We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment but constant traffic noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meriton Suites Zetland
Ranked #13 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Good value spacious apartment, unfortunately in O block along the main road has noisy despite the double glazing 24/7. Comfortable beds, unfortunately room not available just after 2 when we arrived which was disappointing but otherwise had a nice stay. Really need a car as not much public transport in the area, we were able to get at least 4hr parking on the street each time without too much hassle (untimed after 6pm) so managed to avoid the parking fees. Suggest if you get a chance ask for a room away from the main road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Karen T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Meriton Zetland.

Indeed all our apartments are modern and spacious featuring kitchen and laundry amenities whilst still providing you with more space and more comfort.

For your next stay with us, please don’t hesitate to ask for a courtyard facing apartment which are usually our quieter rooms.

Even though Zetland is located just outside of the city circle, there are bus services, Green Square train station and taxi options for our guests to go to and from their destinations with ease.

We really appreciate you taking the time in sharing your feedback and we look forward to your return soon.

Best Regards,
Carol N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,691 - 2,697 of 3,391 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Excellent 5 star apartment. Beds are very comfy. Very large, self contained units. very clean and well located. Lovely thai restaurant close by. 24 hour reception, parking available. Would recommend to all age groups

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dmr064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear dmr064,

It always brings us great pleasure when we receive five star reviews!

All of our modern, clean and self-contained apartments are designed purely for the comfort of our guests. More so we also offer complimentary 1GB Wi-Fi per day as well as access to our pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium facilities- we really do cater for all!

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback and we very much look forward to you return.

With Many Thanks,
Carol N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Another beautifully designed Meriton apartment but we would prefer the CBD properties A little further away from the shops than we are used to and the room was right on the front road…we were very aware of the traffic and the view over Audi was not attractive

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ELIZABETH D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear ELIZABETH D,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Meriton Zetland.

It always brings us great joy when we receive feedback from our loyal guests as it is a true reflection of our consistency in delivering customer service excellence!

Indeed we have many properties across Sydney CBD, North Ryde and Bondi Junction as well as in Brisbane and the Gold Coast offering Meriton Serviced Apartments anywhere you go.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your comments, we look forward to welcoming you again to any of our properties.

Kind Regards,
Carol N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in Meriton Zetland for only one night and were really impressed with the quality of the service. It's a huge apartment complex, conveniently located within 15 min drive to Sydney airport and 15 min walk to a metro, from where it's just a stop or to two to central Sydney. Area is still being developed, but we spotted a mini-market and a couple of cafes nearby.
Reception staff were very helpful with the directions, check-in / out were quick. We had no trouble finding a car park space, which costs $25 per day. WiFi is free & speedy.
The apartment we've booked was a 1-bedroom one - the one we've got had a large kitchen/dining/living area, a patio (as it was a ground floor one), a little study section, one smaller bathroom and bedroom, and one master bedroom with large bathroom. It could easily fit two couples. The kitchen was fully stocked with all imaginable utensils, apartment featured several TVs and iPod docks.
The only two minor negatives were a slight smell of cigarette smoke inside, which we got read of by opening all the many windows, and poor noise isolation, at least at the ground floor, as we could hear pretty much anything happening outside in the inner courtyard of the complex.
But otherwise it was an excellent choice - convenient, clean, modern, spacious and overall enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms if concerned about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anya_Ukr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Anya_Ukr,

We are thrilled that you chose to stay at Meriton Zetland! Thank you for taking the time in reviewing your recent stay with us.

It is fantastic to read that our product and services were of great use to you and your travel needs. As Zetland is a developing suburb, we are pleased to inform you that the East Village Shopping Centre will be opening very soon which is also just minutes walking distance from the property, offering ample variety of supermarkets, restaurants, cafes and shopping mall complexes.

Once again thank you for your review as it is feedback such as yours that is truly rewarding and encourages us to achieve even better results for the future.

Warm Regards,
Carol N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We'd rather have small and perhaps and a step down from the highest quality if it comes with newish and very clean and by the way GREAT value. Fully furnished flat. Easy to find and good enough location. Thank you to the Trip Advisor visitors who preceded us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear E M,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

It is great that our luxury furnished apartments that feature gourmet kitchens, internal laundries and modern bathrooms were suitable to your needs!

Our additional services also include complimentary access to our pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium available to all guests who choose to stay with us-we really do offer fantastic value for money!

Your feedback as well as feedback from other members of Trip Advisor is what allows us to continuously offer an exceptional product in order to consistently be the leader in accommodation.

Once again thank you, and we look forward to your return soon.

Kind Regards,
Carol N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here with our friends when we was on holiday around Australia. We was on the 21st floor and the views were amazing. although a little out of Sydney the transport system was the reason why we choose this hotel. it was a 5-10 min walk to the train station which took you into Syndey and there were plenty of bus stops around for the days we wanted to go out and about. It is in a great location as there is shops and restaurants near by if you wanted to stay local for a quiet night. We will stay here again. The staff looked after us and provided us with soaps, shampoos etc to freshen up as we arrived at the hotel around 8am in morning and check in isn't while 2(ish). We had full use of the facilities and the staff on reception were very helpful and providing us with maps etc and the best way to get to places we wanted etc and we took their recommendations on board also.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taz15485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear taz15485,

It always brings us great joy when we receive five star reviews! Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback with us and the Trip Advisor community.

We are so pleased that our self-contained apartments were useful to your needs. All our spacious and modern apartments at Meriton Zetland feature kitchen and laundry amenities that provide our guests with everything they need to have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Furthermore we provide pool, spa, sauna and gym facilities for any guest staying with us which we hope you had time to experience!

Even though Zetland is located just outside of the city circle, there are bus services, Green Square train station and taxi options for our guests to go to and from their destinations which is great that you made great use of!

Thank you for your lovely review and for your recognition of our wonderful friendly staff! We look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in Sydney!

Best Regards,
Carol N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We got off a 6am flight and arrived at the apartments by 8am even though the official check in time stated on the booking was 2pm. How grateful and relieved we were when they gave us keys to the 1-bedroom apartment right away. And how delighted we were to discover how spacious the apartment was.

A large, fully equipped kitchen meant that we saved quite a bit of money on meals over the 3 days we were there, being able to prepare our own breakfasts and dinners. And after each meal, there's the dishwasher! The dining table seats four and there's an extra table on the outdoor deck for four more. However, the deck faces the expressway so dining on the deck could be a rather noisy affair. That said, double layered windows meant the apartment was quiet at any time of day.

The only area that could have done with more space was the bedroom. Having a king sized bed was a treat, but we had to walk sideways to get around the room especially since another TV and console unit was located in the bedroom.

We tried taking the bus from the apartment to Sydney and eventually decided to rent a car instead since we wanted to visit several locations every day. Parking at the apartment's basement carpark is $25/day.

This was a good landing pad for our first time to Sydney. Free internet connection, cable TV, washer and dryer facilities within the apartment and reasonable rates certainly rank high in my books.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DezLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear DezLow,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Zetland.

We are glad to read that you made such great use of our self-contained apartments that feature gourmet kitchens, internal laundries and modern bathrooms whilst still providing you with more space, more freedom and more choice for you.

As you discovered, we are a short taxi ride from the airport, however if our guests choose to travel to the inner city CBD or surrounding suburbs there are multiple bus services as well as Green Square Train Station just 10 minutes walking distance from Meriton.

We also offer additional facilities such as our pool, spa, gym and sauna which we hope you had time to enjoy!

Thank you for sharing your feedback about the space in the master room. We encourage all feedback as it is what allows us to continuously deliver a quality serviced product. Please be assured that it has been passed onto relative management and we hope it didn’t cause you too much inconvenience.

Once again thank you for reviewing your stay and we look forward to accommodating you again at Meriton Zetland or at one of our other sister properties in Sydney, Gold Coast and Brisbane.

Warm Regards,
Carol N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Meriton Suites Waterloo
Meriton Suites Waterloo
#26 of 186 in Sydney
2,283 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Zetland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Zetland

Address: 8 Defries Avenue | Zetland, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £92 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Zetland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be invited into the vibrant inner-city suburb of Zetland by our professional and hospitable Guest Services team. Boasting 334 oversized and spacious suites situated across 22 floors, we promise all the comforts of home while at the same time showcasing resort style facilities here at Meriton Suites Zetland. Our range of Studio to Modern Suites with 1, 2 and 3-bedrooms are designed to be up to three times larger than a traditional hotel room and are fitted with comfy, plush bedding with deluxe linen, guaranteeing the perfect night’s sleep. Featuring well-appointed kitchens, internal laundries and modern flat screen TVs complete with a range of Foxtel channels, guests are able to take absolute comfort throughout their stay with us. The newly established East Village shopping centre is only a couple of minutes’ walk away, fitted with supermarkets, specialty retail and eateries to cater to all tastes. Conveniently located only moments from Green Square station and bus stops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Meriton Suites Zetland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing