We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, but brilliant value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Central Station Hotel
Ranked #77 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Basic, but brilliant value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed here with my daughter whilst we went to see a concert at the local Entertainment Centre.

The booking was simple and straightforward, the check-in courteous and efficient, and the room was clean and functional. The hotel has a brilliant location which is a very short walk from everything that we wanted to see. We took advantage of the 24-hour car-parking which was also convenient and good value for money.

Difficult to fault really.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisk495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    940
    466
    144
    69
See reviews for
396
726
350
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

As we have never been to Sydney and didnt have a car, we chose this hotel as it was close to Central Station. It was also a nice walk to Circular Quay and the free bus was available two streets away. The rooms are a little on the small side. We have stayed in small rooms before so it wasnt a problem for us. You are only in the room to sleep anyway. The hotel has been renovated, the beds are very comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. The desk staff were very helpful and assisted us with anything we needed. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussiesPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

some of the hotel receiption treated the guest with smile and courtesy, but one with cool face. Hotel so far I stsy for 3 nights had never been vacum clean up the carpets, and one day they dont supplied the promised coffees until I asked for.
Probably need more professional clerk to work.

Room Tip: Probably need more professional clerk to work for cleaning and hopitality
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darmawan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Considering balance of price, location, facility,etc, this hotel is very good to stay.
Price is very reasonable considering location where is located in really central and convenient to go anywhere. Room is bit small, but it is clean, and reception staff was so friendly and helpful.
Only concern is a bit nosiy, might be wall is bit too thin. Even consindering this disadvantage,
this hotel is so recommendable to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hide-0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I had room 315 which faces the train lines,it's very loud with trains blowing the horn going in & out of the railway tunnel(not the hotels fault). The windows do very little to stop the noise. The room was not big but ok size(high ceilings), the bathroom was great,very clean and modern.the bed was very firm which I loved. I found the staff to be very welcoming and friendly. It's an easy walk to central station and there is a convenience store very close. I would love to stay here again but I won't only because of the train horns(they are so loud).

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Don1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Station H, Manager at Central Station Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi Don1971,

Thank you for taking the time to review Central Station Hotel. I am very pleased to read your positive comments regarding the bathroom and staff. The bathrooms are newly refurbished and the waterfall shower heads are very popular. The room you stayed in has a balcony, unfortunately the balcony doors are not double glazed which may let some outside noise in. We will look at solutions to solve this issue. Next time you are in Sydney you may like to try one of our Deluxe or Superior rooms. They have double glazed windows and are very quiet. I hope we get the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind regards
Holly Clugston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay close to transport and Central Station and Chinatown, room clean staff friendly and went out of their way would recommend it to anyone, only wish I could have stayed longer.
Gloria Watson

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloriakutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is really central and easy to get to. The room I stayed in was small for a queen room but very clean and only really what I needed for a one night stay. The only downfall is the lack of bench space in the bathroom, made it a bit difficult to get ready in the morning. The iron also dribbled on my clothes a bit, which was a bit annoying as I was on my way to an interview. Staff were really friendly and professional.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KScanlon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Station Hotel

Property: Central Station Hotel
Address: 75 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Sydney Central on Wentworth)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Station Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Station Hotel is a beautifully appointed hotel in a prime position only 300 meters from Sydney Central Station, the largest transport interchange in Sydney. Hotel guests can enjoy direct walking access to Sydney Central Station, Sydney Central Business District and Chinatown making this the perfect hotel for tourists and business clients. Food lovers and keen shoppers will be delighted to see that Chinatown, Surry Hills, Darling Harbour & Oxford Street are all within walking distance from Central Station Hotel making it the ideal base to enjoy all the amazing experiences that Sydney has to offer.For entertainment, Central Station Hotel is perfectly positioned with the Sydney Entertainment Centre, Capitol Theatre, State Theatre and Hyde Park all in close proximity. There is also the opportunity for a short ride in a bus or taxi to the Sydney Football Stadium and Sydney Cricket Ground. Central Station Hotel guest rooms are nicely decorated, clean and comfortably appointed ensuring all guests can guests can relax and enjoy a private oasis away from the bustle of Sydney life. Every room has a modern bathroom, free cable television and reverse cycle air-conditioning. Central Station Hotel offers a 24 hour concierge and discounted parking vouchers for the Secure Parking complex which is located next to the hotel. The hotel can also arrange a shuttle bus to Sydney Airport.For an unbeatable location, genuine value for money and a memorable ‘Sydney’ experience look no further than Central Station Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Central Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Central On Wentworth Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing