We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Central Station Hotel
Ranked #82 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great location - 5 minute walk to Central railway station, 5 minute walk to Chinatown & HydePark and 10minute walk to Darling Harbour, extremely friendly and helpful staff! Rooms are small however if you are only using the room as a resting place as we did then this shouldn't be a problem. Free Wifi was an added bonus and very much appreciated when you are away from home for 2 weeks. Excellent restaurants a short walk from the hotel.
Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to be centrally located. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Station H, Manager at Central Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for your review of Central Station Hotel. I am pleased you were able to explore the local area and found some of the great restaurants nearby. There is definitely a good selection to choose from. We hope to see you again next time you are in Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,167 - 2,173 of 2,484 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Got the early bird deal with triple beds. But the room and toilet is kind of small and the bathing system is kind of difficult to handle as it keeps changing temperature and has little water. But if you dont mind all these, overall the hotel is clean and good enough to sleep in. For the location wise i think is not very good. Less food or things you could see nearby. Have to walk down many streets.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojowhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Station H, Manager at Central Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you found the hotel clean and comfortable. I will discuss the issues you raised with my maintenance manager to ensure we improve in the areas that were not to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Staff are very friendly and helpful, even when I was the one that stuffed up my booking dates, they still gave me a room at the price quoted. Rooms are very clean. The linen and the dacor has had a lot of thought put into it. The shower head is wide and covers your whole body when you stand under it. The location is central to everything in the city. Central station which is the main station to the train network and interstate trains is a 5min walk. I only stayed one night but have booked 5 more for March 2015.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabstar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Station H, Manager at Central Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Hi Gabstar G, I am delighted to receive your feedback regarding your stay at Central Station Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in March. Kind regards, Holly Singh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great Location, Great Staff, Great Renovation. Shame there wasn't any breakfast option, but plenty of cafes in the area to find something to eat at anytime of the day or night. Construction taking place in the area but ear plugs were provided (but I never needed to use them).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Station H, Manager at Central Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Hi Dan M, Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at Central Station Hotel. You will be pleased to know we are currently in the process of building a cafe, restaurant and bar so next time you stay we should have a breakfast option to offer you. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Holly Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

In brief, the front desk staff may be the nicest I have ever come across! Nothing was too much trouble, they helped in any way they could, and always would great you with a big warm smile. The rooms are smallish, but I wasn't there to hang out in my room the whole time so this was not a problem. Rooms were clean, neat, and had a mini fridge too which was a nice add. One of the most cost effective hotels in Sydney for it's location, so happy I found it!

Highly recommend :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Station H, Manager at Central Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Central Station Hotel. I am delighted to read your comments regarding our staff. I will be sure to pass this on to the team. They are always happy to receive positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a interstate weekend away trip. The hotel is well located close to Central Station and only a few minutes from shopping, restaurants and tourist attractions. The hotel rooms we had were quite small but functional. The bedding was comfortable and the rooms were cleaned daily. There was tea & coffee facilities provided, tv & free good wifi in the rooms. Front counter staff were friendly, helpful & had our rooms ready for checkin early. Overall I think the hotel would be good for short stays at a reasonable price.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank dianne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have been here for the past weekend (11-13 of July). Overall, we truly enjoyed our experience and I recommend for anyone looking for average price stay with good quality in a strategic location. The location is one of the best, walking distance (10-15min) to darling harbour one of my favorite in Sydney, and 5 min walk to George st. where you can pick Free Shuttle Bus 555 to easily get to Opera House, Harbour Bridge etc. Lots of good restaurants nearby, convenience store open 24/7.
Hotel is very clean, although the exterior architecture look a bit old! Staff are all friendly and helpful, as my first room I received on my arrival was noisy because of outside construction, upon my request they managed quickly (in 1 hr) to give me another room. The noise has nothing to do with hotel, but I would recommend hotel manager to consider using sound-proof windows (if that helps to minimize the noise) so that guest would enjoy a quiet stay throughout the day too. And they provide good quality Free WiFi too; unfortunately very rare thing in Australia.
I think I definitely consider this hotel again in my future trips... ^_^

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Majid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Station H, Manager at Central Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hi Majid M, I was delighted to read your comments regarding your recent stay at Central Station Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 179 in Sydney
1,910 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#55 of 179 in Sydney
688 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#104 of 179 in Sydney
5,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#38 of 179 in Sydney
4,320 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#76 of 179 in Sydney
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Station Hotel

Address: 75 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Sydney Central on Wentworth)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £82 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Station Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Station Hotel is a beautifully appointed hotel in a prime position only 300 meters from Sydney Central Station, the largest transport interchange in Sydney. Hotel guests can enjoy direct walking access to Sydney Central Station, Sydney Central Business District and Chinatown making this the perfect hotel for tourists and business clients. Food lovers and keen shoppers will be delighted to see that Chinatown, Surry Hills, Darling Harbour & Oxford Street are all within walking distance from Central Station Hotel making it the ideal base to enjoy all the amazing experiences that Sydney has to offer.For entertainment, Central Station Hotel is perfectly positioned with the Sydney Entertainment Centre, Capitol Theatre, State Theatre and Hyde Park all in close proximity. There is also the opportunity for a short ride in a bus or taxi to the Sydney Football Stadium and Sydney Cricket Ground. Central Station Hotel guest rooms are nicely decorated, clean and comfortably appointed ensuring all guests can guests can relax and enjoy a private oasis away from the bustle of Sydney life. Every room has a modern bathroom, free cable television and reverse cycle air-conditioning. Central Station Hotel offers a 24 hour concierge and discounted parking vouchers for the Secure Parking complex which is located next to the hotel. The hotel can also arrange a shuttle bus to Sydney Airport.For an unbeatable location, genuine value for money and a memorable ‘Sydney’ experience look no further than Central Station Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Central On Wentworth Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing