We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location , good price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Ranked #58 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Seaton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good location , good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

a small hotel in the heart of chinatown, a small hotel, with small rooms but for the trip purpose it was fine. Staff were very helpful regarding travel options to meeting locations and getting around
close proximity to great resturants, paddy's market, shopping and darling harbour - all in walking distance
For the value and location, i would stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear MichelleG,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review your stay at Pensione Hotel. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and our team were friendly and able to offer some local suggestions for dining and shopping. Please let us know if you are back in Sydney in the future and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Pensione Sydney.

Warm Regards,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    501
    224
    75
    66
See reviews for
213
380
194
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a very small room which basically pretty cramp together. The bed provided for 4 of us was 2 bunk bed and a double bed basically facing each other lol, In this room, you lose all your privacy to the other occupants. This room has a small bathroom which consisted of a tiny basin with small mirror, toilet and semi shower screen. Due to its location which is in the middle of the Chinatown and busy streets, it's pretty noisy at night, however you will get used to it after a while and end up sleep comfortably. The bed was very nice and fluffy with soft quilt cover. For the location and the no of people I book for, I think this hotel serves me just right with good price and location. I would recommend it more to group of friends or young families. This hotel is clean and tidy with very friendly receptionists and that's all matters!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsFloridaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear MsFloridaJoe,

Thank you for your review. Our rooms are varied shapes and sizes and some are configured a little differently to “normal” hotels; but we at Pensione don’t like to be just “normal”, we encourage quirky eclectic styles and being in such a historic building on George Street we make the most of every piece of space in this lovely historic building.

There is the daily hustle and bustle outside George Street, however we are always more than happy to locate guests away from the main street where possible – as you discovered first hand our team are always friendly and happy to assist where we can. It is great to see that you found our beds comfy and soft.

We always love to see return guests, so please feel free to contact our team next time you come back to beautiful Sydney and we will certainly look after you like family.

Warm Regards,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nerang
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

i just recently went to sydney for the vivid festival, and stayed at the pensione, what a beautiful old building, the location was perfect, walked to china town, paddys, darling harbour and star city. the staff there are amazing, always very friendly, and nothing is too much trouble in particular todd. theres a great dining room where you can eat takeaway or just have a few glasses of wine etc.some great eating places all nearby, i would definately go back to the pensione. p.s the beds are sooo comfy,

Room Tip: we were up on the fourth floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barefoottourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Barefoot Tourist,

Thank you for your great review. It is superb to see you enjoyed our wonderful hotel and we are proud that our team, in particular Todd were so helpful. We would love to see you back again in the near future, hopefully we will see you before Vivid 2015!

Warm Regards,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed at Pension Hotel Sydney only one night in May on my way back to Europe. Great stay, really good location with plenty of good eating spots at walking distance and not too far (on foot) from main attractions, very efficient and pro-active staff and really good value for money for Sydney. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalisa_Pr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Annalisa_Pr81,

We wish you could have stayed a little longer!

It is so nice to hear such great feedback about our wonderful hotel and team. We are thrilled to hear the team were pro-active and efficient. We love making our guests feel at home and hope next time you travel to Australia, you come back and visit us again! Safe travels.

Warm Regards,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Loved this hotel! The staff were friendly and helpful and we were able to leave our
luggage while we went to the Blue Mountains for a night. The guest room complete
with kitchen facilities, was a great space to play cards with our relatives. The
location is perfect - walking distance to every place, the free 555 bus stops in front
to take you to the ferries, and the bus and train stations are just a short jaunt away.
Would definitely return to the Pensione Hotel in Sydney!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Grace G,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us a Pensione Hotel Sydney and found our team to be friendly and helpful. We are in a great location and we are happy to hear you found it so convenient during your time in the city!

We would love to see you back, so next time you are in Sydney, please give us a call and we will be delighted to take care of you again.

Warm Regards,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a good experience overall at this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, quick to aid in making restaurant reservations on your behalf or to provide a tip on interesting things to do in the city. We tend to view hotels as a place to clean up and sleep, and so don't look for too much else; this hotel was just right for our needs. While some might consider it a little far from the harbour bridge and the opera house, the 40 - 60 minute walk (depending on your pace) was no trouble for us, allowing us to spot potential dining locations along the way. It is close to some other attractions, such as the aquarium at Darling Harbour and the Chinese garden of friendship, among others. The nearby Chat Thai restaurant is fantastic as well. We slept well at the hotel despite it being located on a busy street, and received exemplary service throughout our stay. The only real knock against it is the room size, which we had no problems with, but I could see it being an issue for some, but otherwise, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Shawn A,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Pensione Hotel Sydney. We are thrilled to hear you found our service exemplary and our team friendly and helpful. It is so nice to hear such great feedback regarding our team and our wonderful Hotel.
You are certainly right, there are plenty of great restaurants and eateries on the way to Circular Quay and indeed in the Haymarket district – almost too many to choose from!

We are happy to hear you slept well during your stay and hope you will find Pensione your home away from home next time you visit beautiful Sydney.

Warm Regards,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We really liked this quirky hotel. Reception staff were delightful, room was very clean and quiet.

Location is ideal for CBD, Darling Harbour and theatres.

Secure (discount) parking just across the road and plenty of dining options very close.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Dave R,

What a fantastic review thank you very much. We are pleased to see that your stay was enjoyable. We love our quirky hotel too! We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in beautiful Sydney.

Warm Regards,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#76 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Property: Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Address: 631 - 635 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Sydney’s entertainment and theatre district, the Pensione Hotel Sydney is centrally located and like no other. Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney
Sydney Pensione Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing