We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat here but don't shop here”

Queen Victoria Building (QVB)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$310.77*
and up
Private: Historical Sightseeing Walking Tour of Sydney
More Info
US$100.90*
and up
Morning or Afternoon Half-Day Sydney City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #15 of 479 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sanctuary Point, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Eat here but don't shop here”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Most shops here will charge nearly double the retail to pay for elsewhere to pay for their high leases . Great restored building so enjoy it over coffee but i wouldn't shop here!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,291
    1,402
    292
    27
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A work of art”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I love the QVB. I wouldn't say that I shop there as such but I love walking through the beautiful levels and admiring the tiled floors, the stain glass windows and beautiful big domed ceiling and the clock centrepiece. There is something lovely about the light within the building and the sounds as they echo up through the levels. My favourite thing to do is wander along the levels and in and out of the many high end shops then I usually stop for a coffee on one of the higher levels and just sit and people watch. It is a piece of history right in the middle of the Sydney CBD and I hope that it remains so for many more years to come. The spiral stairs and small elevator are the originals from the late 1800's when the building was first opened, the whole building is a fantastic glimpse of architecture from this period. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KylesMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“QVB - Heaven”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I were tempted here for two or three days of browsing and snacking. This building is a renovated original that would have been demolished in Toronto. We loved the energy in the building and the mix of locals and tourists shopping. I particularly liked the jewelry store with the "cel phone free area" sign on the door. We shopped and snacked from top to bottom more than once and enjoyed visiting with the retail merchants that always had relatives or friends in Canada. A great place to wind down in the city centre when you need a drink and have time to shop or just people watch. Don't miss it if you're in Sydney.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bestbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagayan de Oro
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Character”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

With modern structures sprouting here and there I commend whoever runs the QVB for not replacing it with a modern one. It has retained its charm. Old buildings have character and history. Nice to walk around and visit the shops. Its a high end shopping place. We were able to buy a few things. There are many food places to eat. But we still ended up in a Chinese restaurant. Overall experience was okay.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Filipina1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Sopping”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Not bad to walk around shops ,food and under cover if cold, On a few levels but easy to get around , older style building which was good to walk through

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queen Victoria Building (QVB) also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Queen Victoria Building (QVB)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing