We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Cool in CBD”
Review of The Baxter Inn

The Baxter Inn
Ranked #2 of 5,836 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Super Cool in CBD”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Baxter Inn is one of the coolest bars ever! It's down an alley and you'd never find it if you weren't looking, but it's so brilliant, it's well worth discovering!
We only went in for cocktails and as most of their drinks are whisky based, I didn't think I'd like much, but they had a great apple one I enjoyed. As you enter via a staircase to the basement (not glam, I wasn't hoping for much!) you feel like you're stepping back in time to the jazz era. It's incredible - an amazing array of drinks, a cool old world atmosphere and jazz playing constantly. You would never think you're in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Even on a Tuesday night, the place was packed - a great place to meet friends. We absolutely loved it and a quick drink turned into a very late night!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Temer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    154
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“what a back bar”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

this place plain an simple rocks..... not much more to say but amazing back bar, amazing staff, great vibe and great decor. been here a lot and never been disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissyMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cool venue ruined by arrogant and rude waitstaff who seemed drunk”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Agree with the previous review regarding the awful attitude of the staff. We visited with friends last Friday 9th May. We queued to enter and then had to wait a while for a table, but originating from London this was normal for us. The drinks were lovely and the venue cool, but the experience was completely ruined by the appalling attitude of a couple of the waitstaff. In the end, we felt obliged to find the manager on duty to complain. He assured us he would have a word with the waiter, but who knows if anything came of it!

One particular member of staff (with black hair in a ponytail) spilled wine all over my phone when he miscalculated the position of the glass. Unexpected and annoying, but not a huge deal - he gave us a couple of free whiskey shots to apologise. However, he then later proceeded to spill wine again, all over one of our group, and then finally he tipped another bottle of wine all over the table when going to turn it upside down in the ice bucket believing it to be finished (without checking - there was a lot left). All of us felt he appeared drunk - he was smirking, sarcastic in his apologies, and completely un-bothered by the negative effect his attitude was having on our night. I don't know how any sober waiter could spill drinks in such a ridiculous way three times!)

Another member of staff giving out bowls of pretzels was walking around throwing the bowls down on the table, spilling them everywhere - again, he appeared drunk.

This is not a cheap place to drink, but the attitude held by members of staff is. If I am going to a nice bar for nice drinks I do not expect to have multiple drinks spilled all over me and pretzels thrown at me. I would suggest new bar staff with a mature attitude who treat their customers with the respect they deserve! I would like to go back, and to recommend this place to others, but I would hesitate to do so until the place treats their customers better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TCharlotte_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the best bars in Sydney”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

It's tough to find a proper whiskey bar in Sydney that has a wide variety, that special kind of class and an atmosphere that whittles away the hours with the smooth tones of jazz and the light beat of soft rock classics. Actually when you try to find even one of these, you're hard pressed. When you find Baxters, your search is over.

A note right from the start; this place is really popular and not very big. You will almost invariably be waiting in line if it's not a long weekend or any other of the various reasons the CBD workers have an early mark. There's no reservations available (according to their website) and the rule of tables and booths is "the quick and the dead".

If you brave the line (it's not so bad), one of the best experiences of the place, believe it or not, is walking in. You are walking into what can only be described as a utility access stairwell. There was even a handyman working on something to add to the nature and I guarantee you will wonder if you've got the right place. The second you cross the threshold from the entry to the bar, you will know first impressions can be more than a little misleading.
If there was ever a bar that instantly demands that you order a smooth, single malt on the rocks, this is it. It can be a little noisy at first but the atmosphere created is intoxicating and you'll soon find yourself relaxed and not planning on leaving anytime soon.

The bar itself has a whiskey range so impressive it's difficult to capture the entire board in one photo. Don't worry though, if you don't know quite what you want or are feeling adventurous, just ask one of the barkeeps. They'll be happy to help and explain the differences. Not into whiskey? Trust me, you will find something on that menu, but let's say you don't; never fear, they have a good range of lagers, beers and ales to suit. Still not your thing? How about an old-fashioned cocktail? Yep, they do those too. They had a Japanese Pear with freshly juiced apple (literally, the juicer is right there on the bar) which was divine and definitely dangerous.

Go with a group of friends or night out with someone special, you won't be disappointed but bring your wallet. Like all good things, this hits the back pocket like no ones business. Totally worth it though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank User12304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved this place! A must visit in Sydney!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I decided to try this bar out on ANZAC day after reading such great reviews, and we are so glad we did! This place has such a great vibe, the bartenders were great and we had a great time trying out all the different types of scotch whiskey. We were only down in Sydney for the weekend but we made sure we also headed there the next night (Saturday), as it was such a fantastic place. Highly recommend this place to others (but get there early so you can sit at the bar!)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Baxter Inn also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Baxter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing