We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - On the expensive side”
Review of Zing Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zing Backpackers
Ranked #35 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location - On the expensive side”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Stayed here for a week when I just moved to Sydney. The place is in a great location - minutes away from restaurants/ shops/ etc...
Rooms - The room was furnished with a fridge and a AC. There was no AC control and I had to always stand on the window to switch it on and off. There was a musty smell in the room which stayed there throughout my stay.
Service - It isn't a hotel so its all self serve. The receptionist Joe was very polite and helpful. Also if you catch the cleaners around they are more than happy to help you.
The bathrooms were always clean. The kitchen was small and only 1 person could cook at a time - they had only one cooker. Additionally they closed it at 10.30pm so if you wanted to cook or heat food after that time your out of luck.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Detritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    47
    27
    16
    10
See reviews for
2
48
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2011

I just checked into this place into a double room and am very impressed with it. it's basically a studio apartment without the private bathroom.

I live in Sydney and stay in hostels coz the rental market is so horrible. I see myself staying here for at least a few months as I am so impressed with this place.

The staff were so friendly when I checked in and they had just defrosted the fridge and not one, but two staff members came to check that everything was okay.

I am very impressed with this place.

They also have modern amenities which makes for a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wild_aucker_liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Lovely receptionist, very friendly. That's where the good stuff ended for us I'm afraid. Smelly, musty, dirty room. Spent 20 minutes or so after arrival swatting the 30 or so mosquitoes that were in the room on the ceiling and the bed. Semen stains & pubic hair on bedsheet. You don't want to know what I saw on the mattress as I changed the bedsheet. We've been on the road for 3 months now (mostly in South America), and this was the first time I've slept in my sleeping bag in a hostel, which tells it's own story. Stay somewhere else.

Also, there's a mean-spirited owner who applies petty charges for everything. Take you business elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKcpl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

My girlfriend and me stayed at travellers rest for five days, 15 minutes walk to the center, tube station 1 minute from the door, the reception was helpfull, the only bad point is the bedroom was a bit dirty with blood stain on the door, strange things on the ceiling and wall, kitchen was ok with juice, bread, jams and coffee for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edu_cecatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorateuroz
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Very friendly backpacker in king cross, in the city center.
The staff is very helpful, they let me store my surfboard during 3 months for free!!!
Futhermore, there are lots of free stuff such as free breackfast, tea and coffee all the day, free pasta, free pick-up from the aeroport...
In each room is a TV, fridge and sometimes a private bathroom.
After 10.30 you have to be quiet, so it's not the best place to make a party, but you're close to the nightclub and it's nice to have a quiet place to stay in Sydney, a very buzy city...
I've been there 2 times and each time was just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explorateuroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

This hostel is in a great location - just a few minutes walk from Kings Cross station, within walking distance of bars & restaurants in Darlinghurst, and in the other direction the street leads to steps down to the harbour.

The staff were friendly and helpful with maps and advice and the free airport pickup was easy to organise and saved approx $12.

There is free internet (one hour per day) and also wifi. I didn't have a laptop so had to use the computers in the reception. This was okay (one is quick and the others slow) except that reception is only open for 3 hours in the morning and 4 hours in the afternoon - when it is closed, the computers can't be used either.

The room (I booked a double with ensuite) was a good size and included a sink, fridge, toaster, kettle, and small table & chairs. The bathroom was really narrow - when the door was opened, it hit the basin and blocked access to the basin and shower. The size was okay overall, just needed some navigation!

However, the room and bathroom were really dark and musty - the smell was so strong that the air freshener in the room could not even be noticed. The sheets were clean but the rest of the room was quite dirty and the corridors were also dirty. The room (Room 3) was also near the entrance and next to the kitchen so was very noisy all night with people arriving home, loud conversations on their phone, and then in the morning people preparing breakfast. It is completely understandable that other guests would make noise, but this room means that it is really difficult to get a good night's sleep.

I chose this hotel because it was one of the least expensive en suite private rooms in the area. The other hostels I considered were the Great Aussie Backpackers (same price) and Aussie Lodge ($5 extra per night). Given that my room at the Travellers Rest was so musty and dirty, if I was going back to Sydney I'd try one of these other options before going back to the Travellers Rest again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine_Ursula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Let me start with the positive first. The location is very good especially if you want to party at the cross, and Oxford st is only about a 15min walk away. The staff a friendly enough but I get the feeling staff change frequently. Price is another bonus especially if there are 2 of you to share the costs of a double or double ensuite. I stayed in a double ($55 per night) and a double ensuite ($65 pn.) The size of the rooms are also pretty good maybe 3m x 4m? You get an hour a day internet and breakfast (which is just toast, spread (but not butter/margarine) and tea/coffee/juice.
Now for the negative things if it is any kind of star it would probably just make it to a 1 stay. You pretty much need to have all your own things - my double room had no cups or cutlery nor do they provide towels (and obviously not soap or shampoo either). But they do provide blankets, sheets and pillows. It really is a little run down, and the kitchen is probably not big enough for the number of people that can stay there. It feels much like it has just grown without any kind of planning

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maoritraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Eva's Backpackers
#18 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
#22 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#46 of 139 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#36 of 139 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zing Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zing Backpackers

Property: Zing Backpackers
Address: 156 Victoria St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Travellers Rest)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Zing Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zing Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Rest Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing