We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cocktails & Awesome View”
Review of Blu Bar On 36

Blu Bar On 36
Ranked #7 of 238 Nightlife in Sydney
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Cocktails & Awesome View”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The best bar in Sydney for visitors. Sunsets are particularly spectacular with views to the North and West over the harbour and its iconic bridge. The cocktail list is extensive and the service very attentive.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Aquarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    55
    29
    21
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful views - great place for afternoon/evening drinks”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Absolutely beautiful views, try to arrive before 5pm as it is very busy. Ask for a table by the windows when you arrive and they will come and get you as soon as something is available - you can not book.

Service at the bar was slow & the food / bar snacks were on the small side - but you're there for the location & the view which simply can not be beaten.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NikB1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply amazing views”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Some of the best views you will get of Sydney Harbour. Get there early if you want a table by the window as you cannot reserve. Make sure you are there for sunset. Relaxed atmosphere. Good wine list. Great place to take overseas visitors to.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChristineWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great view, shame about the service”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The first thing you need to do here is state the obvious. The views at this place are amazing. Sweeping views across Sydney Harbour with the Bridge and Opera House in full view. It is a must visit for any tourist in Sydney.

The let down though is the staff. Rude, self entitled and incompetent would be the words to describe them. If you are lucky enough to get somebody to take your order they will not listen to you when you give it. The waitress asked us what we wanted and then stared blankly off into space whilst we told her only to then ask us to repeat ourselves. After this we had to wait a good 20 minutes to receive our order and then when it showed up it was not what we asked for.

It was frustrating and disappointing. It is such a nice space and they should really get staff with a level of professionalism befitting of it.

It is a great location and I will return. I just hope that the staff are different when I do.

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Best view bar in Sydney”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Again this is one of the bars I often visit when I'm in Sydney. Great bar and one of my favourites.

You have to wait sometimes to get a nice table at the window as it is generally busy but you can out your name on a waiting list. Serving times can be late due to the bar being busy but worth the wait.

Cocktails are very nice and enjoy drinking while soaking in great views of circular quay with Harbour bridge and opera house.

Again I would highly recommend this bar when visiting Sydney.

Helpful?
Thank Rameez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blu Bar On 36 also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Blu Bar On 36? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing