi away
Eva's Backpackers
Eva's Backpackers
#18 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Original Backpackers Hostel
0.0 mi away
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#35 of 139 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zing Backpackers
Zing Backpackers
#34 of 139 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summer House Backpackers
Summer House Backpackers
#21 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.2 mi away
790 on George
790 on George
#43 of 139 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Central Backpackers

Property: Sydney Central Backpackers
Address: 16 Orwell St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sydney Central Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Central Backpackers has new owners as from this week. We are determined to provide the best value accommodation in the Kings Cross area. Our goal is to make sure your stay with us is one that you will be happy to recommend to friends you make while travelling this big beautiful Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Sydney Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Central Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing