We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and value for money”
Review of Vulcan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vulcan Hotel
Ranked #80 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were at a conference in Chippendale so the Vulcan was ideally located for us. Considering the price I wasn't expecting too much, but found it to have some lovely heritage plastered ceilings as well as the necessary modern conveniences.

The staff were really helpful, but not pushy and the room was clean and comfortable. Even though the room was situated on the busy road side of the building we weren't troubled by traffic noise at all.

The shower was lovely, hot with great water pressure and the provided toiletries were a cut above the standard ones.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

BrisNat
Thank you for your review. Appreciate your comments on our great location and value for money. These are two of our key goals to achieve for our customers. Our staff are another important ingredient we work with to make every guests feel welcome. We are glad you had this experience. Regards Carole & Harvey - owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Vulcan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with a friend in twin queen superior room. Location is fantastic, walking distance of Darling Harbour, Chinatown. If arriving by plane def get a taxi as is overall cheapest option ( one way one person from airport is $16 plus $14 taxi from Central compared to $27 for taxi to airport when leaving). Breakfast was very good, efficient service. Room small but had everything we needed- air con, TV with Foxtel. Wifi $10 for up to 5 days was reasonable too. Staff not overly friendly but pleasant enough, I would recommend the Vulcan no problems.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Prue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Prue B
Thanks for your review and great advice about the airport transfers for future guests to note. We do have cosy well priced rooms and we also have some very large rooms at a small surcharge but as you said you were happy and cosy. We were thrilled to read your comments and even more delighted you would recommend us to your friends.Regards Carole & Harvey - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel has a lot to offer. The location and convenience of nearby parking were the main reasons for my partner and I. However, the decor and the friendly staff just complimented the stay. The only negative is that on our side of the hotel we had to use the elevator as one cannot use the fire escape stairs. Waiting for a lift for one floor is a bit tedious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the staircase. It saves waiting for the elevator
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_regularly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Travel_regularly

Thanks for your review. We are delighted yo enjoyed your stay.Regards Carole and Harvey - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very good value with clean, quiet rooms and a friendly, international front-desk staff. The owners are hands-on and help ensure your needs are met (in a pinch, I was given a cell phone for an international call). Relatively easy walk to Central Station and George St. bus routes (with service to Circular Quay), Chinatown, Paddy's Market, Powerhouse Museum, Ian Thorpe Aquatic Centre and a slightly longer walk to Darling Harbor and the fish market. Planned on 5 days and stayed more than 10. Internet access was one-time $10AU for entire stay. Minor issue was slightly spotty Internet using a cell phone; access using a laptop can be by cable. Unless you need a fitness center, palacial entrance or to fall out of bed into a ferry (and pay multiple times more for that privilege), this is an excellent place to stay!

Room Tip: I had no problems; ask and I'm sure they'll help.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Ken S
Thank you for describing the Vulcan Hotel as we see it as her beloved owners. We try very hard to make each and every guest feel special. We are what we are and we are a great value hotel in Sydney. We really appreciate your comments and advise to other Trip Advisor reviewers checking out our small boutique historic hotel and our home. Come back any time we would love to see you again. Regards Carole and Harvey - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A very basic Hotel for the price. I stayed in a Superior Room and it was small and worn out. It had no safe or Alarm Clock and no real accesable powerpoints so that i could use and charge my phone as an alternative.
The Room was also above reception so was very Noisy from the Roads even with the double glazed un-lockable windows. I could also hear a lot of banging from the room above.
Also on security, It had a single old school key lock that you needed to lock behind you, so one day i accidently left room without locking. Not too much of an issue if it contained a safe.

Room Tip: Not the room above reception (208 i think)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Aaron B
Thanks for your feedback. We will take your feedback on board with regards to adding a safe to every room. Owning a hotel is always a work in progress so we build on our quality with kind reviewers who takes the time to drop us a note.Regards Carole and Harvey - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Treated my sister to 2 days in Sydney and had read about the Vulcan on Tripadvisor. Perfect area if you like walking..Darling Harbour/Central Station/Glebe Rd restaurants. Everything is within walking distance and we walked back a different way each day. Friendly and helpful receptionists (thanks Margeaux), We arrived in Sydney at 9.00 am and were able to check in straight away. Yves does make a great coffee and the fruit toast and ricotta cheese was delicious.
Stayed in 310 ,I had requested an room away from the road as I am a very light sleeper..didn't hear a thing all night. Booked the shuttle from the hotel to the airport and left our luggage at the hotel for the day before catching a late flight.
Thanks Carol , your staff are great.

Room Tip: Room 310 was certainly quiet
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoreneOct08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

LoreneOct08
Lovely to have you and your sister stay . So glad you enjoyed your weekend away. Thank you for your kind words about our staff , we pride ourselves on our service. Kind regards Carole & Harvey - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My partner and I stayed for only one night in this great little hotel. Very centrally located, walking distance to central station (even in heels!), several pubs, restaurants and the CBD. We had a long drive and decided against the breakfast option, but it looked very well presented. On arrival we discovered that our toilet didn't flush, then found the reason was that someone had turned the main tap off as it constantly ran. Not a problem for staff though, they were up in 5mins to offer us another (larger) room for the same price! That's what I call service! Well done. Although the hotel is on Abercrombie street (main road) the road noise was negligible, and we enjoyed a fantastic nights sleep. Brilliant for the price we paid. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The rooms facing Wattle street might be slightly more quiet, but as I said, it didn't bother us...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFoodieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear KFoodieK,

Thanks for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We welcome back again any time. Regards Carole & Harvey - Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney
#45 of 178 in Sydney
716 reviews
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#54 of 178 in Sydney
311 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#50 of 178 in Sydney
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#44 of 178 in Sydney
94 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 178 in Sydney
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vulcan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vulcan Hotel

Address: 500 Wattle St | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £80 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vulcan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vulcan Hotel Sydney is a stylishly renovated heritage listed hotel; the ultimate city retreat. The Vulcan Hotel Sydney features 46 well appointed ensuite rooms that cater for travellers who not only appreciate its quality accommodation but also its personal service and charm. The Vulcan Hotel Sydney is centrally located a few minutes walk away from the heart of Sydney's famous Darling Harbour and within short walking distance to Chinatown, Broadway, and the Universities. A quick walk to the monorail or train station and you are in the heart of Sydney City within 10 minutes. The property is also a completely non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vulcan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vulcan Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing