We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Ranked #59 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A good stay”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a good experience overall at this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, quick to aid in making restaurant reservations on your behalf or to provide a tip on interesting things to do in the city. We tend to view hotels as a place to clean up and sleep, and so don't look for too much else; this hotel was just right for our needs. While some might consider it a little far from the harbour bridge and the opera house, the 40 - 60 minute walk (depending on your pace) was no trouble for us, allowing us to spot potential dining locations along the way. It is close to some other attractions, such as the aquarium at Darling Harbour and the Chinese garden of friendship, among others. The nearby Chat Thai restaurant is fantastic as well. We slept well at the hotel despite it being located on a busy street, and received exemplary service throughout our stay. The only real knock against it is the room size, which we had no problems with, but I could see it being an issue for some, but otherwise, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Shawn A,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Pensione Hotel Sydney. We are thrilled to hear you found our service exemplary and our team friendly and helpful. It is so nice to hear such great feedback regarding our team and our wonderful Hotel.
You are certainly right, there are plenty of great restaurants and eateries on the way to Circular Quay and indeed in the Haymarket district – almost too many to choose from!

We are happy to hear you slept well during your stay and hope you will find Pensione your home away from home next time you visit beautiful Sydney.

Warm Regards,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    526
    232
    77
    68
See reviews for
222
405
206
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We really liked this quirky hotel. Reception staff were delightful, room was very clean and quiet.

Location is ideal for CBD, Darling Harbour and theatres.

Secure (discount) parking just across the road and plenty of dining options very close.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Dave R,

What a fantastic review thank you very much. We are pleased to see that your stay was enjoyable. We love our quirky hotel too! We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in beautiful Sydney.

Warm Regards,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I shared a room/bed (petite standard) with my sister. We knew we had a very small room but it was more than we expected. The bed was VERY comfortable (huge!), and our bathroom was clean. We got a deal through airNZ which made it excellent value. For the same price we could have been in a backpackers, sharing a bathroom with other groups. But this was fantastic. Shampoo, conditioner and bodywash supplied. Fresh towels, amenities and the bed was made everyday, and air con which we weren't expecting either. Great location, heaps of nearby places to eat. The Haymarket Hotel (a couple doors down) do a great meal and drink deal everyday for around $12. They do the best $10 steak I've ever had. The Pensione has everything you need within a short distance. The staff were lovely, really helpful and accommodating. The guest lounge was an added bonus. They tell me they are getting a new website which is needed as i couldn't find a lot of info before we came, needless to say we weren't disappointed. Thanks guys, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Carolyn W,

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Pensione Hotel. We certainly enjoyed looking after you. I am thrilled to hear you loved the beds and found Pensione great value for money!

We are in a perfect location in the centre of Haymarket, and hope you can come back soon and let us look after you again!

Warm Regards,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Pro's
Close to Darling Harbour and situated on George Street with access outside the hotel for a free shuttle bus to circular quay

Friendly staff

On site kitchen with cooking facilities (albeit not used)

Cheap!

Cons

Tiny rooms we stayed in a deluxe double and it was still small.

Room was not cleaned to our satisfaction - a dirty sock left on floor in room from previous guest

Bed uncomfortable and sunk in the middle

For two nights of our stay there was a v strong smell of smoke! Apparently the hotel is no smoking but in the bathroom particularly it was strong so much so our clothes smelt of smoke. Not pleasant to wake up to in the morning.

Summary - if you a looking for cheap, basic and can make do with a box room it's fine for the money we paid ( we were able to secure a deal via a discount site)

Would not pay the advertised rate as there are better hotels for the money.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runners2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Runners2014,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Pensione Hotel. We are saddened to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us whilst staying in Sydney.

Our building is located in the centre of the CBD and is heritage listed, and as part of the eclectic nature of the building rooms are all different shapes and slightly vary in size. We always encourage open communication with our guests and we would have loved the opportunity to offer a different room and help resolve some of your concerns at the time of your stay.

We certainly are a 100% non-smoking in our guest rooms, and we encourage our guests to smoke outside at all times.

On a positive note, I am happy to find our team were friendly and you found our location to be convenient.
I would encourage you to contact our team direct if you wish to discuss your concerns further.

All the best and safe travels.

Warm Regards,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hmmm, where do we start. Price point is excellent. Bedding was pretty good. However, it was the smallest hotel room I have ever had the experience of staying in. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was fairly central to most things. The A/C in the room I stayed in first barely worked. However, the second room did not have that problem. The room itself was quite clean. If all you are after is a bed and shower, this hotel is pretty good for that. You will struggle if you have a large amount of luggage!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteKnightDBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear WhitenightDBS,

Thank you for reviewing the Pensione Hotel Sydney, we truly appreciate our guest’s feedback.

Our rooms are cosy, however being in the centre of Haymarket and in such an eclectic style heritage building some rooms are smaller than others. We believe Pensione Hotel Sydney is much more than a bed and shower, our service and cleanliness are just the tip of the iceberg.

We would love to welcome you back for another stay and would like to suggest trying one of Deluxe Rooms offering a larger living space which may be more suited to your needs.

Warm Regards,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Tucked in the main city area, the hotel was a good boutique hotel.
i was offered one of their renovated rooms, with twin beds, The room was a little small to my liking, but that was ok considering the price and the location, There could be some more lighting in the rooms.
The staff was helpful, and the room was clean. The hotel had all facilities listed on their website, Its a no frills budget boutique hotel.
Recommend if you are on a budget and highly recommend for the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kman1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Kman1819,

Thank you for your review and kind comments about the wonderful team at Pensione Hotel Sydney. We are thrilled you loved the location. Thank you for your feedback regarding lighting in the room. We will certainly look into this on your behalf.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We arrived before the 2:00 pm check-in, the friendly staff looked after our bags while we had lunch & had a look around Cockle Bay. We had booked a room for 4 & were pleasantly surprised when we had been upgraded to a king size bed. Room was small but clean & comfortable. Yes the A/C was a bit noisy, the bathroom needed an exhaust fan & the room was a bit basic but you don't travel to Sydney to sit in the hotel room, so it was convenient & well priced to be centrally located close to Darling Harbour, Paddy's markets & only 8 mins walk to Central Station.

Room Tip: Park your car at the Capitol Square carpark, just around the corner, validate your ticket & pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeDonna2582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear MikeDonna2582,

Thank you for taking the time to review Pensione Hotel Sydney. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Pensione Hotel Sydney, and happy that our team were able to accommodate you in one of our rooms with a King Bed! I am glad you agree that our location is convenient and central, nearly everything you need is on our doorstep. We hope to see you return in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#80 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#44 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#36 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Property: Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Address: 631 - 635 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Sydney’s entertainment and theatre district, the Pensione Hotel Sydney is centrally located and like no other. Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney
Sydney Pensione Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing