We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Friendly stuff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Central Station Hotel
Ranked #81 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location, Friendly stuff”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel is very close to the central train station , and It looks like it was recently renovated since it has an innovative design. The room is very small but it has a free wifi in it! very useful. The bathroom also is small with not enough Surface for placing toiletries.
The stuff (especially a very nice and polite Brazilian guy ) was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    1,024
    506
    161
    79
See reviews for
426
799
385
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I thought this place would be an old run down hotel but I was surprised when I got there cause everything looked new and it was really nice and clean. Staff are really nice and helpful. I will definitely comeback to stay here again! :D

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unthunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, QLD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here for a weekend and was pretty happy with everything. The free wifi was good to have, the beds were very comfy and the location of the hotel was great as it was so close to everything.

The road noise was a bit of a pain as it kept me awake a lot of the first night, but the second night wasn't as bad. I'm pretty picky with shower heads and the ones that are in the bathrooms are way too high up and don't provide much water pressure. But that's just me being picky as i'm sure most people won't have a problem with that. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrentDavisQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My second stay with this hotel.
I am happy with both stay.

Location is fantastic.
Walking distance to Central Train station, Chinatown where good food can be found.
Easy to get a cab to the airport as well.

Services from staff is good. Friendly and helpful.

Though the room is small (i had a King Deluxe room this time round), but it is clean and well maintained.
The king size bed was made up of two single bed I think, as I felt that the wooden frame in the middle of the king size bed.So i can only sleep at one side of the bed.

Overall, the stay was pleasant and I will return to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed here a month ago with my husband, parents, and in-laws (3 rooms). Calling this room a "deluxe" queen room is being generous - it was so small you couldn't swing a cat! There was maybe 2" clearance on all sides of the bed, and that's it. I'd hate to see the other room sizes.

That said, though, that was just about the only negative. The area was a bit sketchy at night, but once inside the hotel I felt completely safe. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff was very pleasant. It's a bit of a walk to most things (only a couple of small restaurants were nearby), but a metro station is only about 2 blocks away, super-easy. The bathrooms were recently renovated and very nice, though the shower lacked any kind of water pressure whatsoever (and hot water was lukewarm at best). WiFi is included, which I surprisingly found rare among the budget hotels in the area. Bonus! We ordered room service one night, and while all 6 of us trying to gather in one room to eat made for a fun story, the food was fast and delicious.

Considering the cost of most accommodation in the Sydney CBD, and we weren't in our rooms much, I would definitely recommend this place to others traveling on a budget.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with another couple and need 2 rooms, ask for 211/212 - they share an area d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHow9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights after a last-minute booking to Sydney. It was closely located to the train station which was important for us as we did not have any other means of transport. The rooms given to us were very small but the beds were comfortable. Free wi-fi was also provided, but the speed was just below average. As for the staff, they were the pinnacle for our comfort. The blonde-haired lady at the reception (can't remember her name) was extremely friendly! She could answer all of our questions without hesitation which includes advice on meals and places to go. Will definitely consider this place in the coming light...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincumber, NSW
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel was comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was a bit too small, but clean and modern also the bed was good. My wife and I were in Sydney to see "The Lion King" at the Capitol, so this hotel was very close to the theatre and walking distance to Central Station. We were also able to leave our luggage all day after checking out at no cost, which was most pleasing, as some city hotels charge for storage. The wi-fi was free, which was also a good thing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 216PeterW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#98 of 178 in Sydney
4,775 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 178 in Sydney
1,770 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#33 of 178 in Sydney
4,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 178 in Sydney
648 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#73 of 178 in Sydney
2,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Station Hotel

Property: Central Station Hotel
Address: 75 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Sydney Central on Wentworth)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Station Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Station Hotel is a beautifully appointed hotel in a prime position only 300 meters from Sydney Central Station, the largest transport interchange in Sydney. Hotel guests can enjoy direct walking access to Sydney Central Station, Sydney Central Business District and Chinatown making this the perfect hotel for tourists and business clients. Food lovers and keen shoppers will be delighted to see that Chinatown, Surry Hills, Darling Harbour & Oxford Street are all within walking distance from Central Station Hotel making it the ideal base to enjoy all the amazing experiences that Sydney has to offer.For entertainment, Central Station Hotel is perfectly positioned with the Sydney Entertainment Centre, Capitol Theatre, State Theatre and Hyde Park all in close proximity. There is also the opportunity for a short ride in a bus or taxi to the Sydney Football Stadium and Sydney Cricket Ground. Central Station Hotel guest rooms are nicely decorated, clean and comfortably appointed ensuring all guests can guests can relax and enjoy a private oasis away from the bustle of Sydney life. Every room has a modern bathroom, free cable television and reverse cycle air-conditioning. Central Station Hotel offers a 24 hour concierge and discounted parking vouchers for the Secure Parking complex which is located next to the hotel. The hotel can also arrange a shuttle bus to Sydney Airport.For an unbeatable location, genuine value for money and a memorable ‘Sydney’ experience look no further than Central Station Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Central Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Central On Wentworth Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing