We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges Camperdown
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)
US$208
US$164
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)
US$209
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$195
US$176
Swissotel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$158
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
US$122
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$273
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$223
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$131
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
29
146
216
107
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
146
216
107
86
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed for 4 nights to celebrate New Years Eve in Sydney. Choose this hotel as every other Sydney hotel was VERY expensive over the New Year period! But the Rydges was great, friendly helpful staff, nice comfortable room, and they left us a bottle of wine and biscuits in our room on New Years Eve!
Location wise, yes its not in the Sydney CBD but we asked at reception about the buses and were directed to the nearby Seven Eleven where we bought a 10 pass bus ticket that we used to get to the city. We even walked a few times to and from Sydney Central Station in around 25 minutes.

Room Tip: High floor city-view room
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_and_Jackie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair W, Guest Relations at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hi Paul and Jackie, thanks very much for your review.

So glad we could help you bring in the New Year in comfort, and that you enjoyed our small NYE gift.

As you mentioned, although we are not in the CBD, we are lucky to have the benefit of a very convenient location, just minutes from the centre of Sydney.

Hope to see you back some time during 2014.

Kind Regards
Janefa Hassan
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had some trepidation, having read the previous reviews, but it was very convenient to where we wanted to be so decided to give it a try. It is a convenient location to lots of things.
We e-mailed beforehand and requested a quiet room. The room was very quiet, facing out over the pool. A pleasant view. The rooms are a bit "jaded" as is the hotel generally, in need of a bit of refurbishment, but the room was big, well equipped and clean. The bed is comfortable and there was a large flat screen TV. The staff were great, pleasant and helpful.
All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair W, Guest Relations at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time out to write your review.

I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed your pool facing room, they certainly are nice and quiet.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments, I’ll be sure to pass them on to the team.

Kind Regards

Janefa Hassan
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed mid January 2014 for 2 nights with 2 for 1 breakfast offer.
Had concerns after reading previous reviews - pleasantly surprised making stay much more enjoyable, so thank you.
Staff - very helpful and kind - nothing was too much trouble.
Rooms - clean, very comfortable - a few cosmetic details to be addressed but nothing "too distressing"!
Breakfast - beautifully presented and plenty of it, making a great start to the day.
Location - easy to get around using buses and on foot.
Cafes/Restaurants etc - reasonable walk to King Street Newtown - well worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bega1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair W, Guest Relations at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time out to provide the feedback about your stay with us.

We’re thrilled to hear that you had such a great time at the hotel and found our team to be very helpful and kind, the rooms clean and comfortable. Hope to see you again soon!

Janefa Hassan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Rydges Camperdown is located at a great location within walking distance to the King St area (with lots of eateries). Also pretty nifty to have buses that connect to the major trains lines and such.

The staff is pretty courteous and try and help us - even when I had to arrive a day later than my wife (they followed my wife's instructions to the latter. Do know that it is an old hotel (control your expectations) but it is adequate.

The price is also very reasonable for a Sydney hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabidcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair W, Guest Relations at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time out to provide the feedback about your stay with us.

I am very pleased to read that our location was very convenient during your stay and that our staff were very courteous and helpful to you.

Although the hotel is an older property, we are continuously working on improving our product offerings and are currently half way through some soft refurbishments in the rooms.
Once again thank you for you kind feedback and we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Janefa Hassan
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

So lets be clear he this review is based on the price we paid for our 7 day stay over New Year. This hotel offered us reasonably priced accomodation when all other hotels at New Year where just sucking the notes from your wallet...so well done on that. I was a little worried about this hotel based on the reviews so here are some of my concerns and whati found:

1 - the staff are rude....absoultely NOT. they could not have been better, they were courteous and could not do enough to help...WELL DONE
2. - the rooms are old ....the rooms are a bit dated but our family room was very large, very clean and had everything we could have needed. Theyeven gave us a bottle of wine and other nice things to wish us happy new year.
3. It is in a bad location ... True it is a bus ride in the city but a. It takes less that 10 mins b. it could not be simpler and c. The staff were brilliant at showing my best options. Also just up the road is a nice student area with loads of different restaurants. We recommend Mad Pizza...they were brilliant.
4. There is no wifi - yes there is and in the lounge it is free and fast with no limits. I used it to update weeks of photos to my back up website with no issues
5. The lifts were poor... I cannot believe someone actually said is on one of the reviews. The lifts were great.

By the way the outdoor pool was nice to!

All in this was an excellent stay at a very reasonable price that exceeded our expectations (which were low).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WTID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel.

I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us, found our team friendly and helpful and our hotel value for money, as we continuously endeavour to exceed our guests’ expectations in service and product.

We hope you had a fantastic New Years and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Clair Warner
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews