We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and well equipped”
Review of The Maisonette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Maisonette
Ranked #7 of 62 Sydney B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location and well equipped”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Staff was friendly and room was clean with enough dishes and appliances (all working and in good condition) to do a bit of self-catering if you want to.
As things go in these older houses, plumbing is not perfect and the shower emits very little water (girl's, washing hair didn't really work for me) and there can be smells from the drain. Staff readily gave us air freshener to combat this.
It is a budget price and the location is hard to beat.
Shame they don't offer free wifi which is pretty much standard nowadays.
Susanne, Melbourne

Room Tip: No 12 (ensuite twin) windows are opposite the neighbouring restaurant's exhaust fan so very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    213
    81
    19
    17
See reviews for
66
122
120
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I am a solo traveler on a budget and found the Maisonette perfect for my requirements. The hotel is located in a great area and only a short walk to Kings X station. It is also only about a 15 min walk through the lovely Botanical Gardens to Circular Quay.
I was allowed to check in early which was appreciated. The room, although fairly small was fine with a comfortable bed. There was a kettle/fridge/microwave which all worked fine. Towels changed daily but you make your own bed which again is no problem. I was a bit dubious about the shared bathroom (No ensuite available when I booked) This was not a problem at all. Adjacent to my room was a large "wet room" with powerful shower/sink/toilet. Never saw anyone else use it and it was kept scrupulously clean. It was probably bigger than the bathroom in an ensuite room. No air con but the ceiling fan did the trick. If you're looking for a well priced base in a great area of Sydney then this is the place. People moan on this site about the slightest thing but to be honest if you spend all your time in your room in a place like Sydney then you are either not feeling too well or you're a bit sad!! This place does what it says on the tin - provides clean comfortable accommodation with friendly service at a good price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was perfect for what I needed, basic single room, clean and shower and toilet was spotless. Far better than hostels would recommended this to anyone stayed there on two separated occasions during my stay in December 13 and both were as good as each other! Staff were really friendly and location was great!

Room Tip: anywhere on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in mid-October 2013. The hotel is well-located, being a 10-15 minute walk down from Kings Cross station. I arrived very early and couldn't have my room yet as it wasn't ready, but the girl at reception kindly let me leave my luggage with her, which was greatly appreciated. My room was a single with a shared bathroom (for which I never had to queue) and a small kitchenette. This was perfectly adequate and a good alternative if you want a budget option with the chance to self cater, but don't want to do the whole backpacker hostel thing. I had no problem with street noise. My room was clean, if a little drab - a couple of pictures on the wall would brighten it up.

The hotel is on Challis Avenue, so you can easily avoid the delights of Kings Cross by turning left out of the entrance, walking down Challis Avenue and the McElhone Steps to Woolloomoolloo wharf - where you'll find a stop for the hop on/hop off explorer bus. It's also an easy walk to the Botanic Gardens this way. Once in the gardens, just walk up over the hill for a great view of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge.

The only thing I would warn people about is not to under-estimate the narrowness of the stairs in the building - those with huge suitcases and backpacks may find it a bit of a squeeze!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catfreak2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I would not stay here again. I saw two cockroaches staying there in my bedroom. The staff was nice and helpful. It is a nice location, close to public transportation and a ton of restaurants nearby. But for what I paid for, I thought it would have been cleaner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Compact, clean and adequate accommodation at a great price, and in Potts Point! It's a short walk to King's Cross or a longer one across the Domain into the City. Alternatively, there is public transport to get you further afield. The Maisonette is surrounded by cafes and bars with a huge range of food styles. The downside for us was the noise. Even though the bars downstairs all shut at 11pm on a Saturday night there was a lot of people noise in the street until the early hours. And being a warm night we had the window open as there is no air conditioning.

The room itself was adequate, but not a place you'd want to spend awake time in. There was an electric jug, microwave and a blessedly quiet fridge along with a small selection of cutlery and crockery. No chopping board, no dish washing detergent and just a well-worn steak knife to chop food. The local Woolworths Supermarket is a very short distance away and has a good range of fresh and microwavable meals so we managed OK, even though we're vegan.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gertrude225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed in a room with twin beds. No aircon (had a ceiling fan instead) but not really required in Oct. Small and compact room with TV and a good selection of channels. No kitchenette but provided free tea and coffee. Basic bathroom and a second sink with microwave, kettle and cutlery.
It's about 10-15mins walk to kingscross train station. less than 5 mins from bus stop. The staff were friendly, competent and helpful. They can also help you book airport transfer which will only set you back $12 and they didn't charge a booking fee. A fairly quiet neighborhood with plenty of cafes, shops and restaurants to explore if you don't feel like going into the city. Within walking distance also were the royal botanical garden and Harry's cafe de Wheels in Woolloomoolloo. Bed and pillows were comfortable. They provided Towels, shampoo, conditioner and soap. Our beds weren't made but new towels were provided and bins changed daily so didn't really bother us. A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoZe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#44 of 176 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Challis
#6 of 62 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maisonette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maisonette

Property: The Maisonette
Address: 31 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maisonette 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small well established affordable Boutique Hotel located in one of Sydney's premier locations known as Potts Point. Located only a short walk to the harbour foreshore, our hotel is an excellent choice for anyone wanting to experience the best that Sydney has to offer. Recently refurbished, our rooms have been styled to maximise space and comfort. Experience the chic village lifestyle that makes Potts Point one of Sydney's most envious urban precincts. The neighbourhood offers visitors a vast choice of quality cafes, restaurants, wine bars, as well as a range of eclectic boutiques, antiques and design stores. On our doorstep is also a supermarket, delicatessen, laundromat, whole food store, bakery as well as excellent transport options. Being small we pride ourselves in being able to offer a more personal approach. Our front desk team will go out of their way to ensure that your stay in Sydney is an enjoyable experience. We encourage guests to contact us direct so we can provide the best advise for your stay in Sydney. We are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maisonette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing