We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its all about the friendly peeps and great location”
Review of Vulcan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vulcan Hotel
Ranked #84 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

my partner and I have stayed here twice and I stayed alone once and we wouldnt go anywhere else when we visit Sydney. It really is all about the very friendly and very helpful staff, the fantastic location (walk to chinatown, glebe, city even). Dont get me wrong the hotel room is clean, modern, tidy and has everything we needed. There isnt any chrome or edgy art work to be seen (which we find a relief) instead its lovely creaky boards (not too creaky tho), staircase for running up and down (there is a lift too) old sash windows that work and delicious breakfast but the peeps make it special and delightful. A gem of a place. Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandNAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

I was a little nervous trying this unknown property, but it was great. It was so nice to find affordable and CLEAN accommodation in the city.
The staff were very friendly and very helpful.
Breakfast was great.
The room was pleasant and super clean
Parking arrangements were exceptional
Value for money and very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the second time this past weekend.
The staff are friendly and willing to help, much appreciated the late checkout.
Rooms are small but clean, modern and tidy and have everything needed. No complaints about noise at all on either stay even though we were on the wattle st side above the main road due to the double windows.
Location is great within walking distance to everything and public transport. $20 parking is convinient.
Would highly recommend the Vulcan hotel, we'd happily stay here again when in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

After a difficult start (the night manager), the reception staff turned our stay into an memorable week. They are very knowledgeable on the area, give good directions and advice, have patience and humour! Johanna and Lyle...THANKS! Yves serves amazing breakfast! In all, our stay was pleasant, our room amazing. (Although the rain tried hard to spoil our good mood)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWillemse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I found the hotel very welcoming especially the log fire in the breakfast room. The towels were soft and fluffy plus the tea , coffee and biscuits were generously supplied. The staff were very helpful and had a friendly manner. The hotel is clean, safe and ideally located. I enjoyed my stay.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank Suzytravels69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

We do make a special effort with the log fir during our short winter.
Wood for the fire is difficult to source in the centre of our city.
We obtain it from Potters Hotel , brewery and Resort in the Hunter Valley. Our son who owns the resort helps us chain saw the timber from tree chopped down 20 years ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Location was good, about five minutes walk from the Paddy's Market monorail station which brings you wherever you need to go within the city district. Rooms were quite small but clean and modernly decorated. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The location of the hotel was near a technical college and in a quiet suburb, great for getting a good nights rest, we didn't hear a thing!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aingealban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Our hotel has two parts. The Heritage listed building, built in 1894 and rebuilt in 2000 and the new 16 rooms built in 2008. Some of the rooms in the Heritage building are on the small size but the new ones are oversized. We usually try to offer guests another room if they have booked a standard one for a small extra cost. However the smaller rooms are very good value for the area and great for someone who only wants a bed,ensuite,air conditioning,desk and a good nights sleep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hotel room was clean but small. I set the fire alarm off while having a shower. It was close enough to the city that I walked but there were buses going past on a regular basis. I wish I had of been informed about the $20:00 off site carpark. I ended up getting a parking ticket $88 while in reception inquiring about the advertised Vulcan carpark. Add it to the room price & I could have stayed elsewhere. Overall it was ok as everyone else wanted minimum 2 nights stay & I only needed 1.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ModessMetamorphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Our hotel meets the highest standard of fire safety. In five of the rooms there is a sign asking guests to shut the bathroom door if having a long hot shower. Our fire safety system worked perfectly.
The alarm went off. 2 fire trucks arrived within the required 2 minutes and three fire officers entered the guests door within 3 minutes. We then paid the $750. fine for a false alarm.
The hotel is fortunate in having a parking arrangement with the Universities secure car park 4 minutes walk away. The heavily discounted rate is $20 for 24 hours. The city council charges $3.30 per hour to park on the street but allows our guests 20 minutes free parking in the loading zone directly in front of reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Hotel Challis
#55 of 181 in Sydney
810 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#31 of 181 in Sydney
211 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#119 of 181 in Sydney
33 reviews
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#83 of 181 in Sydney
1,108 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#54 of 181 in Sydney
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vulcan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vulcan Hotel

Address: 500 Wattle St | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £69 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vulcan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vulcan Hotel Sydney is a stylishly renovated heritage listed hotel; the ultimate city retreat. The Vulcan Hotel Sydney features 46 well appointed ensuite rooms that cater for travellers who not only appreciate its quality accommodation but also its personal service and charm. The Vulcan Hotel Sydney is centrally located a few minutes walk away from the heart of Sydney's famous Darling Harbour and within short walking distance to Chinatown, Broadway, and the Universities. A quick walk to the monorail or train station and you are in the heart of Sydney City within 10 minutes. The property is also a completely non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vulcan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vulcan Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing