We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at 1888 Hotel in Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Country, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our stay at 1888 Hotel in Sydney”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This was the best hotel that we stayed in on our trip to Sydney and New Zealand. It is a trendy hotel with attention to every detail. Small efficient room which is all we require as do not spend much time in a hotel room. The breakfasts were delicious with so many choices, I can still taste the wonderful oatmeal and the delicious coffee. The staff were excellent and very helpful. We loved the location as close to the harbour. We would certainly stay here again. So nice not to be in a large impersonal hotel.

Room Tip: Well positioned, boutique hotel, fantastic breakfasts, clean rooms, super staff. I would certainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieLynne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Bonniera

We were thrilled to learn that this was the best hotel you stayed at during your visit "down under"!

It is the ideal location in a beautifully repurposed building with fantastic food and a wonderful team. We are pleased you loved it!

We would love to welcome you back.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,575
    359
    67
    22
    15
See reviews for
132
1,180
147
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the 1888 from 2/9-2/11. We stayed in the smallest room - which was actually perfect since we didn't spend much time at the hotel. We loved the staff as they were helpful with maps, directions, restaurant recommendations and more. The location was great if you want to be close to the Harbour, and we didn't mind walking to ferries either (probably a 15-20 min walk). The rooms were clean, beautiful, brightly lighted! Would DEFINITELY stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnvolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear mnvolz,

Thank you for such kind words. It's great to know that you appreciated the variety of room sizes available and chose the one perfect for you. I am glad that you loved the staff - they loved you guys too!

Come back soon to be spoilt a little more.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The hotel staff were most friendly and helpful and very happy to assist you in any way they could. The decor of the hotel is beautiful and the room itself, whilst on the small side, is extremely comfortable particularly the bed! We enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the dining area and the presentation of the food was a standout. We also love that the hotel has incorporated the prior history of the building with photos and other information for the guests. The proximity to Darling Harbour and surrounds was great as we had tickets to a show at the Capitol Theatre. We will certainly be returning to this hotel when next in Sydney.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElineL108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Eline,

Thank you for your great review!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed learning a bit about this historic building in one of the oldest harbour suburbs in Sydney.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast with seasonal produce sourced locally. And of course the staff - thank you for recognising what a wonderful team they are.

Come back soon!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Entering the Lobby of the hotel one becomes overwhelmed by the attention to detail and the modern design of this hotel. Unfortunately the attention to detail isn’t carried over into the rooms and we ended up being stuck in an interior room for 3 nights, no ventilation in the bathroom which meant every time we had a quick shower the entire room filled up with steam, no window to open, disabled toilet in the room with a cushioned backrest and set nearly 2 feet out from the wall for wheel chair use gave a random public toilet fell.

Frequent taxi service passing the front door. Friendly staff. Free WiFi. Was expecting a little more, the hotel was pleasant enough for a good night sleep but probably wouldn’t worry about returning next time we are back in Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TastBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear TasteBarcelona,

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that we were not entirely happy with your stay with us.

The last guest I spoke to that was in the same room raved about the bathroom, she loved the extra space and the huge rain shower.

Thank you for your comments about the great staff, the good night's sleep and some of the extra touches that our guests enjoy.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Unusual to find a hotel where everyone is so friendly and helpful. A smart hotel with a great breakfast offering including cooked to order. Rooms are comfortable although not particularly large and the situation close by Darling Harbour is excellent. The standout factor is undoubtedly the team for whom customer service is a way of life.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Malcolm,

Thank you for commenting so positively about the stand out team and our great hotel.

We take great pride in what we do and we enjoy doing it so I am pleased you appreciated it. You are always welcome when you are in Sydney.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

In every way I was charmed by this hotel - the entrance so open and welcoming, the staff always attentive, kind and willing to be of service. My room had a bath and was spacious and I hardly wanted to leave it! Great design over all. Very comfortable bed! In every detail I noticed the care and consideration which made me feel well and relaxed. I am sure that all the other guests felt something similar as the atmosphere in the entrange/ lounge was so pleasant at any time . Even the mini bar selection was excellent! The WiFi worked perfectly. I would love to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Christina,

Thank you for such a great review!

Some very clever work has gone into the refurbishment and creation of this fantastic property. I am glad you appreciated this and also the exceptional staff.

If you would love to return, then you must - we are waiting to spoil you!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

This is a really smart hotel and in a great location for darling harbour/exploring the city. Unfortunately our flight was delayed and we were unable to make our first night here. We attempted to amend our booking but it was too late, so it worked out to be an expensive night! Our small queen room did not not have any external windows, but very quiet and super comfortable bed.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Wayne S,

We were pleased that you eventually made it to Sydney and you had some time to enjoy this "smart" hotel with its great location.

The silver lining of your delayed flight experience would have been after a long international flight and arriving early into this beautiful city your room would have been ready immediately. Perfect to freshen up in and then start exploring.

Come back soon, stay longer so we can spoil you more.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 175 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour

Property: Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Address: 139 Murray Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia (Formerly 1888 Hotel Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour was tastefully restored and thoughtfully designed with shutter-happy Instagrammers in mind, providing photo opportunities around every corner so captivating that you really need #nofilter. Originally constructed as a wool store and factory in 1888, the building still bears the original signage of its birth year, visible from the busy streets of Pyrmont. A heritage listed 90-bedroom boutique hotel as well as bar & event space, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour brings together Sydney's old world charm and contemporary design with Ovolo's service culture to offer a truly mind-blowing experience in modern hospitality. The collection of rooms each boast 3-metre high ceilings, exposed brick walls, original ironbark beams, concealed uplighting, huge sound proofed period windows, recycled timber work stations, bespoke furniture and feature walls in each room flaunting the colourfully commissioned pieces by celebrated local artist, Jasper Knight. Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour is located in Sydney's inner-city suburb of Pyrmont, neighbouring Darling Harbour, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Market, Sydney Exhibition & Convention Centre, The Star, a wide selection of must-go bars & dining options, and the very best boutique shopping this side of the Southern Hemisphere. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Continental breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, 24 hour gym access? - Yep, all free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelbag, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing