We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Boutique Hotel of 5 Star Excellence - Nat from Wanzl Aust Pty Ltd”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ranked #3 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Burwood, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Boutique Hotel of 5 Star Excellence - Nat from Wanzl Aust Pty Ltd”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

When you walk into this hotel, you will be greeted by lovely girls like Sonia, Angela Koop, Jess Ivery and Jessica. These girls make your morning and evening wonderful. When I requested something urgent at night, Angela acted on it immediately and showed up at my door 2 times just to make sure I was OK. The continental breakfast was excellent and ambience was so good that no one wants to leave their tables! There is a lovely mix and match when it comes to furniture, especially the Chesterfield brown sofa! Our company had booked into 4 rooms and feedback from my colleagues were all good and positive. Rooms were delightful as they were immaculate, spacious, well cleaned and bright. Shower was fantastic apart from quality toiletries. Oh there was a white sponge which most boutique hotels do not provide. Beds were so plush and comfy that you can sink into after a hard day's work. When I next stay with Hotel 1888, I would bring my family along with me. This hotel is good value for money and it was way above my expectations. Well done Hotel 1888!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Nat C,

The team and I would like to thank you for your review of you recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

We are extremely proud of our service and I consider myself blessed for having such an amazing team. Sonia, Agnes, Jess and Jessica are as wonderful as every other team member and we all have one thing in common: the passion for the hospitality industry.
Looking after and spoiling our guests is our number one priority. From our genuine front office team to our super efficient housekeeping team, from our attentive reservations team to our excellent Eatery&Bar team, we all strive to offer the most unique and enjoyable experience.

Thank you for your support and we can't wait to welcome you again soon with your family.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,602
    362
    67
    23
    15
See reviews for
133
1,194
148
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I spent a night here recently and were seriously impressed. The exterior of the hotel is very discreet which just ads to the impact when the front door opens. Very unique as it has been loving restored in sympathy with the original use as a wool store. Greeted by 2 really charming young staff (loved the laid back denim uniforms) our first impression was so welcoming. Whilst our room was not ready (we were early and had also requested a quiet room) our bag was checked in and later that day I was called to say our room was now ready. Having stayed in many Sydney hotels (including a fair share of 5 stars) I have never had this service experience. The young lady asked what were we doing and suggested a few different spots for an evening drink or dinner – loved that!
On return we then checked in to a really different room with special features like ipad access.
Our room was very quiet just like I had requested, and beautifully appointed and once again so in tune with the buildings origins.
When we left for dinner one of that staff asked how we liked the room and hotel and we expressed our delight and you could see how happy they were because of the pride they had in their unique workspace (very unusual to have such a range of young people with such a passion for their jobs).
The location of the hotel is just minutes to Darling Harbour and unless you are really lazy a very pleasant walk to the Sydney CBD.
The checkout experience was one of the smoothest I have had and again delivered with genuine customer service.
Well done 1888 – we have not stayed with the 8 Hotels Collections group before but assuredly will seek the brand out now as they set themselves apart in every way.

Room Tip: Just ask them - they are so very helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathleen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Cathleen59,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

It is wonderful to read all your amazing comments and by the sound of it, you really loved your stay. We are happy to connect with people who love 1888 Hotel as much as we do.
We believe in excellent service and don't need to be 5 stars to deliver 5 stars service.

When can we expect to see you again so we can look after you?

Warmest regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murwillumbah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

1888 Hotel - staff friendly and welcoming and down to earth. Love the fresh faces!! The lobby and dining room have a wonderful ambiance rooted in wood, glass and ironworks. Some original items and images from the buildings former life make it interesting and intimate. Breakfast provided a good selection of fresh fruits, breads and cheeses and the espresso coffee was great!! We stayed in a King size room - which compared with other hotels is not large, but well appointed, super clean and modern. It was also great to see so many locally produced organic foods in the mini bar. Highly recommend the hotel for business or leisure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flowerdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Flowerdays,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our great hotel and we can't wait to welcome you again soon.

We love to spoil our guests and make sure that they have a great time.
We do love our coffee and the menu is focused on sourcing food that is ethically produced and sustainable. Using local suppliers that ensure there meat is grass fed, hormone and chemical free animals.

When are you coming back?

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I have just had the pleasure of staying in this boutique hotel, just a couple of minutes walk from Cockle Bay and Darling Harbour. Everything about this hotel is great, the design, the location and the staff. I look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are upstairs or downstairs, it would pay to check if you have a lot of baggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Shane M,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

We are also looking forward to welcome you again and look after you.
Have you booked yet?

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The thing that makes 1888 Hotel great is the staff - very friendly and helpful. The hotel is also very beautiful, and the location is perfect.
The breakfast was delicious and for our family, it was in a lovely quiet spot. All the furniture, fittings, right down to the teapots and teacups are carefully colour co-ordinated to give you that industrial but cosy feel.
But the things that makes this hotel a star are the staff. What a fantastic, freindly and helpful team! 1888 Hotel, you should be proud!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplelotus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear purplelotus73,

Thank you for you great review of you recent stay with us.

We love our genuine and friendly service and we love looking after and spoiling our guests.
We are so proud and happy to be part of this amazing project.

We can't wait to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I had a fantastic time on my second visit to the hotel. The design of it looks outstanding and the service fantastic, specially the breakfast with different type of breads and cheeses. Coffee is a must, well done to the barista.
I stayed in the room 421, top floor, up the stairs. If you are travelling with lots of bags, I do not recommend as you need to carry your own bags up the stairs. Despite that, the room looks amazing and it has a small balcony around, no spa bath. King “comfort” bed and complementary ipad in the room.
Good stay, well done.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Fernas,

Thank you for taking the time to review your second stay with us.

We are extremely happy you have enjoyed you stay. We love our breakfast and our coffee here and can't wait to extend into dinner and brunch soon.

We are always to help our guests with their luggage and make sure that they feel as comfortable and relaxed as possible.

Have you booked your next stay yet? Please make sure you don't wait too long to come back.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Staying at the new 1888 Hotel - which, at time of writing, had been opened only two months - very much exceeded my expectations. In essence, this hotel - part of the impressive 8Hotels portfolio - is an arhictect and interior designer's dream. The finishing touches everywhere make it a fun, funky place, yet stylish and streamlined enough to stay here for work conferences and short business stays (even the meeting room for small conferences is cool).

The big and little things made the 1888 Hotel a memorable stay: the iPad in every room, only Australian products stocked in the mini-bar (many organic), the bath loofah and bath products, stylish armchairs and exposed beams and smart TVs - it's all here.

What I also love is the location - a short (5 minute) walk to the heart of Pyrmont and the newly refurbished The Star (Sydney's casino). This means many eateries and leisure facilities are right on your doorstep.

I love that you are in the CBD, but on the outskirts enough that you're not in the thick of the madness. Also, there is a carpark across the road from the hotel - very convenient.

And the staff: all exceptional, friendly people. All are happy and proud to work there, and it shows. The staff is one of 1888 Hotel' greatest asset.

The foyer area is beautiful, and the cafe that resides there is fantastic: the ambience is cool and a fab place to not only have breakast, but also enjoy cocktails the night before. The food is fantastic, and the service, excellent.

Overall, I cannot fault 1888 Hotel - it is flawless, friendly, and a fabulous spot for any kind of stay in Sydney. I'd gladly stay here again. It's perfection.

Room Tip: Rooms on either side of Pyrmont are equally good. Every room is different and perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Josie G,

Let me think on what to say... What an amazing review? Not enough. What an incredible review? Still not enough. Wow: what an extraordinary review!

The team and I are over the moon and you should be here with us to see the amazing smile you put on everyone's face.

We are extremely happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and sharing your feedback is the biggest reward.

I really hope that you have already booked your next stay at 1888 Hotel and if you haven't, please don't wait too long as we can't wait to welcome you and spoil you again.

Warmest regards,

The Extraordinary 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 178 in Sydney
1,177 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 178 in Sydney
1,912 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 178 in Sydney
1,726 reviews
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#2 of 178 in Sydney
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour

Property: Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Address: 139 Murray Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia (Formerly 1888 Hotel Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour was tastefully restored and thoughtfully designed with shutter-happy Instagrammers in mind, providing photo opportunities around every corner so captivating that you really need #nofilter. Originally constructed as a wool store and factory in 1888, the building still bears the original signage of its birth year, visible from the busy streets of Pyrmont. A heritage listed 90-bedroom boutique hotel as well as bar & event space, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour brings together Sydney's old world charm and contemporary design with Ovolo's service culture to offer a truly mind-blowing experience in modern hospitality. The collection of rooms each boast 3-metre high ceilings, exposed brick walls, original ironbark beams, concealed uplighting, huge sound proofed period windows, recycled timber work stations, bespoke furniture and feature walls in each room flaunting the colourfully commissioned pieces by celebrated local artist, Jasper Knight. Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour is located in Sydney's inner-city suburb of Pyrmont, neighbouring Darling Harbour, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Market, Sydney Exhibition & Convention Centre, The Star, a wide selection of must-go bars & dining options, and the very best boutique shopping this side of the Southern Hemisphere. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Continental breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, 24 hour gym access? - Yep, all free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Odigeo, Travelbag, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing