We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Ranked #70 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotel is situated well,our room was small but had everything we required and was priced well. It was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the fact we were able to leave our bags and wander around the city unemcumbered. Would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the same floor as the reception and near the elevator but it was extremely quiet. We didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria1for
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Maria1for,

Thank you for your excellent review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our wonderful hotel convenient and to your liking. We would love to see you return to Pensione Sydney, so please let us know next time you visit beautiful Sydney and we will certainly love to look after you again. Travel Safe!

Warm Regards,
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

I was a bit apprehensive after reading some reviews of this hotel. I arrived with my daughter for a one night stay, took the elevator to the reception desk and met Todd. He was cheerful, helpful and a credit to this hotel. The room we had was very clean and comfortable. This hotel is in a great location just steps away from China Town and close to Darling Harbour. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Nadine691,

What a lovely review Nadine691. Reviews like yours are the reason that our team, in particular Todd, work so hard to ensure we continue to give great service to each and every one of our guests. We are so glad that you and your daughter found our little hotel to be a great place to stay. We hope to see you back in the near future next time you are around our way. Let us know and we will be sure to look after you both again.

Warm Regards,
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night. Excellent location, close to everything. Staff were very helpful. Originally booked family room for our family of 6 but was notified that it was unavailable so they gave us 2 rooms next door to each other which was perfect. Rooms are a bit small but perfect for our needs. Very clean and the most comfortable beds. We all loved our stay at the Pensione Hotel in Sydney and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimngary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Kimngary,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Pensione Hotel Sydney. We are delighted to hear our team were very helpful and were able to re-accommodate you in two rooms adjoining each other. We take pride in our wonderful hotel and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you welcome you back in the very near future.

Warm Regards,
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed two weeks at the hotel, initially had a very very small room. But then the staff kindly found me a much better room. Very close to the CDC and a quick walk from the heart of the city.

Loved Sydney, loved Australia. The hotel staff were super helpful!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Lex B,

Superb! Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Pensione. It was a delight to be able to assist you and have you stay with us for a couple of weeks. Hopefully we will see you back in Australia, Sydney and our eclectic Hotel in the near future. All the best!

Warm Regards,

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

a small hotel in the heart of chinatown, a small hotel, with small rooms but for the trip purpose it was fine. Staff were very helpful regarding travel options to meeting locations and getting around
close proximity to great resturants, paddy's market, shopping and darling harbour - all in walking distance
For the value and location, i would stay again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear MichelleG,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review your stay at Pensione Hotel. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and our team were friendly and able to offer some local suggestions for dining and shopping. Please let us know if you are back in Sydney in the future and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Pensione Sydney.

Warm Regards,

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a very small room which basically pretty cramp together. The bed provided for 4 of us was 2 bunk bed and a double bed basically facing each other lol, In this room, you lose all your privacy to the other occupants. This room has a small bathroom which consisted of a tiny basin with small mirror, toilet and semi shower screen. Due to its location which is in the middle of the Chinatown and busy streets, it's pretty noisy at night, however you will get used to it after a while and end up sleep comfortably. The bed was very nice and fluffy with soft quilt cover. For the location and the no of people I book for, I think this hotel serves me just right with good price and location. I would recommend it more to group of friends or young families. This hotel is clean and tidy with very friendly receptionists and that's all matters!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsFloridaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear MsFloridaJoe,

Thank you for your review. Our rooms are varied shapes and sizes and some are configured a little differently to “normal” hotels; but we at Pensione don’t like to be just “normal”, we encourage quirky eclectic styles and being in such a historic building on George Street we make the most of every piece of space in this lovely historic building.

There is the daily hustle and bustle outside George Street, however we are always more than happy to locate guests away from the main street where possible – as you discovered first hand our team are always friendly and happy to assist where we can. It is great to see that you found our beds comfy and soft.

We always love to see return guests, so please feel free to contact our team next time you come back to beautiful Sydney and we will certainly look after you like family.

Warm Regards,
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

i just recently went to sydney for the vivid festival, and stayed at the pensione, what a beautiful old building, the location was perfect, walked to china town, paddys, darling harbour and star city. the staff there are amazing, always very friendly, and nothing is too much trouble in particular todd. theres a great dining room where you can eat takeaway or just have a few glasses of wine etc.some great eating places all nearby, i would definately go back to the pensione. p.s the beds are sooo comfy,

Room Tip: we were up on the fourth floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barefoottourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Barefoot Tourist,

Thank you for your great review. It is superb to see you enjoyed our wonderful hotel and we are proud that our team, in particular Todd were so helpful. We would love to see you back again in the near future, hopefully we will see you before Vivid 2015!

Warm Regards,
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#33 of 186 in Sydney
240 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#54 of 186 in Sydney
718 reviews
Vulcan Hotel
#84 of 186 in Sydney
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 186 in Sydney
4,583 reviews
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#107 of 186 in Sydney
71 reviews
Hotel Challis
#57 of 186 in Sydney
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Address: 631 - 635 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £74 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Sydney’s entertainment and theatre district, the Pensione Hotel Sydney is centrally located and like no other. Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney
Sydney Pensione Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing