We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get ready for a wild ride!”

Thunder Jet Boat Sydney
Book In Advance
More Info
US$60.40*
and up
30-Minute Sydney Harbour Jet Boat Ride: Thunder Twist
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Get ready for a wild ride!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you want to see the sights of the harbor take a different boat, but is you want to go fast, do crazy spins, get wet and laugh the whole time, it is a great ride. It is a little spendy for no longer than it is, but we had a lot of fun.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    33
    6
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Experience Sydney harbour... Really fast!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is the second Sydney Jet Boat experience I have been on (can't remember the other operator) and it was no less worth while the second time. I went with all four of our kids aged 9 to 14 (my wife chickened out). The two older kids had also been before. It was just as much fun the second time for all of us.

If you are comparing operators, I think Thunderjet have a good setup, with thick reusable ponchos rather than flimsy disposables. The thing to remember is that no matter how well you cover up, you will probably get at least a bit wet, so make some allowance for that when planning your day.

As well as some fast scenic boating around the harbour, sharp turns, jumping over ferry wakes and spinning stops (the wet bit), there is a bit of scenery and some brief information stops, and a lot of waving to excited onlookers on the shore, on other boats and on the bridge.

We went on the longer 45min experience and it was interesting to the end, going as far as "The Heads" and under the Harbour Bridge. I could have spent another half hour out there on a warmer day, but the weather was a bit chilly this time. Still worth doing, but on a perfect sunny day (as it was on my first time), it's even better.

Both operators were very safety conscious, and give passengers a clear procedure for preparing for the big spinning stops. The seats are pretty comfortable too, so as "extreme" experiences go, it's a lot of fun with minimal risk and discomfort as long as you are sensible. The kids tend to follow the safety procedures which are made part of the "fun".

If you are shopping for a good price, remember that there are five operators and they are all competing for pretty much the same service, so always look for a discount or just ask for a special deal. If you have a big group, there is always some scope for bargaining. Some operate out of Circular Quay (Opera House side) and some out of Darling Harbour (Pyrmont side).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FSS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun experience ”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed it ! Admin staff were friendly and driver was professional and fun. Only bad thing was the eftpos machine wasn't working and we had to walk to an atm which wasn't a big drama.

Helpful?
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome ride on the harbour!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Front row seats on this jet boat was a great choice! Chose not to wear poncho since it was a nice sunny day and the water was refreshing. Ponchos are available though. Exciting ride almost like a water roller coaster with great views of the harbour.

Helpful?
2 Thank ozreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“soaking wet”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Dont do this If you want to stay dry .we had to go back to our hotel so we could shower and change into dry clothes before we could do anything else

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bellatoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thunder Jet Boat Sydney also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Thunder Jet Boat Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing