We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”

Yachiyo Japanese Bistro
Ranked #797 of 5,943 Restaurants in Sydney
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Darlinghurst
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 774 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A nice little find, if you were armed with a compass and emergency find me beacon. Tucked away in Darlinghurst, this place is a little gem. The Blue eyed tuna was amazing, as is the rest of the sushi. The place has a casual but intimate feel, that makes it great for a date or night with friends, and if I remember was BYO, well worth the find.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank undercoverelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Scrumptious from beginning to end ...”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This hidden away little restaurant is an absolute gem!

It offers authentic Japanese food in a great urban atmosphere.

Chef Mitsuhiro has an amazing feel for flavour and progression and very traditional Japanese flavours are mixed skilfully with more modern dishes taking fusion to a new level.

I think it's best to allow Chef Mitsuhiro to take you on a journey with a degustation type meal ... and don't skip the sake tasting!

Dishes range from sashimi (with tuna toro!), traditional hot pots and crispy, delicious tuna wings, to stuffed, and utterly delicious, fried zucchini flower and green tea creme brûlée (yum!).

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious – little hidden Gem”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is my second time at Sushi Yachiyo (Darlinghurst) and it was very pleasurable experience as it was the first time. We were in a group of 5 people, so we tried a bit of everything.

This is authentic Japanese which offers fresh food, unique dishes with different flavours combination. We didn’t have the best seating location as we were just near the kitchen, but it is all about the food here. Staff provides a good service too.

The fact the restaurant is away from the main busy street of Darlinghurst and Potts Point, it makes it more attractive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kanguro10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“True Flavours but hidden!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

even though I'm a local, I find this restaurant hard to remember where it is, and give up, and go back to either Watermoon, or try something up the road in Bayswater Road. Get there early if you haven't a reservation, as they jam this place, and no wonder. The food is fresh, and beautifully decorated on your plate. They have a great selection of wines and reasonable priced as well. Service is swift, especially if you didn't have a reservation, as they turn the tables around very quickly here. All the staff are typical japanese, ever so poliet and gracess. The restaurant is in an ally just off Darlinghurst Road, Kings Cross. Not far from the Coca Cola sign, over near the Fire Station side! You wont be disappointed, I wanna try it for lunch next time, just hope I remember where it is!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Got2try
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Korean style chili, shallots and mushrooms”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Everything seemed to be covered in sliced shallots and chili, with a bed of mushrooms. Not impressed. Good quality and nice presentation in this hole in the wall restaurant. Just very repetitive in tastes. Polite efficient staff.

Helpful?
Thank Alpaca35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yachiyo Japanese Bistro also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Yachiyo Japanese Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing