We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ranked #3 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

What an amazing surprise to arrive at 1888 Hotel in Darling harbour, the decor is chic & charming! Staff are warm & friendly, very efficient team within the Hotel. The location is perfect being snuggled behind the ibis/ Novotel. The menu, delightful! Coffee fabulous!! I slept like baby in a super comfey bed!
This Hotel is brand spankers & not expensive.
Take the opportunity & fall in love!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalieworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Natalieworld,

The team and I would like to thank you for your amazing review.
By the sound of it you really loved our gorgeous 1888 Hotel.

We are happy you decided to take the opportunity to experience our brand new hotel and I am sure you won't wait too long before you book your next stay with us.

We can't wait to spoil you again!

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    352
    66
    21
    12
See reviews for
128
1,136
141
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very centrally located to darling harbour, a quiet stylish hotel amidst the chaos of the city. Staff all young, attentive and eager to please. Had a back room facing pyrmont street, very quiet. Very clean and comfortable, the little bar downstairs had a great choice of australian products nice to see. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sherryhumphreys2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear sherryhumphreys,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Please make sure that you book your next stay soon.

The team and I can't wait to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giaveno, Italy
Level Contributor
164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

(5-10 aug 13)
1888 hotel is in a perfect loaction, but defiled from the noisy areas (300m from Darling Harbour Mall and Sydney Explorer City tour bus stop 22) [5/5]
The facade reminds me a old wharehouse, and the interior has a modern touch but a old feeling with exposed brick walls, antique finish wooden beams, etc...[5/5].
My room on top floor was big, cozy and was showing a good and modern interior design, including modern black furnitures, stone floors, high ceilings painted in white and a sigle very large window (mine opening in the internal area hosting the glass lift) and a iPad to see news, weather and access hotel information and services. [5/5]
The bed was huge and very confortable [5/5].
Bathroom was very modern, spacious, accessible and perfectly clean [5/5].
Breakfast choice is good and all the food is high to top quality [4,5/5].

I will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea_Ravera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Carissimo Andrea_Ravera,

Thank you for your great review of your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

We are over the moon about all your great comments and this will certainly help all our future guests who can't wait to stay with us.

Please make sure that you don't wait too long before you book your next stay with us as the team and I can't wait to welcome you again!

Warmest regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Such a great find this hotel is. The recently opened hotel has been fitted out extremely well. The decor of the hotel creates such a warm welcome and gives that feel of excitement and relaxation all in one.
There is a very cool, trendy feel to the place and the finishings are top shelf.
Our room was well fitted out, the beds amazing and you could not ask for anything else in a hotel.
The Eatery & Bar looks amazing and the food that we saw coming from the kitchen looked to match the quality of the hotel. Unfortunately we were there for business and did not have the chance to eat there but next time for sure.
I really like the direction that this hotel is going and being in such a great location I would highly recommend staying there.
The staff were amazing and really were very friendly and knowledgeable.
Having only recently opened this place is already doing amazing things and will only get better.
Already looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KURTandLISA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear KURTandLISA,

Thank you for your reviewing your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

The team and I are excited to read your comments and it is great to know that you have enjoyed your experience.

We are proud of our service and we love looking after our guests.
It is imperative that you try our simple, fresh and delicious food next time you stay with us.
Do you want us to book a table for you? And most importantly, have you booked your next stay already?

We can't wait to welcome you again soon!

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is the most brilliant little hotel I have stayed in for as long as I can remember. From the very friendly and helpful staff to the mega comfortable bed and the quality bathroom amenities. As well it looks fantastic with all the old timbers exposed from the buildings days as a wharehouse. It is a fantastic renovation.

We chose a shoebox queen bed room as we only needed somewhere to sleep for 1 night. It was plenty big enough. We have stayed in much smaller in Venice and Paris for a lot more money. We where told that we had one of the larger shoe box rooms, on the top floor with a vaulted ceiling. The only view was to the lobby and there was a bit of plant noise, which was the only down side for the whole stay. We used ear plugs so problem solved. I did report it to the management and they are looking to see what can be done. A very responsive management team.

The bed had a topper from Microcloud. I just ordered one for my own bed. It was amazing, most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. My wife and I usually rise very early for work and out of habit on the weekends. Slept in till after 9. Pillows and dooner complemented it all. The hotel has only been open a month (when we stayed), so is of course very clean and still smells new.

The in room entertainment console accepts HDMI and A/V inputs, as well as Bluetooth so you can run your music to the TV. Which is a Samsung LED TV and looks great. It is on a full motion mount that even lets you watch from the bathroom (if your wife lets you :-)There is an iPad 3 to provide information about the hotel, the surrounding attactions, to control the Air Conditioning and tell you how to use the entertainment system. Very high tech but dead easy to use. The console has a USB port for charging your devices as well. Free WiFi in the room is fast and easy to access. The TV mounting and devices where all of a high quality. Which reflects the attitude of the management I think.

The bathroom was normal size, well appointed and a rain head shower, which I like. Plenty of pressure too.

The Lobby has a bar, which closes at midnight, but there is 24 hour service to the rooms. A small range of quality drinks are available. There are comfortable longe chairs and a really nice ambience to it.

For breakfast there is a buffet which seemed quite nice. We opted for the cooked big breakfast and so glad. Perfect poached eggs, spicey sausage, bacon, tomato, something green and the best baked beans ever. Crunchy sourdough toast with butter too. The coffee was spectacular and even the iced water tasted good.

Easy parking was available across the road in Wilson Harbourside. Literally less than 50 meters from where we parked to the front door. Pick a parking spot at the south end near the stairs to the street.

Lots of restaurant and entertainment options at Darling Harbour. Use the Novatel overwalk into Harbourside for easy access.

All the staff we encountered where very friendly and professional at the same time. They went out of their way to help.

I loved this place and it is now my new goto hotel if I need to stay in the city. (I am from Sydney, but sometimes a hotel room is cheaper and more convenient than a taxi). I am at a conference next week, so have booked again so I can enjoy the cocktail party.

My only concern is, that it is so good it will be hard to get a booking in future.

Room Tip: Top floor room 419 has a lot of plant noise. But is much roomier due to high ceiling. Take or ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Ozi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

Wow: what a review! We are over the moon to read that everything you have experienced was great. I don't even know where to start apart from saying thank you, thank you and thank you to everything you have commented on.

I think you'll be awarded the honorary badge of "Best Friend of 1888"!
The team and I can't wait to see you again soon (This Wednesday!).

Warmest regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Hotel 1888 is stylish, rustic, simple and very friendly. Unlike the larger hotels I didn't feel intimidated when I walked through the main doors and the staff are friendly, easy going and very helpful. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Rebecca M,

Thank you for your reviewing your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

It's great to read that you have enjoyed your time with us.
When are you visiting us again?

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Exceptionally friendly, helpful and professional staff.
Being a boutique hotel the decor in lobby and rooms is 'cool/unique' and very appealing.
The Queen room I stayed in was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
Great location, a few steps from Darling harbour, and just a short stroll over the Pyrmont Bridge into the CBD.
Just a really lovely experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Vanessa M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

We couldn't be any happier to read that you think we are great! The hotel is in an amazing location and we love to look after our guests.

Please make sure you don't wait too long before you book your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour

Property: Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Address: 139 Murray Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia (Formerly 1888 Hotel Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour was tastefully restored and thoughtfully designed with shutter-happy Instagrammers in mind, providing photo opportunities around every corner so captivating that you really need #nofilter. Originally constructed as a wool store and factory in 1888, the building still bears the original signage of its birth year, visible from the busy streets of Pyrmont. A heritage listed 90-bedroom boutique hotel as well as bar & event space, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour brings together Sydney's old world charm and contemporary design with Ovolo's service culture to offer a truly mind-blowing experience in modern hospitality. The collection of rooms each boast 3-metre high ceilings, exposed brick walls, original ironbark beams, concealed uplighting, huge sound proofed period windows, recycled timber work stations, bespoke furniture and feature walls in each room flaunting the colourfully commissioned pieces by celebrated local artist, Jasper Knight. Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour is located in Sydney's inner-city suburb of Pyrmont, neighbouring Darling Harbour, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Market, Sydney Exhibition & Convention Centre, The Star, a wide selection of must-go bars & dining options, and the very best boutique shopping this side of the Southern Hemisphere. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Continental breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, 24 hour gym access? - Yep, all free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Travelbag, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing