We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Security at its worst”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Ranked #27 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Security at its worst”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The security guards were rude asking which floor we are. I know there were 8 of us going up the room at 1 am. It was my friends hens night and as some of our friends left their stuff in our room, we all went up the same time. I know it was the securities job to check how many people will stay in the room etc. But they were just so rude in asking and warned in a rude way that they will go and knock in our room in 10 mins.

I have checkin to a lot of hotels and service apartment but this the first time we were treated like this. I work in a hotel too, its ok to ask but please make sure you ask your paying guest in a nice way. We felt like we were being threatened for just going in to our room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cattleya0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAPittStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Cattleya0425,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

Please accept my apologies if you found our security guards ‘rude’. Your feedback has been shared with their appropriate management teams and I will be sure to monitor this.

As an accommodation provider it is our aim to ensure our guests get a good night’s sleep. MSA have strict polices regrading visitors ‘after-hours’ and our security guards are instructed to ensure our No Party and Excessive Noise Policy are adhered to where possible. Please refer to our website for more information regarding this.

If you would like to discuss this matter further please contact me at tapit@meriton.net.au

Kind Regards,

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,551
    942
    197
    70
    38
See reviews for
1,006
639
79
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Lovely hotel. Very clean and spacious. We were two couples so having bedrooms and bathrooms at either end of the unit gave us all privacy. If I had to have a negative side it would be that the lifts do take a while to come as it is such a tall building. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAPittStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Karen B,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review.

I was pleased to see that you found the apartments clean and specious.

Please accept my apologies for any delays you may have experienced whilst waiting for the lifts.

Thank you for choosing to stay with MSA Pitt Street and we look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards,

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

These serviced apartments where very centrally located right in heart of Sydney and close to so many attractions - walking distance to Opera House etc and the higher up the better the view. If facing Pitt Street can see out across Hyde Park - to Eastern Suburbs and even to the Sydney Harbour heads and the Pacific Ocean.

In apartment there were all the basic amenities - kitchen had everything - laundry etc. Beds were comfortable. Had balconies so could get some fresh air plus had airconditioning. Cable TV - good choice of channels.

Plenty of light with floor to ceiling windows.

Room Tip: plenty of choice - had two bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattSaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAPittStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear MattSaleh,

Thank you for choosing to stay at MSA Pitt Street. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

The location of our apartments are beautifully located, right in the heart of the city! Shopping, transport, sites, cafes and a whole lot more, right at our finger tips!

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back for another visit.

Kind Regards,

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed in a two bed roomed apartment whilst in Sydney, and it was very central to all the normal attractions. The apartment was clean and well equipped. Housekeeping was excellent. Service on reception on arrival was not too welcoming. The receptionist was quite stressed. We did arrive early but was unable to check in early. Later on in the day when we returned several irate visitors waiting to check in and it was well after check in time, with rooms not ready.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cab1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAPittStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Cab1820,

Thank you for taking your time and providing this feedback.

Firstly, please accept my apologies if you found the service at reception to be lacking. It is rare that we receive such feedback as more often than none the staff are praised for their interactions with guests. I will however monitor your comments as it’s important that staff remained composed during peak times.

I was pleased that you were happy with our Housekeeping services; I have shared your kind words with the team.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back for another visit.

Kind Regards,

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Three of us shared an apartment for three days. The fittings were good, the furniture ok and the views and location first class. Service was friendly and efficient and when our iron started tripping the RCD someone came up from reception immediately. The gym is poor but the pool and spa are a good alternative. This is the centre of Sydney but prices were certainly right up there so it isn't a cheap option.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAPittStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Chris Y,

WOW – 4 stars from a Top Contributor! We really appreciate your feedback and are proud that we met your expectations during your recent visit at MSA Pitt Street.

Please be advised that we are currently re-evaluating our gym equipment in all our MSA sites due to the general feedback we have received.

Thank you again for your lovely review and we hope to welcome you back for another stay.

Kind Regards,

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
545 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Meriton Serviced Apartment, Pitt Street, Sydney

We stay in this beautiful one bedroom serviced apartment on the 35th floor of a skyscraper in Central Sydney. It has a balcony and a window wall with city views which include the Town Hall, the Queen Victoria building, a glimpse of the Bridge up Pitt Street, and a small view of Hyde Park. Reception is friendly and helpful, and access is by one of three lifts with a floor number security tag. There are four apartments on each floor. The plan of the apartment is a little strange with the entrance opening into a long internal corridor joining living area and bedroom. I suspect this is to allow for flexibility in adding extra bedrooms. The air conditioned apartment is completely modern and tastefully decorated with halogen downlighting thoughout. The lounge has comfortable seating, desk, large flat screen TV, phone, CD player and DVD player. I make good use of the free wifi facility. There is a small balcony with table and chairs – surprisingly noisier than expected with the dull roar of many surrounding air conditioners.. The dining room has a solid table with four very heavy(!) comfortable chairs. The kitchen has almost everything! Perhaps the inclusion of a small kitchen hand towel would be more hygienic than drying one’s hands on the tea towel? The corridor has a laundry cupboard with washing machine and drier. The bedroom has a King bed (I actually prefer a Queen without the bump In the middle, and a Queen would have fitted the room better), separate TV, a wardrobe with floor to ceiling mirror doors, clock and safe. The connecting en suite is gleaming, with a giant bath, full height shower, and vanity. The apartment is serviced every day and replacement supplies provided. We would definitely stay here again. It is so convenient to central Sydney, the Circle line, Hyde Park … unless you were yearning for a Harbour view, why would you stay anywhere else?!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAPittStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Paulrscott,

Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always pleasing to see that our guests enjoyed their stay!

The views from the higher floors are certainly worth writing home about! I often catch myself drifting and soaking in the wonderful views when I am up in our apartments!

Thank you for choosing to stay with MSA Pitt Street and once again for your kind review.

We look forward to the next visit.

Kind Regards,

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was my third visit to the Meriton on Pitt St. Each time I have stayed there has been a couple of years inbetween. This time I noticed the wear and tear.

The service of the front desk staff cannot be faulted. We arrived very early on international flights and were able to check in, which was much appreciated.

We had a one-bedroom apartment. There was a noticable smell of takeaway food in the hallway outside the room and even when we walked into the room. However, this seemed to disappear in the evening and we wondered if it was drifting up from the little cafe's around the hotel.

The reason we keep going back to the Meriton is because the apartments are a decent size and fully equipped kitchen means we can self cater. The location is fantastic. It is possible to walk to Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. Town Hall station is very close and provides links to the outer suburbs of the city.

I don't rate the Meriton higher because there are a couple of issues with the inadequate lifts, servicing and a lack of polish. My longest wait for an elevator was eight minutes. I wouldn't even bother trying to use the lift around check out time. The servicing of our apartment was a bit hit and miss. We'd often get one towel, or one facecloth - essentially something would be missed off each morning. The apartment itself was in need of a refresh.

Saying all that, this apartment was a really decent price, the staff are friendly and the location is hard to beat. Like everything, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: I believe a room on a higher floor would have less trouble with the elevators. They fill up as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wazmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAPittStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Wazmar,

Thank for your repeated business and feedback regarding your stay.

Please accept my apologies that your apartment was not up to scratch, nor the housekeeping services you received. Your feedback is valuable and I would like to re-assure you that we have a preventative maintenance schedule in place to ensure we can keep our apartments fresh and in good order for all our guests. I will be sure to monitor your comments.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back another opportunity in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments World Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Central Business District
Primus Hotel Sydney
Primus Hotel Sydney
#10 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street

Property: Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Address: 329 Pitt Street | Corner of Bathurst Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Sydney
#18 Business Hotel in Sydney
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#29 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive in style as our friendly porter assists you into our custom designed lobby. Experience exceptional and attentive treatment by our Guest Services team 24 hours a day and prepare yourself for a stay in luxury. Our wide selection of 178 stylish suites, ranging from Classic Studios to 3 bedroom suites are all self-contained and fitted with the necessary modern facilities, providing all travellers with the perfect accommodation option to explore Sydney. You will discover this beautiful city from new heights when you stay in our Altitude Suites or you can indulge in our top floor Penthouse Collection, split level suites, which boasts magical scenic surrounds across Sydney's East and West. Pamper your body in our first class sauna and spa facilities, or work your muscles at our exclusive gymnasium and lap pool. Indulge in the supplied range of freshly scented, designer skin and haircare amenities, replenished as needed as our wonderful housekeeping team work to service your suite. Make the most of our complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and stay connected with your friends and family, check your emails or even surf the web from anywhere in our hotel, even from the comfort of your very own suite. Our ideal location in the absolute heart of Sydney's thriving city centre, surrounded by an abundance of head offices and corporate spaces makes us the dream accommodation option for all business travellers. Those wanting to discover all the popular attractions and sights in Sydney will be pleased to see that we are only minutes away from Circular Quay, which features stunning views of the famous Sydney Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour which is renowned for its vibrant wine and dine scene as well as convenient transit hubs that can you transport you all over the city and beyond. Be spoilt for choice with endless dining and entertainment options, all within easy reach of our front door. Choose from an array of restaurants, bars and cafes that offer both local and international culinary delights or plan an evening revolving atop of the city's tallest structure at Sydney Tower's 360 Bar and Dining. Visitors looking for some serious retail therapy can shop till they drop with the vintage Queen Victoria Building, massive shopping complex Sydney Westfield and Pitt Street Mall only a stone's throw away. High end designer fashion and accessories are also only a short stroll away on Castlereagh Street, making us the perfect accommodation choice for all. Nestle yourself in the heart of Sydney and experience the best quality and better value as you choose to stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments on Pitt Street on your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing