We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by its cover...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Station Hotel
Ranked #81 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
The Colony, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Don't judge a book by its cover...”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

As I walked up to this hotel, I said to myself "Uh oh, this was a mistake..." due to its unassuming outside. However, once you walk in the front door, the minimalistically designed lobby was bright and clean with very friendly and helpful desk staff. My room was just what I ordered--a shoebox--tidy and nicely designed with a rectangular sink and clear shower door with a rainfall showerhead. The majority of the room was a bed, but that's okay if you're there only to sleep. Safety is my number one priority, and I felt very comfortable in my room, hallways and elevator. Would recommend this place and would return but to a larger room.

Room Tip: The shoebox-style room is a large bed and bathroom. Not much room to move around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    1,061
    525
    163
    81
See reviews for
436
836
402
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kincumber, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

very clean, neat and great central location for a city stay. hotel staff were friendly and overall we found our room very comfortable. We have no hesitation recommending this hotel and will definately stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Prices have increased so now the small rooms are harder to suffer. The lack of any shelf in the bathroom is a pain and there is not enough room for a chair, so a stool is provided for the tiny desk. Location is great. The Wi-Fi gets slow at times.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger than others which you can see on their fire evacuation plan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisE99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Being close to the Central train station was nice. I liked my room (although small) - it's compact, modern looking and everything worked fine. Free wi-fi with great speed, I ran speedtest from my room and got 6.4 Mbps (download), 5.9 Mbps (upload)! VPN worked too without any problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a short walk from the railway and other public transport options. Nearby are theatres, Chinatown, Darling Harbour and Oxford Street. I stayed two nights in a quiet Deluxe Queen room. The room was small but the bed was comfortable and the decor was stylish. I enjoyed access to the amenities included, especially the free wi-Fi. The bathroom had plenty of hot water and the latest high-end fittings; however, there wasn't anywhere to rest cosmetics being applied in front of the mirror. A small shelf there would be a welcome addition, as would some tissues for removing make-up. The soap was also cheap and nasty. Guests would benefit from a drink machine in the foyer to buy a bottle of water. Overall, the hotel was reasonable value and I would stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank sandramaybarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our rooms were very small (we were 3 couples) and our bathroom was the tiniest with no shelf space to put anything. No room at all for visiting. The street was a bit sketchy being close to the main train station but the hotel was newly renovated and very clean. The hotel is only 4 blocks from the nearest Metro station, so handy for anything in the CBD. Good value.

Room Tip: Be sure not to get the "shoebox" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This old, low-rise building has been refurbished and is resplendent inside with a stylish combination of modern grey, white and orange decor. My quiet, deluxe queen room on the first floor was rather small but perfect for the solo traveller. The bed was firm and comfortable with as new, crisp, white linen and plenty of fluffy pillows. Wall-mounted digital TV, free wi-fi, recessed lighting, tea and coffee facilities, fridge, iron, and a compact wardrobe for my small suitcase was adequate. The bathroom had the latest high-end fittings but there was nowhere to rest cosmetics. Tissues or cotton balls for removing make-up were not supplied so I made a mess of the white face washer and towels. The individual soap was nasty and there wasn't any hand lotion to compensate. Nevertheless, there was plenty of hot water and a quite powerful hair dryer.

The hotel is located conveniently near the Capitol Theatre, Chinatown, Hyde Park and Oxford Street. It is a short walk from Central Railway, Elizabeth and George Street buses and the light rail system to Darling Harbour and beyond. Guests would benefit from a snack and drink machine in the foyer for overseas visitors who like bottled water but who might be too tired to walk to Pitt Street to buy it. Otherwise, the hotel is good value. Desk staff were nice so I would stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank sandramaybarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#50 of 178 in Sydney
668 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#101 of 178 in Sydney
4,955 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#103 of 178 in Sydney
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,200 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#71 of 178 in Sydney
3,076 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#67 of 178 in Sydney
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Station Hotel

Property: Central Station Hotel
Address: 75 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Sydney Central on Wentworth)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Station Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Station Hotel is a beautifully appointed hotel in a prime position only 300 meters from Sydney Central Station, the largest transport interchange in Sydney. Hotel guests can enjoy direct walking access to Sydney Central Station, Sydney Central Business District and Chinatown making this the perfect hotel for tourists and business clients. Food lovers and keen shoppers will be delighted to see that Chinatown, Surry Hills, Darling Harbour & Oxford Street are all within walking distance from Central Station Hotel making it the ideal base to enjoy all the amazing experiences that Sydney has to offer.For entertainment, Central Station Hotel is perfectly positioned with the Sydney Entertainment Centre, Capitol Theatre, State Theatre and Hyde Park all in close proximity. There is also the opportunity for a short ride in a bus or taxi to the Sydney Football Stadium and Sydney Cricket Ground. Central Station Hotel guest rooms are nicely decorated, clean and comfortably appointed ensuring all guests can guests can relax and enjoy a private oasis away from the bustle of Sydney life. Every room has a modern bathroom, free cable television and reverse cycle air-conditioning. Central Station Hotel offers a 24 hour concierge and discounted parking vouchers for the Secure Parking complex which is located next to the hotel. The hotel can also arrange a shuttle bus to Sydney Airport.For an unbeatable location, genuine value for money and a memorable ‘Sydney’ experience look no further than Central Station Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Central Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Central On Wentworth Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing