We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish hotel in excellent location ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ranked #3 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I and my daughter stayed in 1888 Hotel for 4 nights in August. The experience was just excellent! From the efficient check-in to the spacious, quiet & comfortable room, I knew that this would be my home in Sydney! Its location was excellent, close to major attractions yet a little distant from the noise in the city. We loved to take the ferry from Darling Harbour (10 mins walk from the hotel) to Circular Quay, where the Rocks and the Sydney Opera are located. As regards the food at 1888 Hotel, we had dinner there once and found the food was average. For example, the steak that I ordered was overcooked. Yet it was not a big issue. On the whole, we had a lovely experience with 1888 Hotel and would definitely return to the hotel when we visit Sydney again next year!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Jenny,

"Just Excellent!", what a brilliant way to start a review.

Thank you for your wonderful words about our ideal location, spacious room, the team.

We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,554 - 1,560 of 2,312 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

I booked a king room for a night but upon arrival I was upgraded to a loft suite. The hotel has a very cool interior, lots of character. It had a trendy bar feel in the lobby with chesterfield sofa's and denim clad reception staff. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was a nice size and the split level added character to a perfectly functional room. Everything seemed really well thought out and I enjoyed my stay.
The only downside it's the hotels accessibility by public transport. There is a light rail stop very nearby however it's a bit of a maze to get to thru the parking lot opposite the hotel especially with a large suit case. The most convenient train stop is about a 20min walk.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank katherine07734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Katherine,

Thank you so much for your standout review!

I was great to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your words about our cool interior, trendy Eatery & Bar, the wonderful room and our friendly & helpful team are very kind.

We look forward to see you again!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-SMith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Location, service, hotel condition gets a 10/10. Room condition, style and facilities in the room gets 8.5/10 (Missing some personality and bathroom can be improved). The bed was comfy on the 2nd floor and the lunge area was nice as well. Will i stay here again: Absolutely!! Better than most high end hotels as the rooms have more swagger to it and the room I had was like a bachelor pad. Great food and drinks as well I might add.

Room Tip: Take the loft :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChasethatDish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear fail010,

Thank you for your 5 star review. It was wonderful to read that you had such a terrific stay with us.

It was also brilliant to see that you will "absolutely" stay with us again, we can't wait!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A really quirky hotel, modern with an industrial feel. Room was new and modern and very clean! The rooms are not large but have everything you need. We had dinner at the restaurant, food was excellent, perfectly cooked and very reasonably priced. Staff friendly and incredibly helpful. Will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the smaller size so book a king size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PRS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hi PRS2

Wow, what a great review!

Thank you for your kind comments, what wonderful words about our design, the clean rooms, the excellent Eatery & Bar and most of all the" friendly and incredibly helpful" staff.

We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our 3 week trip to Australia and it was a great place to end our holiday. As previous reviewers have said its in a great location next to Harbourside shopping centre and 3 minutes walk from the harbour. We caught the ferry from Pyrmont each day round to Circular Quay which cost $6 but it was also an easy 15/20 minute walk there. The hotel is modern and the staff very friendly. We booked a queen room which was on the small side but fine, with a good sized bathroom. It was quiet, we didn't hear traffic noise or other guests. We will definitely be recommending it to others, much nicer than some of the other impersonal corporate hotels that we stayed in on our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi Kathryn,

It was great to have you visit and thank you for your wonderful review!

It was wonderful to read that you loved our location, the hotel's design and our very friendly staff. Your tip about the ferry from Pyrmont to Circular Quay is perfect, I love taking that trip myself.

Come back soon so we can spoil you some more!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for a week and I absolutely loved it and really enjoyed my stay. Why can't all hotels copy this formula? A stay at this hotel will make part of your holiday memory!

Location
Very convenient just a stone throw away from Cockly Bay, CBD & 20 min from the airport.

Staff
Very relaxed and super helpful. They helped me a lot with restaurants recommendations, hauling taxis on the street, storing my bike, luggage, complaint with the district for noise, etc...
Top notch service!

Hotel
Clean, Modern touch in an old historical building, Very comfortable bed, Ipad in the room, good internet connection.

Restaurant
Hip, Relax, Trendy, good food and great beers. Breakfast/Brunch healty and local.

Tip:
-If you want to go to the wharf just walk through the parking lot across the street instead of walking arround it
-Rent a Tokyo bike at the hotel from Livelo. I ended cycling the whole week from roadbike to citybike. So much to see and easy .... do follow the traffic safety rules!
-There was drilling outside the hotel in the midnight and the staff hunted down the responsible ones. If you have difficulty with sleeping ask the staff for the 'sleep well' pack

Say hi to Jess & Jess and impress your love ones by booking this hotel instead of any other hotel chain.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank staminaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi Staminaz,

We loved reading your review, thank you so much for your wonderful words about your experience with us.

You covered pretty much everything so beautifully, your kind comments are most appreciated. I love your tips - especially about the Tokyo bikes for guest use.

Jess & Jess & all the team say "hi" and "come back soon"!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My partner and I recently returned from a two-night stay at 1888 Hotel for our travels to Sydney to run the City2Surf. It was a perfectly relaxing hotel with everything we could have wanted and more.

We stayed in a loft room that had the most amazing bed we've ever slept in - perfect for our run in the morning. The bathroom was the perfect size and had everything we needed along with a super neat shower.

It was right next to the city and in easy walking distance to almost everthing, but tucked away enough that we felt safe and relaxed.

The staff were amazing and extremely helpful, always going the extra mile to make us feel more at home.

We look forward to returning to 1888 on our next stay to Sydney.

Room Tip: Get the loft room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank whonamedmenathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Nathan,

Thank you for your great review! It was wonderful to read that you and your partner found us to be the ideal hotel for your home away from home while you visited Sydney for the City2Surf.

It was brilliant to read that you loved our location, your room, the amazing staff and the comfy bed - most important before a challenging sporting event!.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 186 in Sydney
1,510 reviews
The Darling
#10 of 186 in Sydney
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,429 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#15 of 186 in Sydney
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour

Address: 139 Murray Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia (Formerly 1888 Hotel Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £139 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour was tastefully restored and thoughtfully designed with shutter-happy Instagrammers in mind, providing photo opportunities around every corner so captivating that you really need #nofilter. Originally constructed as a wool store and factory in 1888, the building still bears the original signage of its birth year, visible from the busy streets of Pyrmont. A heritage listed 90-bedroom boutique hotel as well as bar & event space, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour brings together Sydney's old world charm and contemporary design with Ovolo's service culture to offer a truly mind-blowing experience in modern hospitality. The collection of rooms each boast 3-metre high ceilings, exposed brick walls, original ironbark beams, concealed uplighting, huge sound proofed period windows, recycled timber work stations, bespoke furniture and feature walls in each room flaunting the colourfully commissioned pieces by celebrated local artist, Jasper Knight. Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour is located in Sydney's inner-city suburb of Pyrmont, neighbouring Darling Harbour, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Market, Sydney Exhibition & Convention Centre, The Star, a wide selection of must-go bars & dining options, and the very best boutique shopping this side of the Southern Hemisphere. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Continental breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, 24 hour gym access? - Yep, all free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing