We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ranked #3 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights, in a king room. Spotlessly clean, modern boutique hotel. Brilliantly located, 5 minute walk to Darling Harbour. Nothing too much trouble for the young staff, helped with directions, and a good knowledge of the area. Room was airy and clean , huge, comfortable bed. Breakfast was good. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzyfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi Fizzyfairy,

I love you name on Trip Advisor and I love your review!

It was great to read that you had such and enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your wonderful recommendation.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,629
    362
    68
    22
    15
See reviews for
136
1,205
149
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nowra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed in a loft suite which is very comfortable. A little small but one doesn't stay in the room other than to sleep. The ambiance of the hotel generally is very good and it's quite relaxing in the restaurant bar area. Stayed at the hotel in order to see a show at the Lyric and the location is very convenient. Parking across the road provides easy access at a discount rate arranged by the hotel. Highly recommended for accommodation in the Darling Harbour area.

Room Tip: Loft rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Mandy

What a great review - thank you.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us finding our location very convenient, your loft very comfortable and the service outstanding!

Come back soon so we can spoil you some more.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACT
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I recently stayed here for three nights will attending a course that was being run here. My King room was clean, comfortable, well stocked and quiet. I also found the staff to be pleasant and extremely helpful. I had a number of meals here during my stay and could not fault any of them. The hotel is also close to a number of cafes and restaurants, an IGA and some other mini supermarkets. This hotel is a hidden gem in a great location!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heids88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Heids,

Thank you for the fantastic review!

It was great having you and your colleagues staying in the hotel while you were using The Geddes room, our event space.

Thank you for your kind comments about our location, your king room and the great team.

I am pleased that you have found this hidden gem and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We chose this hotel because of their nice ranking on Tripadvisor and have to say that they really deserve it.

We stayed for one night in one of their Loft. The room was clean, modern and spacious with bedroom separated on the second floor. The bed and pillows were comfortable. I really had a nice sleep after a long flight from Europe. One thing I would recommend is that the toilet brush was missing and that's kind of annoying when you're traveling with someone (you know what I mean...)

The hotel is very well located, can easily walk to the Darling Habour using the short-cut through the parking in front of the hotel. The staffs were very friendly and helpful. We did not take the breakfast at the hotel. The lobby and the bar area was very well decorated and looked cozy.

Overall, I think it's one of the good choices if you're looking for a nice clean and modern hotel with good location. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends who visit Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suradech S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Suradech,

Thank you for your great review and your high recommendation.

It was wonderful to read that you loved our location, your loft room, the comfy bed and the staff.

Come back soon and experience the wonderful Eatery & Bar.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very impressed with all aspects of our stay. The staff were very helpful and were able to offer advice and assistance on some of the key tourist attractions. Although we stayed in one of the smaller rooms, interestingly referred to as a "shoebox" room, it was more than adequate. We also sampled the restaurant which had only recently opened.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for your brilliant review.

It was great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including your "shoebox" room, our location, The Eatery & Bar and the great staff.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in a king room. The hotel is an easy 15min walk from the main cbd and there's a restaurant precinct 2 min away. Our window was facing the street but didn't notice any road noise.

The room isn't huge but the bed is super comfy! Everything was beautiful and really clean. The staff are absolutely wonderful, when we checked in one staff member went out of her way to highlight things to do and see while we were in Sydney.

Only complaint my boyfriend had was no foxtel. Also, some rooms' windows face the inside of the hotel so if it bothers you, ask for an external window.

Thanks for a great stay 1888!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Emma,

Thank you for the 5 star review! It was fantastic to read that you and your boy friend has a great stay with us.

Thank you for your kind comments about the our great location, how clean the hotel is, the super comfy bed and the amazing staff.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Well located, this small hotel is very nice! Reception space where you have the bar is welcoming and trendy. Breakfast was of good quality compare to what we experienced in some other places. On the - side: Feels a bit tight to charge for your second coffee when your first one is included in your breakfast. Room are a bit small but look very nice. The walls are über thin though and I am not sure how it feels to have a room facing the inside of the hotel. Very pleasant and helpful staff! Free wifi throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karine022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Karine,

Thank you for your great review, it was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for the brilliant comments about the staff, the hotel design and the breakfast and it was great to see you enjoyed a number of our special features during your stay.

Come back soon!

Warm regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,232 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Langham, Sydney
#9 of 179 in Sydney
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour

Property: Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Address: 139 Murray Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia (Formerly 1888 Hotel Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour was tastefully restored and thoughtfully designed with shutter-happy Instagrammers in mind, providing photo opportunities around every corner so captivating that you really need #nofilter. Originally constructed as a wool store and factory in 1888, the building still bears the original signage of its birth year, visible from the busy streets of Pyrmont. A heritage listed 90-bedroom boutique hotel as well as bar & event space, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour brings together Sydney's old world charm and contemporary design with Ovolo's service culture to offer a truly mind-blowing experience in modern hospitality. The collection of rooms each boast 3-metre high ceilings, exposed brick walls, original ironbark beams, concealed uplighting, huge sound proofed period windows, recycled timber work stations, bespoke furniture and feature walls in each room flaunting the colourfully commissioned pieces by celebrated local artist, Jasper Knight. Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour is located in Sydney's inner-city suburb of Pyrmont, neighbouring Darling Harbour, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Market, Sydney Exhibition & Convention Centre, The Star, a wide selection of must-go bars & dining options, and the very best boutique shopping this side of the Southern Hemisphere. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Continental breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, 24 hour gym access? - Yep, all free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing