We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic Stay!! Loved It!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Ranked #27 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
south wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Stay!! Loved It!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2009

I stayed here for 4 nights in November 2008! After a long haul flight from the UK i was hoping this was going to be a nice apartment to relax in and get over the flight.

We arrived late evening and as it was dark and not very well sign posted from the outside so we walked past it!!! I arrived at the apartment and was VERY happy with it! Everything was spotlessly clean and tidy, it was spacious and light. The deco was smart and modern and the kitchen was very clean and well equipped for what we needed! (Esp as we decided to cook breakfast at 4.30am)..

There was everything you needed for a cuppa when we arrived, although the coffee wasn't very nice so if you have a favourite brand maybe you should pick up a jar on your way through pitt or george st as there are plenty of shops that are open all night. I think the tea was twinnings!!

This apartment block had a sauna, swimming pool and gym and they all looked modern and very clean. I can't comment anymore on these as i didn't actually use them as i was too busy exploring the city..
The balcony had really comfy chairs and the view of Sydney light up at night was amazing.. From here we had full view of the Sydney Tower, which is worth a trip up as the views are fantastic!!

This is an ideal place to stay as it is really near the train station (called town hall station i think) and from there you can jump on a train for a short trip to get to the harbour bridge and opera house!! There is also so many different places to get food from and the choice is unbelievable!! Pizza hut is not far and for about $14 you can eat what you like, including dessert! and they do a mean chocolate cake :-)

The apartment was equipped with a combi washer/dryer which i could get to work so i had to rely on my butty to work it, ( and as he is a man it was a little embarressing..lol)

i had an amazing stay here and would recommend to anyone!!

  • Liked — EVERYTHING except washing machine!
  • Disliked — Washing machine!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank buttygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,525
    923
    190
    70
    37
See reviews for
983
625
77
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2009

Stayed at the Meriton serviced apartments on Pitt St, Sydney, for 5 nights in December 08. The location is great: within walking distance of central sydney attractions and shopping, and less than 5 minutes from the trains. The apartment was spacious and reasonably well equipped (except for mismatched and inadequate glasses and plates).
Three issues: 1. the sofa bed was possibly the least comfortable bed I have ever slept on; 2. the level of external noise (traffic, sirens, airconditioning units etc) made sleep difficult; and 3. the elevators have to be among the slowest I have ever experienced, average wait for an elevator was at least 5 minutes, and the record in our 5 days was 12 minutes! (I'd read in other reviews that the elevators were a problem, but it has to be experienced to be believed!)
An ideal facility for a family with the flexibility of an apartment rather than a hotel room and the location is difficult to beat for convenience. Just be sure to bring ear plugs to drown out the noise!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The noise level
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank naasboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2009

We were a couple with a 18-month baby and stayed at the Meriton Pitt St, a one bedroom apt during Christmas for 3 nights, and it was a very good stay. It was very clean, modern, and at a great location.

Restaurants and shops are all within walking distance. The staff was very helpul in providing information. Circular Quay is at 15-20 min by walking or 5 min drive. Darling Harbour and Chinatown at 10 min walk. We did not even need a car to go everywhere.

The kitchen was fully equipped, in the bedroom, the bed was king size, there was a safe box, and in the bathroom, all towels, soap and paper toilets were supplied.

My only complaint was that I booked the room 2 months before our arrival and requested a room with a view of the TV tower and Harbour, but were given a room with a building view instead (just in the front). So, we had to put the curtain all the time in order to have some intimacy. But it was not a big issue for us.

All the rests were perfect. I would recommend this service apt to my friends and would definitevely go back!

  • Liked — Modern, clean, location
  • Disliked — View of our rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gervong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

Stayed here for a week, booked via wotif and got a great deal. I booked it mainly through reading reviews on this site, and I was not disappointed.

The only slight complaint I would have is that the Meriton has only a small sign outside and I walked past it twice before I realised I was there!

I booked a 1 bedroom apartment and it was everything it lived up to be. Spotlessly clean, nice furnishings, washer, (with some sachets of laundry liquid) dryer, great shower, nice kitchenette, big fridge freezer, complimentary tea and coffee, plates, cups cutlery....you name it, this place has it.

The apartment had air conditioning and it worked a treat.

Secure entry even after hours on the access card system, you need the card to operate the lifts as well, good stuff. Helpful Security guy on reception with any enquiries about where to go for a beer or something to eat.

Lots of convenience stores and restaurants nearby on both Pitt and George St. Town Hall railway station just a short hop across the road for easy access to all other parts of the great city of Sydney. Big Woolworths supermarket (open until midnight) just round the corner and a 24 hour Maccas less than 5 mins away!

Lots of souvenir shops on George St for the tourists, it takes about 25 mins to walk down to Circular Quay to be by the Bridge and the Opera house, or less than 5 mins on the train from Town hall station which is just across the road from the Meriton. 1 stop up the line in the other direction is Central Station, which gives you links to any other rail station in Sydney, plus other suburban stations throughout NSW.

King size bed, really comfy, nice wardrobe space and in room safe.

My room was approximately half to 3/4 way up the tower and gave me fantastic views across the CBD and of the very impressive Sydney Tower. I'm originally from Sydney so I'm probably biased, but its got to be one of the most beautiful cities on the planet, day or night. I never got tired of sitting out on the balcony (which had an outdoor set consisting of a table and 4 comfy chairs) and gazing out over the beautiful city all lit up at night time and equally as beautiful during the day.

The Meriton has a nice indoor pool and spa. There is also a nice fitness room with multi gym and treadmills.

I had a bonza week there, its ideal for anyone visiting the fantastic city of Sydney.

Book this one, you won't be disappointed!!!!!

Fantastic location, great apartment, 10/10

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, views of Sydney, price
  • Disliked — not that well signed when you are tired, lost and on foot!!!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cris_P_Bacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2008

Thought that the hotel was OK. It was clean and had everything that a serviced apt has. No problems there. We booked on the Hotels website and that is where the problems started. We never recieved a confirmation. This caused some confusion as there are three Meriton Apts within 4 blocks of each other. The staff at the reception were very cold, not impolite. Of note was that the parking garage was the worst laid out I have ever seen. Parking was 8 levels down and the parking garage was very difficult to navigate in. Not much clearance to turn in and very narrow turns. The worst problem we had was on check out. I made the reservation online for 4 adults and 2 children. There was no clear distinction that if you used the sofa bed, provided standard in the two bedroom apt, you would be charged and extra $50 / night. If we knew this we would have booked somewhere else. This made the rate very expensive. I don't mind paying for services but I like to know what is being charged up front. When I asked the reception staff about this they said it was very clear in their terms and I should have known I would be charged if I used the bed. We were not being charged for the kids, just the fact they used the bed. The staff was not very cordial.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — The hidden charges
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uscnavyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2008

Great apartment with quality furniture, linens and kitchenware. Good soundproofing from city noise. Supermarkets, Restaurants, Cinemas, Mall, Station, everything within a block.

And great views, apartments also have balconies.

  • Liked — views, space, good value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank theheadland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2008

I have stayed here twice and both times thoroughly enjoyed it. The appartments are very clean and tidy and extremely well-equipped for self-catering. Staff were great when we needing anything, including bringing us more wine glasses and plates when we were entertaining friends for dinner. We stayed in a 2 bedroom appartment which was spacious with 2 balconies and also had a bath! Very luxurious for the price. Some rooms have a view of the city and harbour but we were satisfied with a street view - for lovely views we stay in the tropics :)

As others have said - the lifts do take a long time but it was a minor irritation.

  • Liked — Immaculate rooms
  • Disliked — The long wait for the lifts
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kiwidive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments World Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#29 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street

Property: Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Address: 329 Pitt Street | Corner of Bathurst Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Sydney
#18 Business Hotel in Sydney
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#29 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive in style as our friendly porter assists you into our custom designed lobby. Experience exceptional and attentive treatment by our Guest Services team 24 hours a day and prepare yourself for a stay in luxury. Our wide selection of 178 stylish suites, ranging from Classic Studios to 3 bedroom suites are all self-contained and fitted with the necessary modern facilities, providing all travellers with the perfect accommodation option to explore Sydney. You will discover this beautiful city from new heights when you stay in our Altitude Suites or you can indulge in our top floor Penthouse Collection, split level suites, which boasts magical scenic surrounds across Sydney's East and West. Pamper your body in our first class sauna and spa facilities, or work your muscles at our exclusive gymnasium and lap pool. Indulge in the supplied range of freshly scented, designer skin and haircare amenities, replenished as needed as our wonderful housekeeping team work to service your suite. Make the most of our complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and stay connected with your friends and family, check your emails or even surf the web from anywhere in our hotel, even from the comfort of your very own suite. Our ideal location in the absolute heart of Sydney's thriving city centre, surrounded by an abundance of head offices and corporate spaces makes us the dream accommodation option for all business travellers. Those wanting to discover all the popular attractions and sights in Sydney will be pleased to see that we are only minutes away from Circular Quay, which features stunning views of the famous Sydney Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour which is renowned for its vibrant wine and dine scene as well as convenient transit hubs that can you transport you all over the city and beyond. Be spoilt for choice with endless dining and entertainment options, all within easy reach of our front door. Choose from an array of restaurants, bars and cafes that offer both local and international culinary delights or plan an evening revolving atop of the city's tallest structure at Sydney Tower's 360 Bar and Dining. Visitors looking for some serious retail therapy can shop till they drop with the vintage Queen Victoria Building, massive shopping complex Sydney Westfield and Pitt Street Mall only a stone's throw away. High end designer fashion and accessories are also only a short stroll away on Castlereagh Street, making us the perfect accommodation choice for all. Nestle yourself in the heart of Sydney and experience the best quality and better value as you choose to stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments on Pitt Street on your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing