We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but expensive ”
Review of Rydges Camperdown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Camperdown
Ranked #156 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average but expensive ”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight with a friend when we went to see a show at the enmore theatre. Paid $220 for our stay with parking for a very average room that needed a proper clean and a broken fridge (with the last guest's leftovers still inside). Then had to deal with swipe cards that didn't work when we came back from our evening out. Not impressed:(

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Winky24273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair W, Guest Relations at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Camperdown.

Please accept my apologises for the inconvenience caused by your swipe keys. Your other comments have also been passed onto our Executive Housekeeping Manager for follow up.

These are by far not the usually high standards that Rydges properties are known for.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Kind Regards
Janefa Hassan
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    136
    199
    100
    76
See reviews for
115
126
50
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Muswellbrook, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

As most of the other reviews state, this place has all you need but very out of date. Rooms are big enough but bathrooms are small. Good breakfast but prepay it to save $7 each. Good location away from the city so not much noise but was good for us as we were seeing a show at enmore theatre and only a 5 min drive if that.. Friendly staff :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaninaBanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair W, Guest Relations at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your stay at Rydges Camperdown. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and found the staff to be friendly as this is something we pride ourselves on.

Your feedback has been passed onto all staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are seeing a show at The Enmore, or in town for other fun reasons.

Thanks again

Kind Regards
Janefa Hassan
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tas, Aus
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel had everything needed and the room was good but a bit tired (scratched tables/ doors etc), could do with a bit of a smarten up. Room was clean though. Also lots of traffic noise over night. Good breakfast. Very close to the university so good location for that.

Room Tip: Perhaps one at the back to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DitaMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair W, Guest Relations at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi, thanks for your feedback, it’s greatly appreciated.

We are continuously working on improving our product offerings and are currently half way through some soft refurbishments in the rooms and restaurant area.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel sometime in the future.

Kind Regards
Janefa Hassan
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

For 3 nights while working at Sydney University, this hotel was adequate. It is within walking distance of the university and many restaurants, the room was large and supplied all the basic necessities and the staff (when you could get to them - there were always queues) were helpful. However the rooms were undoubted very tired, the airconditioner was noisy and the bathroom was in dire need of renovation. I asked for a quiet room, and, although I could hear a little noise at times from the room next door, it was not a problem. The price (at a January special rate of $114 per night) was very reasonable, but I am glad I didn't pay full rates. Breakfast was ridiculously overpriced, but there are plenty of other options within a couple of minutes walk.

Overall, at a bargain rate, this hotel is adequate and well-located. But I am surprised that Rydges (normally a very good chain) lends its name to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovethattravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair W, Guest Relations at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your stay with us, your feedback was very much appreciated.
Please accept our apologies for the concerns you have expressed in regards to your stay at the hotel and the level of customer service. Your comments have been taken on board by the team. Although the hotel is an older property, we are continuously working on improving our product offerings and are currently half way through some soft refurbishments in the rooms, and we hope that you can see these changes should you stay with us again.

Thanks again for your review.

Kind Regards
Janefa Hassan
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Terrible hotel with filthy floors and outdated everything but they still charge 200 dollars a night. Also had quite creepy people staying there which made it feel like a halfway house... AVOID AT ALL COSTS unless you really need to be close to the hospital.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to see your stay was not as enjoyable as we would have hoped and apologise for any inconvenience caused. I have passed your comments about cleanliness to our Executive Housekeeper, and she is following this up with her team, this is certainly not the impression we intended to leave you with.

We continuously endeavor to exceed our guests’ expectations in both the service and product we provide, and your feedback will go towards helping us achieve this.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel should you wish to discuss this further, we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and leave you with a much better impression.

Kind regards,
Clair Warner
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is extremely over priced for what you get. It is very dated and run down, our room was big but very old with the bathroom mirror filthy, mould around the bath and cracks all through the wall in the bathroom. I wouldnt have minded if I had payed a few hundred less but with what we payed it was very poor. It made me very angry to be so ripped off with such an old and run down hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miamunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair W, Guest Relations at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding stay at Rydges Camperdown. We feel it is very important for us to hear our guests’ comments, both good and bad, and have the opportunity to rectify any deficiencies, and work towards providing improved service standards and product, so thank you for taking the time out to write your review. Despite being an older style hotel, there is no excuse for cleanliness issues and your feedback has been shared with the housekeeping team.

We hope that you may visit Rydges Camperdown another time to prove to you that we can get it right.

Thank you again for your honest feedback.

Kind Regards
Janefa Hassan
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The rooms are a little tired and in need of some renovations but this was outweighed by the great location, easy parking and great position to get to RPA hospital so easily. It is only a $10 cab ride to CBD also so just left the car at the hotel and got a cab to the city. Was walking distance to Newtown - plenty of great restaurants. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeb9515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair W, Guest Relations at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi Lee, thanks for your review

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and will be back to stay with us again.

I’ve shared your kind words with the team, it’s very nice to receive such positive feedback about our staff, especially when exceptional customer service is something we pride ourselves on.

Thanks again.

Kind Regards
Janefa Hassan
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Camperdown Suites
#135 of 179 in Sydney
18 reviews
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Veriu Camperdown
#33 of 179 in Sydney
110 reviews
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#126 of 179 in Sydney
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Camperdown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Camperdown

Property: Rydges Camperdown
Address: 9 Missenden Rd | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Camperdown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Camperdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Camperdown Sydney Hotel Sydney
Rydges Camperdown Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges Camperdown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing