We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is now called Ibis Budget Sydney East”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ranked #114 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My daughter and I spent two nights here last week. Very central to Kings Cross and only a short walk from train station. Signage could be a little more obvious as we missed when first waking down the street and only saw it on looking back, as it is placed high on right side of building not out front. And entry off William St is up steps which are really only for late night use. Other entry is off another street. So a little confusing. Rooms on the small size but still plenty of room for the two of us. Very basic and no pictures or anything on wall. And bathroom floor was very tired looking. As we discovered our television didn't work later in the day, we were offered another room immediately. This room was of same size but a lot tidier with pic on wall. And bathroom a lot tidier. Good air conditioner, and not too noisy. We were on 6th floor which made it quite quiet from traffic noise. Beds were comfortable. Staff very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast is only $9.00 for toast, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, tea coffee etc. Light continental buffet, which we thought was very reasonable. So ate here for the time we were staying. Hot chocolates from machine were great! A good budget place and I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajith R, Front Office Manager at Ibis budget Sydney East, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Your feedback and suggestions are a vital part of our growth. And for that, we are most grateful.
Thanks again! We look forward to serving you for future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

The reception by the staff was excellent. Over the six days of our visit we were greeted with warm smiles from all the staff, and while we didn't know their names we felt part of the family. The close location to Sydney was great, good public transport, and dining at "the Cross" was magic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank UJEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajith R, Front Office Manager at Ibis budget Sydney East, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your honest feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 16amandaz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ajith R, Front Office Manager at Ibis budget Sydney East, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We needed to stay in this area for convenience of the car rental and to visit friends.....I wish we'd forked out a little extra and stayed somewhere better, but I thought 'it's an Accor hotel, it will be fine'..... Well I was wrong!
We paid $189 a night and for that we got a dingy, pokey room with no air flow which made it feel very claustrophobic.
The bathroom was tiny and filthy, it had two well used towels and half a roll of toilet paper.
I was greatful for the rubber mattress topper on the bed as I witnessed another quest paying a woman as she left (William st is where a lot of prostitutes pick up business). The sheets were well worn and had holes all over them. The bed was on wheels and every time we would move it came away from the wall.
The walls were badly marked and stained.
I felt disgusted by the state of the place and furious at the amount of money we paid to stay here (I wouldn't have even written this review if we had only paid $89 a night).
Last but not least the security of the hotel left a little to be desired, there were junkies coming and going at all hours who would all hang at the front door smoking and going through the bins in the rear lane way.
We have stayed at a number of Accor hotels in Australia, NZ and Bali but unfortunately this representation of they're brand has left us very disappointed and I would definately think twice about staying at any of they're hotels in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Itchyfeettravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jo Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ajith R, Front Office Manager at Ibis budget Sydney East, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Location was very good, close to everything. & very close to trains. Room was tiny, dirty & smelly. Once air con was started up the smell did seem to go. Noise is a factor in this hotel as its so close to Kings x & major road outside. Only thing is we were on a hol to see the sights... not sit in our room so it was fine for what we needed. Expensive for service you get!!
Overall I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to anyone else!

Room Tip: request one at the rear of building to limit noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Really disappointed with our recent stay, now known as Ibis Budget Sydney East hotel, room was ok, they don even provide tissue papers, for 4 nights can't even get a hair dryer dispite asking the reception every day. Getting up to the hotel from the main road is quite a issue as there is no lift.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajith R, Front Office Manager at Ibis budget Sydney East, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

We appreciate your feedback, and we regret that you have had difficulty during your stay at IBIS Budget Sydney East.Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We will take necessary actions to avoid such circumstances in the future. Again, thank you for the valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
517 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#108 of 181 in Sydney
1,987 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#136 of 181 in Sydney
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#82 of 181 in Sydney
1,098 reviews
Hotel Challis
#55 of 181 in Sydney
791 reviews
Song Hotel Redfern
#126 of 181 in Sydney
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis budget Sydney East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis budget Sydney East

Address: 191 - 201 William St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Formule 1 Sydney East)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £62 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis budget Sydney East 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 minutes from the Sydney CBD in the cosmopolitan East Sydney, Formule 1 Sydney East is the ideal inner city budget accommodation. The lively area boasts a huge range of restaurants, bars and clubs; and is within walking distance to the city, Sydney shopping, museums, art galleries, Hyde Park and the colourful Oxford Street.From the close by train station, Bondi Junction, Circular Quay and many more attractions are only a few stops away. Rooms feature a queen size bed with single or double bunk, twin beds or quad share rooms and all have a private en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and LCD TV's. Please note : If you are taking a taxi/Hire car to the hotel ask the driver to drop you off at PREMIER LANE entrance to avoid the stair case with your heavy luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis budget Sydney East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Sydney East Hotel Sydney
Formule 1 Kings Cross Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing