We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique place - bit quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ranked #3 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had one night here and having wanted to avoid the typical chain hotels it delivered as desired at a fair price; under $200 for 5 star in Sydney (through booking.com) is great value. We didn't have a shoebox although our room was still quite "compact" but fine and the bathroom was a good size and functional. Nice coffee in the eating area but we chose to head to Glebe for a Sydney brunch experience (which was pretty good; try Astor on Glebe Point Rd which is only a few minutes drive from 1888). Very helpful staff and we liked the no paper policy. We were impressed that one of the few remaining wool stores in Sydney has been saved and put to really good use.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mftlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear mftlat,

Thank you for your kind comments. It was great to read that you loved how this historic building has been repurposed into this cool boutique hotel. Thank you also for you 5 star feedback on our service and cleanliness.

Come back soon and try more that The Eatery & Bar has to offer, we do a lot more than just great coffee!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,161)
There are newer reviews for Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,487 - 1,493 of 2,162 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

After several hundred hours in the air - economy class - Hotel 1888 was the BEST place to land. I looked like rubbish and their staff were so nice to me. I forgot my charger and they came up to the room and gave me one to use - at 1am. The best thing ever was that I instagramed my cup of tea and chocolate by my bed and lo and behold, a long lost friend from Perth was sleeping two floors down from me. She saw my instagram and posted one just like it. We then caught up for breakfast the next day. It really is the world's number one instagram hotel. I would have never known she was in town, let alone the same hotel, if I didn't gram that bedside saviour!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RettyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Betty,

I loved reading your review, it was wonderful to learn that you caught up with a long lost friend. It was also great to read that 1888 Hotel was the best place for you to land, with our unique facilities and caring service.

Come back soon - you never know who you might meet!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This is a funky little hotel in a pretty good location close to the CBD and darling harbour. Just don't expect a whole lot of space when you book your room unless you pay the premium for the suites. The downstairs restaurant is a very trendy little hangout, though we didn't eat here, the menu looked pretty good. Overall id stay here again if you didn't want a lot of room and if it was just a stopover for 1 night.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BennyTheBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hi Benny,

Thanks for the great review and it's wonderful to hear that we will see you again.

We are very fortunate to have a wide variety of room types giving our guests the opportunity to choose what is exactly right for them. The shoebox rooms are perfect for those who want all the luxuries of a boutique hotel and a great rate or for those that would like a bit more space and enjoy our popular king room the upgrade is only $20 per person...the choice is yours.

Your 5 star rating for cleanliness and service were most appreciated!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

1888 is by far the best boutique hotel in Sydney. My girlfriend and I stayed there for a special occasion and both of us loved it. It's located conveniently in Darling Harbour and just a stone's throw away from the Casino. It's less than 5 mins to walk right into the Harbour. It doesn't have any parking, but you can park your car in a public carpark located across the road - the parking is usually $60 something dollars for 24 hours, however the hotel gives you a discount card when you checkout that reduces it down to only $39. Overall, the room was clean, comfortable and very, very modern. It comes with a cool iPad style entertainment system and they actively encourage you to bring your own hard-drive in (loaded with movies/music). They have awesome music pumping downstairs, being streamed from a Spotify playlist. They've got a picture frame hanging in the foyer that you can jump into, which is perfect for a sneaky selfie as you check-in. The breakfast in the restaurant wasn't anything special, but it did the job and we were still satisfied. We will 100% be coming back in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in King Deluxe room 212. It's one of the few King Deluxe rooms that comes with a large...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisg276rec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Chris,

WOW - the best boutique hotel in Sydney, thank you so much!

It was great to read that you had such a wonderful time with us and enjoyed the unique services that we offer.

We look forward to seeing you again - 100%!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here for 1 night. Most has already been mentioned by other review. The service was great. We stayed in a King room which was small but sufficient. The bed was very comfortable and the curtains black out the city lights well so we got a great night sleep. Breakfast was OK, I had the toast with jam which was fine, my husband had eggs on toast and his eggs were well overcooked. We got a cheaper deal on agoda, otherwise we wouldn't have stayed here for the standard rate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dev45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Dev,

Thank you for the wonderful words and the 5 star rating for location, sleep quality, cleanliness and service. Thank you also for the comments about the eggs, I am sorry they were overcooked but am pleased that you let me know, I will now fix that.

Before your next visit you are welcome to book direct and we will ensure that you enjoy another great deal!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We loved every minute of staying at 1888 hotel, so comfortable from the moment you walk in, the staff are amazing, the food and coffee us wicked, I love our room, totally cool. If you haven't stayed here you should, it's the home you wish you had :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stormdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hi Stormdue,

Thanks for a brief but fantastic review!

We love that you loved the food, the coffee, your room and the team, we also loved having you visit. Stay longer next time!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

There are many places to stay in Sydney, most of which are overpriced. I found the 1888 looking through Trip Advisor. I didn't have to look far as it was the #1 ranked hotel, and it's easy to see why.

I booked a shoebox room with breakfast for a night and rang up to tell them I would be checking in around 9pm. The male manager greeted me upon arrival and processed the check-in quickly and efficiently. The lobby area is very nice - all built around an old warehouse with the main supports the original wood. The lifts were glass so it was pleasant yet short ride to the 3rd floor. I asked for a quiet room so was a bit dismayed when my room was next to the lift. However, it wasn't a problem. The lifts were very quiet and there was only a little noise from a few people drinking downstairs that didn't last long.

The shoebox rooom is small, but large enough for 1 or 2 people. There is only 1 chair but room for 2, so if you asked reception for one I'm sure they would bring one. The bed was a comfortable queen although the pillows were a bit big and hard for my liking.

There was coffee and T2 tea in the room, along with a good-sized TV and an ipad. There is free WI-fi but only for one device. The bathroom was quite big and had nice soap and shampoo (bottles stuck on the the walls so no samples to take away).

Breakfast was nice - $15 prepaid or $21 if not. $21 is a bit steep for what you get but $15 is fair value. There were croissants, large muffins, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, juice, plus a proper coffee. You could also order off a menu. There was a choice of seats ranging from old leather couches to tables.

Checkout was prompt but I did have to contact the hotel for a tax invoice the next day despite being told it had been emailed. I caught a taxi to and from the hotel so won't comment on the location, but it is a short taxi ride to the city or the uni.

1888 has charm and character. The original wood in the building really looks nice and they have done a great job in building the hotel in and around it.

Price wise the 1888 competes with most hotels in Sydney. In terms of character and service I think it's a real winner.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Mjref,

It was fantastic to read your 5 star review, thank you!

You appreciate everything that 1888 is about, the history, the heritage, the clever use of space, wonderful design, quality products, great value and stand out staff.

Thank you for sharing your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 178 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#12 of 178 in Sydney
1,983 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour

Address: 139 Murray Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia (Formerly 1888 Hotel Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £135 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour was tastefully restored and thoughtfully designed with shutter-happy Instagrammers in mind, providing photo opportunities around every corner so captivating that you really need #nofilter. Originally constructed as a wool store and factory in 1888, the building still bears the original signage of its birth year, visible from the busy streets of Pyrmont. A heritage listed 90-bedroom boutique hotel as well as bar & event space, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour brings together Sydney's old world charm and contemporary design with Ovolo's service culture to offer a truly mind-blowing experience in modern hospitality. The collection of rooms each boast 3-metre high ceilings, exposed brick walls, original ironbark beams, concealed uplighting, huge sound proofed period windows, recycled timber work stations, bespoke furniture and feature walls in each room flaunting the colourfully commissioned pieces by celebrated local artist, Jasper Knight. Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour is located in Sydney's inner-city suburb of Pyrmont, neighbouring Darling Harbour, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Market, Sydney Exhibition & Convention Centre, The Star, a wide selection of must-go bars & dining options, and the very best boutique shopping this side of the Southern Hemisphere. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Continental breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, 24 hour gym access? - Yep, all free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing