We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome welcome to Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meriton Suites Zetland
Ranked #10 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A welcome welcome to Sydney”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We got off a 6am flight and arrived at the apartments by 8am even though the official check in time stated on the booking was 2pm. How grateful and relieved we were when they gave us keys to the 1-bedroom apartment right away. And how delighted we were to discover how spacious the apartment was.

A large, fully equipped kitchen meant that we saved quite a bit of money on meals over the 3 days we were there, being able to prepare our own breakfasts and dinners. And after each meal, there's the dishwasher! The dining table seats four and there's an extra table on the outdoor deck for four more. However, the deck faces the expressway so dining on the deck could be a rather noisy affair. That said, double layered windows meant the apartment was quiet at any time of day.

The only area that could have done with more space was the bedroom. Having a king sized bed was a treat, but we had to walk sideways to get around the room especially since another TV and console unit was located in the bedroom.

We tried taking the bus from the apartment to Sydney and eventually decided to rent a car instead since we wanted to visit several locations every day. Parking at the apartment's basement carpark is $25/day.

This was a good landing pad for our first time to Sydney. Free internet connection, cable TV, washer and dryer facilities within the apartment and reasonable rates certainly rank high in my books.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DezLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear DezLow,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Zetland.

We are glad to read that you made such great use of our self-contained apartments that feature gourmet kitchens, internal laundries and modern bathrooms whilst still providing you with more space, more freedom and more choice for you.

As you discovered, we are a short taxi ride from the airport, however if our guests choose to travel to the inner city CBD or surrounding suburbs there are multiple bus services as well as Green Square Train Station just 10 minutes walking distance from Meriton.

We also offer additional facilities such as our pool, spa, gym and sauna which we hope you had time to enjoy!

Thank you for sharing your feedback about the space in the master room. We encourage all feedback as it is what allows us to continuously deliver a quality serviced product. Please be assured that it has been passed onto relative management and we hope it didn’t cause you too much inconvenience.

Once again thank you for reviewing your stay and we look forward to accommodating you again at Meriton Zetland or at one of our other sister properties in Sydney, Gold Coast and Brisbane.

Warm Regards,
Carol N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,991
    778
    140
    35
    32
See reviews for
865
801
209
590
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We feel like we short paid for our stay here...
The facilities, cleanliness and ambience makes it completely equal to any other 5 stars out there.
Location wise, once you walk around, you'll find your way around. There are few bus stops where you can take a bus to the city (15-25mins. The buses are timely and frequent. The place is also like 10 mins away from the airport via a taxi (approx $35).

We stayed in a 2-bedroom unit which was very spacious. Fully equipped with all you need and they have got utensils and cooking facilities enough for you to cook your daily meals...

There is an Italian restaurant, Thai restaurant and coffee outlet nearby which is not so expensive.
There is also a convenience store though bewarned it is way more expensive than supermarkets like Wool Worthy and soon on.

We are here for 4 nights in total and left with 2 more nights to go. So far it has been a nice experience here and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear jamuna,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Zetland,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you posted this review whilst still in house! It is fantastic to receive such positive feedback about our modern, spacious and self-contained apartments that leave you nothing short of what you might need from home.

Even though our location is in the outer skirts of the city, it allows us to be surrounded by the famous Centennial Park and two of Sydney’s finest golf courses so our guests can enjoy a morning walk/run or even be encapsulated by its beautiful surrounds.

Once again thank you for taking the time in reviewing your recent stay and we very much look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Carol N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The 3 bedroom apartment with excellent facilities is located in the outskirts of Sydney. Nevertheless, taxi or buses connect it to the major attractions in Sydney making it a worthy choice. the 24 h reception is an addedd bonus.
Be aware that there is a deposit needed (either in cash or card). Two weeks from our stay there the deposit has not been cleared.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mihaela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Mihaela G,

It is always pleasing to receive five star reviews! Thank you for taking the time in reviewing your recent stay at Meriton Zetland.

All our spacious and modern apartments are self-contained and well equipped with kitchen and laundry amenities purely for the comfort and convenience of our guests which we are so delighted to read that you enjoyed.

It does usually take between 6-10 business days for bonds to be returned into your account. In cases where our guests need the funds immediately they can let us know and we can send a fax through to their nominated bank which then returns the funds within 24 hours.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Carol N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Maitland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This place is fantastic! New and CHEAP, the rooms are amazing and for the price of some 2/3 star places you can't go wrong.
It's a little further from the city (depending on traffic a taxi to the rocks is about $16-$20) but for the amount you save on the room it's worth it. Parking is only $25 with unilimited entry & exits. Do yourself and book these rooms. We got a FREE upgrade to a 2 bedroom apartment and it was huge!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justjacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear justjacka,

Thank you for providing us with a wonderful five star review!

All of our modern, clean and self-contained apartments are designed purely for the comfort of our guests offering more space, more freedom and more choice for you.

Additionally we offer complimentary 1GB Wi-Fi per day as well as providing pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium facilities to all our guests- ideal for any traveller!

Even though Zetland is located just outside of the city circle, there are bus services, Green Square train station and taxi options for our guests to go to and from their destinations.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Carol N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Really trustable staff and great service. I accidentally left my iPad in the room but when I got back at night, it was left untouched even though the staff came to clean the room. This just shows how trustable and reliable the staff here are :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Shirley O,

What a fantastic five star review!

We are so pleased of the wonderful feedback you have provided us about our team. At Meriton Zetland we pride ourselves in delivering honest quality customer service whilst offering a modern, clean and self-contained apartment. The acts of our housekeeping team is just a true reflection of this that we are so very happy you experienced.

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share this experience with us and the Trip Advisor community. We very much look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Carol N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed there with my friends a few weeks ago. We were fully satisfied. The rooms were neat and clean. Swimming pool and sauna were perfect. The price was very reasonable. It is closer to city and airport for shopping and taking flight to overseas and other Australian cities. I have stayed there with my family on several occasions in the past but it was first time stay for my friends. They liked it very much and wanted to come back with their family. I strongly recommend it to those who want all the facilities at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Stay at the block with swiming pool and gym in order to easy access to these facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Krisshna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Krisshna,

It always brings us great joy when we receive feedback from returned guests! Thank you for once again choosing to stay at Meriton Zetland, your loyalty is very important to us!

We certainly take pride in our contemporary, warm and spacious apartments that also have kitchen and laundry facilities to ensure the comfort of staying in a home away from home while travelling.

In addition to our pool, sauna, spa, and gymnasium facilities we also offer complimentary 1GB Wi-Fi access per day –we really do offer great value for money!

Krisshna, thank you once again for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for your recommendation to your family and friends! We very much look forward to your return soon.

Kind Regards,
Carol N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed at the Meriton Zetland for close to 3 months. Meriton were offering a great rate. The rooms are excellent. Mine was relatively high (18th floor). Since I was a long stay resident the room only got serviced once a week but they were happy to swap out towels daily. There's a pool and sauna. The gym is a bit disappointing. No weights but apparently they are considering it. The staff are really helpful. Daily parking rates are expensive. I found out that another Meriton division rents out parking bays in the basement downstairs. The reservations staff didn't even know about this. I rented a bay for 3 months for the same price as 10 days. Buses are a 5 minute walk away. Trains are a bit further (15min walk) which isn't great when it's raining. There aren't many shops within walking distance currently but a new shopping centre is being built right next door. The location is ideal for easy access to the city / North Sydney or the western suburbs via the M1.

After stays at various Meriton properties, I wouldn't stay anywhere else but a Meriton when visiting Australia.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mb_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear mb_27,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback with us and the Trip Advisor community.
We are so delighted that our spacious and modern apartments along with kitchen and laundry facilities that you would normally use at home were of great use to you.

We also offer complimentary 1GB Wi-Fi for our guests as well as leisure facilities such as our pool, spa, sauna and gym which we are glad you experienced- you have been well informed, feedback such as yours has allowed us to invest in more weights for the gymnasium purely for the convenience of our guests!

Even though Zetland is located just outside of the city circle, there are bus services, Green Square train station and taxi options for our guests to go to and from their destinations.
Indeed he East Village Shopping Centre will be opening very soon in 2014 which is just minutes walking distance from the property.

Once again thank you for reviewing your stay and we look forward to accommodating you again at Meriton Zetland or at one of our other sister properties in Sydney, Gold Coast and Brisbane.

Kind Regards,
Carol N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Meriton Suites Waterloo
Meriton Suites Waterloo
#23 of 178 in Sydney
2,031 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Zetland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Zetland

Property: Meriton Suites Zetland
Address: 8 Defries Avenue | Zetland, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Zetland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be invited into the vibrant inner-city suburb of Zetland by our friendly porter assistance and experience superior service 24 hours a day with our professional and hospitable Guest Services team. Boasting 334 oversized and spacious suites, we promise all the comforts of home while at the same time showcasing resort style facilities here at Meriton Suites Zetland. Our range of Classic Studios to Modern Suites with 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms are fitted with comfy, plush bedding with deluxe linen, guaranteeing the perfect night's sleep while our luxurious, beautifully scented bathroom amenities will leave you feeling pampered. Featuring well-appointed kitchens and internal laundries, a reflection of the better quality priority of our Meriton Suites brand, our guests are able to take absolute comfort throughout their stay with us. Take it all in as you open the balcony doors of your suite, enjoy the fresh breeze and appreciate the inner city suburban atmosphere surrounding you. A swim in the heated 20 metre lap pool will have you energised after your flight, unwind in the spa and sauna or keep up your fitness routine in the state of the art fitness centre, complimentary and exclusive for our in-house guests. Come home from a day out to a freshly serviced suite, with our housekeeping team working daily to provide luxury cleaning for your comfort. Take some time out and browse the net with our complimentary high speed Wi-Fi connection, accessible from all parts of our hotel, including your suite. Strategically positioned 3.5 kilometres away from Sydney Airport and 4 kilometres from Sydney's CBD, Zetland is undergoing an urban renewal in the construction of modern retail, business and residential developments, making us the perfect place for all travellers looking for a convenient location. The newly established East Village shopping centre is only a couple of minutes' walk away, fitted with supermarkets, specialty retail and eateries to cater to all tastes. Neighbouring suburbs of Waterloo and Surry Hills offer popular inner city dining and trendy cafes while our location only moments from Green Square station and bus stops can transport our guests to the sights and wonders of Sydney in an instant. To discover the local area, our guests will love our positioning in between two of Sydney's finest golf courses - the Australian Golf Club and Moore Park Golf Club. Only a stone's throw away is the historic Sydney Cricket Ground, Allianz Stadium and Royal Randwick Racecourse. The Centennial Parklands will be the perfect setting for a daily run or walk, where travellers can be encapsulated by its beautiful surrounds, lush grassy areas and a magical water fountain or for a designer fashion shopping experience, Paddington and Surry Hills provides ample choices along their boutique scattered streets. Be whisked away to an exciting urban locale and stay with us at Meriton Suites Zetland, where you will find better comfort and better value in our luxury suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meriton Suites Zetland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing