We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1888 Hotel - A stand out for customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1888 Hotel - A stand out for customer service!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

With a background in hotels I chose a boutique hotel over the larger stuffy hotels to surprise a friend for his birthday. Jess Ivory helped me pull together a room full of flowers with everything presented beautifully. I knew I could rely on her and staff to ensure the surprise went without a hitch and they didn't let me down!! Thank you to all the lovely staff members, especially Jess, who I had full confidence would get it right! We enjoyed a lovely night there and would not hesitate to recommend it to colleagues in the hospitality industry and we are two tough judges!! A SPECIAL THANK YOU TO YOU JESS AGAIN.

Room Tip: The room was a little oasis of good taste and comfort. I'm sure they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Karen,

Having you stay with us was such fun! You put so much thought into the birthday surprise for your friend, we loved it and we are glad you did too.

Thank you for this great review and also your very kind email to me singing our praises, in particular those of Jess Ivory!

Don't wait for another special occasion before coming back.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,575
    359
    67
    22
    15
See reviews for
132
1,180
147
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
459 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 967 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The rooms are small and are designed as somewhere to refresh and sleep but not to spend much time in. The Nick Cave wall painting didn't work for me but then maybe it does for the target market.
2 real pluses - the bar/food area is well set out, comfortable and well stocked for a catch up with friends - and the desk staff are excellent (clearly demonstrating the positive - Yes We Can).
Location if you need Darling Harbour is fine but the neighbourhood is really a raceway for cars and lacks interest.
Parking at a capped $25 per day is a factor.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RetiredWazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Wazza,

Thank you for the 5 star rating and your wonderful words on our service and also The Eatery & Bar.

Our guests are spoiled for choice with 6 different types of room categories. For those that are after additional space the King Deluxe rooms and the Junior Suites are ideal. I was sorry to read the piece of art in your room was not your taste, next time just let us know and we will happily change it.

Darling Harbour and the CBD are moments from our front door. Pyrmont is a dynamic and ever-changing neighbourhood with some great cultural highlights, parks, shopping, restaurants and bars For the latest places of interest check out the iPad in the room or ask the team, many of whom live just around the corner.

Come back soon so we can introduce you to some of the best parts of this historic harbour-side neighbourhood.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

What a treat it was to stay at 1888. A short walk around Darling Harbour or across the Pyrmont Bridge to the Sydney CBD. My partner and I stayed in a Queen bedroom, not huge but worth every cent. Clean, tidy and luxurious. Amazing double tiled shower with rain water head and an in-room iPad. We didn't want to leave, will definitely be back! 1888 is in a class of its own.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Gingie,

It was a treat to have you guys stay with us and thank you so much for your kind words. It was wonderful to read that you loved our location, the luxurious rooms and the iPad in your room.

We can't wait to see you again!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here in June 2014 the staff we friendly and helpful and gave us full review of Sydney's sites of where to go and what was on in the city. The hotel has a great boutique feel and is very clean. The location was fantastic as well less than 5 minutes into Darling Harbour. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Claire,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback! It was wonderful to read that you loved the location, the boutique feel of the property and above all the team.

Come back soon so we can spoil you again!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in June of 2014. All 'boutique' hotels should take a hard look at 1888 Hotel, because they're doing it right!

Aesthetics - The lobby is beyond hip. The colors. The furniture. The decor. Down to the chambray shirt uniforms that the employees wear - everything about this place screams COOL. It has an industrial / unfinished / artistic vibe about it, and it completely jived with our personalities!

Customer Service - I asked the concierge for a few recommendations on local bars, and she took the time to handwrite recommendations, and pin point them on a map of Sydney. This was extremely kind and helpful!

Accommodations - Our room was small, but we weren't planning on being in the room very much, so this wasn't a problem for us. The bathroom was BIG, CLEAN, COMFORTABLE, and HIP just like the rest of the hotel. All of the walls in our room were exposed brick, which added another pinch of charm to it all. I was surprised to learn that all rooms (?) came with iPads for use during one's stay - and although we had no need for the iPad itself, its charger came in handy for our iPhone 5's and personal iPad, given that our foreign outlet converter didn't fit into the Australian socket. And of course, the room came with a complementary hair dryer, cable TV, and FREE WIFI! Yay!

Location - Darling Harbour is cute, but we found ourselves walking over the nearest bridge to the main side of the city every single day (near Sydney Harbour, Chinatown, Royal Botanical Gardens, etc.). EVERYTHING is walking distance, so put those flats on, ladies!

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised at the bang we got for our buck! This hotel is really nice, and they could definitely justify increasing their prices in the future! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rowena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Rowena,

Thank you for such a well considered and wonderful review!

We love that you loved what we do and thank you for commenting on a number of different areas including the great value for money and our stand out guest service. Yes, we do offer iPads in all the rooms.

Your high recommendation is most appreciated.

Come back soon so we can spoil you some more!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently stayed at 1888 in Sydney the welcome on reception was so warm, friendly and helpful. After a long flight we arrived at 9.00 am and really appreciated being able to have a shower and freshen up so we could go and enjoy Darling Harbor without having to wait until the room was ready. The rooms were clean & comfortable, location couldn't be better 2 minute walk to Darling Harbour. All the staff were exceptional and I would definitely stay here again and recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Shoe box room is great for a short stay but if you are staying more than 2 days I would book a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smyth2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear smyth2005,

It was wonderful to read you wonderful review, thank you so much for the great feedback.

As you noted our location is exceptional for those on holiday and also for those on business and the unique services (such as the private bathroom for guests arriving early) contributes to a stand out stay for our guests.

Thank you for your kind comments about the team, we all look forward in seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This might just be the best hotel I've ever stayed in. Such a unique experience. Great location. Beautiful architecture. Great food. Cool service. The rooms are spectacular. I loved it and plan to stay here many many many more times

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ReenieSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Reenie,

Wow, Wow, Wow - what an amazing review, thank you so much!

We love that you loved staying with us and what we do. We cant wait to see you on a regular basis. Let me know if you would like to discuss a corporate rate or if there is anything else we can do to make your upcoming stays even more outstanding!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 175 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour

Property: Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Address: 139 Murray Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia (Formerly 1888 Hotel Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour was tastefully restored and thoughtfully designed with shutter-happy Instagrammers in mind, providing photo opportunities around every corner so captivating that you really need #nofilter. Originally constructed as a wool store and factory in 1888, the building still bears the original signage of its birth year, visible from the busy streets of Pyrmont. A heritage listed 90-bedroom boutique hotel as well as bar & event space, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour brings together Sydney's old world charm and contemporary design with Ovolo's service culture to offer a truly mind-blowing experience in modern hospitality. The collection of rooms each boast 3-metre high ceilings, exposed brick walls, original ironbark beams, concealed uplighting, huge sound proofed period windows, recycled timber work stations, bespoke furniture and feature walls in each room flaunting the colourfully commissioned pieces by celebrated local artist, Jasper Knight. Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour is located in Sydney's inner-city suburb of Pyrmont, neighbouring Darling Harbour, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Market, Sydney Exhibition & Convention Centre, The Star, a wide selection of must-go bars & dining options, and the very best boutique shopping this side of the Southern Hemisphere. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Continental breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, 24 hour gym access? - Yep, all free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing