We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little hideaway! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ranked #3 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay. Staff warm and friendly on arrival and throughout our stay. I wish I could remember the bar mans name as he was brilliant! Talked to my husband and I whilst we had a pre dinner drink and waited for our other guests. Lovely and professional. Room was small but if you are there only to sleep not a big deal. Well fitted out. Great central spot to base yourself from. Will stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank princess7pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Princess,

We loved reading your review and thank you for your kind comments.

Thank you for your wonderful words about our location, your room and the team, in particular the barman.

We look forward to your next stay!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,490 - 1,496 of 2,185 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

I highly recommend the 1888 Hotel!! It is a beautiful hotel, the décor is gorgeous and pays tribute to the heritage of the building while still being modern and funky. It's conveniently located, only a short walk to Darling Harbour and plenty of restaurants, bars and attractions. It's close to ferry, light rail and taxi transportation too. The size of the rooms are accurately described on their website, we stayed in a "Loft Room" and found it had heaps of space for us, there was an ipad with wifi, a huge shower, two TVs and an absolutely amazing bed!

The staff at 1888 Hotel are the BEST I've ever come across, and I'm extremely critical when it comes to customer service. The front desk staff are helpful, friendly, warm, welcoming, knowledgeable and very good at their jobs. One of the staff in particular went beyond the call of duty to make sure out stay was memorable. We were pleased to see the General Manager spent a lot of time around the hotel, not tucked away in an office. We met him on several occasions and he made us feel like we were old friends rather than fleeting guests.

I would not hesitate to return to the 1888 Hotel - the hotel and the staff are just remarkable!

Room Tip: I believe some of the smaller rooms come with internal windows only (check their website) however th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Holly,

Thank you for the stand out review and thank you for your great recommendation.

It was great to read that you enjoyed the style of the property, the location, your Loft and most of all us!

I loved meeting you and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

With a background in hotels I chose a boutique hotel over the larger stuffy hotels to surprise a friend for his birthday. Jess Ivory helped me pull together a room full of flowers with everything presented beautifully. I knew I could rely on her and staff to ensure the surprise went without a hitch and they didn't let me down!! Thank you to all the lovely staff members, especially Jess, who I had full confidence would get it right! We enjoyed a lovely night there and would not hesitate to recommend it to colleagues in the hospitality industry and we are two tough judges!! A SPECIAL THANK YOU TO YOU JESS AGAIN.

Room Tip: The room was a little oasis of good taste and comfort. I'm sure they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Karen,

Having you stay with us was such fun! You put so much thought into the birthday surprise for your friend, we loved it and we are glad you did too.

Thank you for this great review and also your very kind email to me singing our praises, in particular those of Jess Ivory!

Don't wait for another special occasion before coming back.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The rooms are small and are designed as somewhere to refresh and sleep but not to spend much time in. The Nick Cave wall painting didn't work for me but then maybe it does for the target market.
2 real pluses - the bar/food area is well set out, comfortable and well stocked for a catch up with friends - and the desk staff are excellent (clearly demonstrating the positive - Yes We Can).
Location if you need Darling Harbour is fine but the neighbourhood is really a raceway for cars and lacks interest.
Parking at a capped $25 per day is a factor.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RetiredWazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Wazza,

Thank you for the 5 star rating and your wonderful words on our service and also The Eatery & Bar.

Our guests are spoiled for choice with 6 different types of room categories. For those that are after additional space the King Deluxe rooms and the Junior Suites are ideal. I was sorry to read the piece of art in your room was not your taste, next time just let us know and we will happily change it.

Darling Harbour and the CBD are moments from our front door. Pyrmont is a dynamic and ever-changing neighbourhood with some great cultural highlights, parks, shopping, restaurants and bars For the latest places of interest check out the iPad in the room or ask the team, many of whom live just around the corner.

Come back soon so we can introduce you to some of the best parts of this historic harbour-side neighbourhood.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

What a treat it was to stay at 1888. A short walk around Darling Harbour or across the Pyrmont Bridge to the Sydney CBD. My partner and I stayed in a Queen bedroom, not huge but worth every cent. Clean, tidy and luxurious. Amazing double tiled shower with rain water head and an in-room iPad. We didn't want to leave, will definitely be back! 1888 is in a class of its own.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Gingie,

It was a treat to have you guys stay with us and thank you so much for your kind words. It was wonderful to read that you loved our location, the luxurious rooms and the iPad in your room.

We can't wait to see you again!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here in June 2014 the staff we friendly and helpful and gave us full review of Sydney's sites of where to go and what was on in the city. The hotel has a great boutique feel and is very clean. The location was fantastic as well less than 5 minutes into Darling Harbour. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Claire,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback! It was wonderful to read that you loved the location, the boutique feel of the property and above all the team.

Come back soon so we can spoil you again!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in June of 2014. All 'boutique' hotels should take a hard look at 1888 Hotel, because they're doing it right!

Aesthetics - The lobby is beyond hip. The colors. The furniture. The decor. Down to the chambray shirt uniforms that the employees wear - everything about this place screams COOL. It has an industrial / unfinished / artistic vibe about it, and it completely jived with our personalities!

Customer Service - I asked the concierge for a few recommendations on local bars, and she took the time to handwrite recommendations, and pin point them on a map of Sydney. This was extremely kind and helpful!

Accommodations - Our room was small, but we weren't planning on being in the room very much, so this wasn't a problem for us. The bathroom was BIG, CLEAN, COMFORTABLE, and HIP just like the rest of the hotel. All of the walls in our room were exposed brick, which added another pinch of charm to it all. I was surprised to learn that all rooms (?) came with iPads for use during one's stay - and although we had no need for the iPad itself, its charger came in handy for our iPhone 5's and personal iPad, given that our foreign outlet converter didn't fit into the Australian socket. And of course, the room came with a complementary hair dryer, cable TV, and FREE WIFI! Yay!

Location - Darling Harbour is cute, but we found ourselves walking over the nearest bridge to the main side of the city every single day (near Sydney Harbour, Chinatown, Royal Botanical Gardens, etc.). EVERYTHING is walking distance, so put those flats on, ladies!

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised at the bang we got for our buck! This hotel is really nice, and they could definitely justify increasing their prices in the future! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rowena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hi Rowena,

Thank you for such a well considered and wonderful review!

We love that you loved what we do and thank you for commenting on a number of different areas including the great value for money and our stand out guest service. Yes, we do offer iPads in all the rooms.

Your high recommendation is most appreciated.

Come back soon so we can spoil you some more!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 180 in Sydney
1,352 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Meriton Suites
#8 of 180 in Sydney
5,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#14 of 180 in Sydney
2,025 reviews
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
The Darling
#5 of 180 in Sydney
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour

Address: 139 Murray Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia (Formerly 1888 Hotel Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £134 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour was tastefully restored and thoughtfully designed with shutter-happy Instagrammers in mind, providing photo opportunities around every corner so captivating that you really need #nofilter. Originally constructed as a wool store and factory in 1888, the building still bears the original signage of its birth year, visible from the busy streets of Pyrmont. A heritage listed 90-bedroom boutique hotel as well as bar & event space, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour brings together Sydney's old world charm and contemporary design with Ovolo's service culture to offer a truly mind-blowing experience in modern hospitality. The collection of rooms each boast 3-metre high ceilings, exposed brick walls, original ironbark beams, concealed uplighting, huge sound proofed period windows, recycled timber work stations, bespoke furniture and feature walls in each room flaunting the colourfully commissioned pieces by celebrated local artist, Jasper Knight. Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour is located in Sydney's inner-city suburb of Pyrmont, neighbouring Darling Harbour, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Market, Sydney Exhibition & Convention Centre, The Star, a wide selection of must-go bars & dining options, and the very best boutique shopping this side of the Southern Hemisphere. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Continental breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, 24 hour gym access? - Yep, all free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing