We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Rydges Camperdown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Camperdown
Ranked #153 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 13 March 2008

I've stayed in two Hotels for work purposes in Sydney and this one was the better of the two... barely.

I'll start with what was good - The room service, which had a tasty menu and good prices. It was very prompt and a good temperature.

The only exception to this was one of my breakfasts - most of it was cold and rubbery - like someone had pre-cooked it and left it under a heatlamp.

The beds were large, like the room. The curtains blocked out sun, and the windows were nice and big with a great view of the city. The bathroom was a good size and all the bits and pieces were there.

The room itself was a bit rundown, but it was clean and comfortable. With more then enough space to move around and store luggage and belongings.

There was Internet access in the room as well as a proper desk, table and chair. Turndown service was good and the reception was polite and called me a cab everyday.

Unfortunately, there were quite a few bad factors too.

The TV was just stuffed. The reception on all channels (including pay-per-view) was completely blurry. I called reception but they said there was nothing they could do. For such basic amenity its something that should be at least watchable.

The lift is appauling. Its slow, clunky, sounds like its going to fall and I crossed my fingers every time I got into it. The decor outside the rooms is what I can only describe as completely dated, the carpet and walls were stained/peeling and it was just simply depressing.

The room was sound proofed from outside noise, but for two nights (during the week) there were people running in and out of rooms and around the corridors all night at around 3-4am. Reception refused to do anything about it. How can business travellers stay in a Hotel that allows people to run rampant around the place, holding parties in rooms in the early hours of a work day?

The location is out in the middle of the inner-suburbs so its not close to the CBD, which is fine if you can navigate Sydney public transport (ugh) or your work is covering cab fares.

All in all, a reasonably comfortable stay, the hotel just needs to be updated and refurbished.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank syvergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick_Freeman, General Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, 24 March 2008
Thank you for your feedback. We understand our televisions are becoming dated hence the reason to update them as part of our refurbishment process to LCD's. We do not accept other guests running through the corridors of the Hotel and have Security guards onsite 7 nights a week to deal with issues such as these.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind Regards
Nick Freeman
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    135
    197
    99
    76
See reviews for
113
125
50
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Orange
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2008

I stayed at the Rydges Camperdown for one night last weekend. (thank god it was only one night) What a shocker! Cracks in the wall, filthy worn carpet, cigarette burns on the furniture. Even the lampshades were stained. I've stayed at a stack of hotels over the past 10 years, but this one was the worst by far. I put in a written complaint, but of course the management haven't bothered to respond. Do youself a favour - stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Filthy, worn & way overpriced
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick_Freeman, General Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, 24 March 2008
Our Hotel's refurbishments will include new Carpet, Bed Linen, LCD Televisions, an overhaul of our bathrooms and new furniture and fittings all of which are issues you have bought up in your feedback. Management replies to all comments from our guests via Trip Advisor, our Guest Surveys and any internal guest feedback that is handed to us. Steve please feel free to call me at the Hotel if you would like to discuss anything further as i do not have any of your personal details via this website and am unable to find out whether or not i have replied to you or infact have your feedback.

Regards
Nick Freeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2008

I frequently stay in Hotels and some are good, some are not so good but this is the first time that I have actually complained about a hotel. On arrival, I opened the fridge to take a drink from the mini-bar and there were two half used tubs (one i think coleslaw, the other curry sauce) staring at me open in the fridge. The toilet had a black rim just above the waterline and there were also empty beer bottles behind the curtains. The carpet was very grubby and the bath was in need of a paint. The woman on reception said they were in the process of refurbishing - i can understand thus, to an extent, the carpet being grubby and the bath. However, this is not an excuse for downright filthy rooms. I was going to say nothing until my bill was entirely incorrect- despite booking accomodation for one, my bill was charging me for two breakfasts each morning. In addition, i was overcharged $30 for use of the mini bar. Obviously these were corrected but it exemplified for me the approach in the hotel. The woman on reception seemed more interested in getting me to join their priority club- as if I was ever going to stay there again!!!!

  • Liked — That i was only there for 3 days
  • Disliked — that i was there for 3 days
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyD_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick_Freeman, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, 24 March 2008
We do not see the cleanliness issues you had on your recent stay with us as acceptable. Our Carpets are being replaced as part of our refurbishments and also the baths will be replaced. The black ring around the toilet is not dirt, but also needs to be replaced as the enamel has worn right through. The issues you have raised with our product will be rectified in our refurbishment exercise as mentioned above and the cleaning issues will be taken care of within our team.

Regards
Nick Freeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, AUS
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2008

This hotel is not up to the other standards of Rydges that i have stayed at in the past. The hotel is close to the Uni, RPA and only a couple of kms from the city.
As for the rooms, if you get a city view the view of the city is nice but the rooms are a little tired and give off a dirty feel mainly as the carpet is terrible. There are holes its worn and there are stains. You can see that housekeeping do their best to make these rooms presentable they are just old thats all.
Overall if you get this hotel at the right price (around $120) it is still quite a pleasant stay with nice staff and comfortable beds. Good for a night!

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zammit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick_Freeman, General Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, 11 February 2008
Thank you for your review Zammitt,

You will be pleased to know we are currently in the middle of plans to refurbish our Rooms and in particular our City View Rooms. Replacing the Carpet and touching up our bathrooms along with updated linen and a fresh coat of paint are all part of what we are looking to upgrade in our rooms.

I will pass your comments onto our staff and we look forward to seeing you again when newt in sydney.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2007

This hotel was in a convenient location for us but was far more shabby than I expected, especially for the price. The paint was pealing on the bathroom door, and on the bathroom mirror. But it was clean, had free parking, and the staff seemed friendly. Although we had booked a non-smoking double queen bed room, we were given a smoking, single queen bed room. But we didn't bother asking to change so we don't know if they would have been helpful or not. There was lots of variety for breakfast but I found it fairly mediocre, there was only one staff member on and they ran out of cutlery, so my breakfast was cold before she showed up with more. We were a little surprised to be asked if we had used anything from the minibar when we checked out, as our fridge had only contained a couple of tubs of long-life milk. I would rate this hotel as definitely no more than a 3.5 star hotel, but you pay way too much for it.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the stale smoke smell of the bed linen
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank FussyB00ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2007

Rydges Camperdown is a good comfortable older hotel, some shabby aspects, but clean comfortable quiet rooms and good beds, Excellent location with a wonderful buffet breakfast. Good front of house staff, slow lifts!

  • Liked — position and infrastructure of a large chain
  • Disliked — too many columns in carpark
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albertst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2007

The Rydges Camperdown was a decent hotel, but not outstanding at all. We stayed here over NYE because prices downtown were too expensive. The location is great to get in/out of downtown without much trouble at all, just a cheap bus fare each time and several buses to choose from. We were a little disappointed with a few things in our room - the window wouldn't shut all the way so it was noisy on windy days, there was a big dip in the floor near the bar area, and the heat/air system was very loud & smelly when you first turn it on. Considering we stayed for NYE, the price was decent and location good, but wouldn't spend the money any other time of the year. Staff was EXTREMELY helpful with all aspects of us visiting - helping with transportation options, helping book tours, etc.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank blober0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Camperdown Suites
#132 of 178 in Sydney
18 reviews
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Veriu Camperdown
#33 of 178 in Sydney
101 reviews
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#124 of 178 in Sydney
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Camperdown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Camperdown

Property: Rydges Camperdown
Address: 9 Missenden Rd | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Camperdown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Camperdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Camperdown Sydney Hotel Sydney
Rydges Camperdown Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges Camperdown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing