We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a clean and a paint” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis budget Sydney East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ranked #120 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Needs a clean and a paint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I thought it was horrible, I paid AUD 214 for three nights, I appreciate its budget but this was just terrible. Dirty walls and windows, dirty toilet, dust on the TV, broken fitments, graffiti on the walls, halls stank of cigarettes. The bed was OK, there is also a bunk for kids, the room looked like a prison cell.
The desk staff were very nice and helpful, I could not fault them.
There is a $12 shuttle bus that runs around all the local hotels, I hour to the airport, but it was OK. There is a $9 buffet breakfast. WIFI is not free and expensive too.
Its budget yes, but come on IBIS you are an International chain, you need to up your game!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thrigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajith R, Front Office Manager at Ibis budget Sydney East, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We appreciated your valuable comments and assure you that the next time you visit our hotel you will be offered a better service. Thank you for the valuable feedback.

Kind Regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    154
    187
    109
    122
See reviews for
165
172
79
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I believe that this hotel is pretty decent. Facilities are clean and comfortable and it is a good deal for the price per night. I will recommend it to anyone particularly tourists who have a small budget for their holiday trip yet desire a location which is close to most of Sydney's popular sights & attractions. I won't mind staying there again. The only sore point about the hotel is the absence of wardrobe facilities which i find really inconvinient.

Room Tip: Desire a room with a view of the Harbour Bridge? No worries, mate! This hotel has got rooms for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chidubem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajith R, Front Office Manager at Ibis budget Sydney East, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your honest feedback. Your feedback and suggestions are a vital part of our growth. And for that, we are most grateful. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

After staying at ibis budget's in Europe I had high hopes for this. DO NOT STAY HERE. Light in bedroom would not work, bed on wheels when you role over the bed slides, stinks of cigaret smoke, loud and inconsiderate guests who scream and yell for hours at 5am. As someone who works in the travel industry i will not be suggesting this hotel to ANYONE.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank CamEdw92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajith R, Front Office Manager at Ibis budget Sydney East, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

We appreciate your feedback, and we regret that you have had difficulty during your stay at IBIS budget. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We will take necessary actions to avoid such circumstances in the future. Again, thank you for the valuable feedback.

Kind Regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Guam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here with my family (3 year old and 1 year old), and a large group. There is only one working washer and dryer in the entire hotel. It costs $8 total to wash and dry. Get your coins from the front desk in the morning because in the evening they are limited. There's no phone in the room, no microwave and no bath tub. The bathroom is simple. You walk in the toilet is in front of you and the shower curtain is inches from the toilet seat, so is the sink. Don't expect privacy if you are sharing this room with even just one person. It is near Kings Cross, the red light district, so every now and then someone colorful will walk through. Bumped into the police questioning some delinquent in the lobby while with my two kids. Never felt unsafe, and be prepared for minor inconveniences like climbing stairs to get in the hotel after hours, and long lines for the elevator. Don't expect clean sheets if you are there for 5 days, they don't change it out every 3 days. Don't look under your bed either. Saw a nice dusty vibrator under our bed. Didn't bother to clean that...

Room Tip: Be nice to the front desk staff, they are very courteous and respectful. The rooms are warm, but noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajith R, Front Office Manager at Ibis budget Sydney East, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

We appreciated your valuable comments and assure you that the next time you visit our hotel you will be offered a better service. Thank you for the valuable feedback.

Kind Regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

You-get-what-you-pay-for.--The-first-room-was-set-up-as-four-bunk-beds.--Not-for-us.Could-barely-walk-between-them,nor-use-them.

The-replacement-room-was-a-double-bed.

Plaster-off-the-walls-in-some-places.--Nearly-double-the-rate-for-the-weekend.

But-lovely-in-that-it-was-near-the-Opera-House-and-Jewish-Museum.

Room Tip: Be-clear-what-you-want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 511TravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajith R, Front Office Manager at Ibis budget Sydney East, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We appreciated your valuable comments and assure you that the next time you visit our hotel you will be offered a better service. Thank you for the valuable feedback.

Kind Regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I came with a big family. Eventhough the room is not big but it is still comfy. But this place is quite dangerous at night. This place is close to bar. One night, we heard people quarrelled outside the window.receptionist also not recommend anyone to go out after 10.30pm.anyway,the room is clean and they offer reasonable price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Y Hotel City South
#115 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#137 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#121 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
3.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis budget Sydney East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis budget Sydney East

Property: Ibis budget Sydney East
Address: 191 - 201 William St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Formule 1 Sydney East)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis budget Sydney East 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 minutes from the Sydney CBD in the cosmopolitan East Sydney, Formule 1 Sydney East is the ideal inner city budget accommodation. The lively area boasts a huge range of restaurants, bars and clubs; and is within walking distance to the city, Sydney shopping, museums, art galleries, Hyde Park and the colourful Oxford Street.From the close by train station, Bondi Junction, Circular Quay and many more attractions are only a few stops away. Rooms feature a queen size bed with single or double bunk, twin beds or quad share rooms and all have a private en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and LCD TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis budget Sydney East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Sydney East Hotel Sydney
Formule 1 Kings Cross Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing