We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value - love it”
Review of Hotel Coronation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Coronation
Ranked #121 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value - love it”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I always stay at the Coronation when I visit Sydney. This hotel is all I need, a clean room with all that I need as I only sleep in it. The staff are always so wonderful, friendly and helpful. I love the old lift in this building. It's also in a great location to everything I could possibly want. The town hall station is just around the corner and everything is walking distance. I even walk to the Paddington Markets on Oxford Street - I love walking and enjoying my environment whilst exploring things I wouldn't normally on a bus etc. The price is excellent too - the cheapest you will find in Sydney. I highly recommend this hotel if you want good accommodation (without the bells and whistles) in a great location for an excellent price. Also, just catch the train from the airport and it takes you right to the doorstep at Town Hall station.

Room Tip: I haven't had any problems with the rooms I have stayed in on any of my visits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vera19K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thanks for all your comments Vera19K with the helpful tips for other readers too. See you next time you’re in Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    99
    40
    12
    15
See reviews for
39
77
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

As long as you not looking for 5 star the Coronation is what you looking for.
In a marvellous location, Town Hall Station across from QVB, stayed many times and will continue to do so.
Love it, clean, nice staff.
The lift is challenging but hey what the heck!

Room Tip: If you want quietness book a room that doesnt face Park st, abit loud at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 62Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thanks for the review, Tabbie45.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you can find a place any cheaper in the CBD, with amazing front desk staff, great value for money, clean and tidy then let me know ... great place, great service 10/10, we have stayed in the hotel several times and will be back again :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thanks for your great feedback Toodles 181. We love the lift too! Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Lets start how to get there....After getting thru customs, turn right and pass the McDonalds...You will see a man sitting behind the Airport train link desk, tell him you want to take the train to the TOWN HALL station. Once you get out of the train and heading toward the exit, look for the "George St" exit (east).. if you dont see the Woolworths inside the train station, then you are headed the wrong direction..Look for the Woolworths in the train station and take the stairs up from there...You could technically walk thru Woolworths to reach the hotel..The hotel door is 4 doors down from the Woolworths on Park street..
Check in was seemless, we arrived around 9am, and Travis was able to store our luggage until check in time....Travis was more than helpful, considering we were so early, he told us where to eat, what to see, what to do, and what direction to take....Without him we would of been lost...Much help was given,.....Thanks again Travis, you're the man.....

Rooms were cleaned everyday, and shampoo and soap were provided daily...The room size was great.....Considering most of Sydney CBD is quite expensive, this is an inexpensive bright gem considering its location...We were able to walk to Chinatown, circular quay, darling harbour and the opera house, as well as Paddingtons market, and the Sydney eye...All within walking distance...I was actually happily surprised myself that everything was within walking distance, even the train station was less than a 2minute walk..
Woolworths was right next door, where we were able to buy daily goods such as water, juices, snacks, fruits, and sandwiches etc....they had a deli counter, and hot food section also...
The elevator can be quite a handful, its an older elevator from the early years, adds a little charm to the hotel....Its a unique elevator, and after the 5-6th time all you can do is smile.^_^ and get used to it....It keeps you on your toes ;-)

Hot water was great in the shower, coffee and tea were provided in the room daily, as well as a fridge to keep the juices cold....
Checkout was seemless....Dee helped us check out, thanks for your help......
Overall great stay, looking forward to staying here again....
Could of used free wifi, but Mcdonalds was across the street, and the Apple store, as well as Starbucks were within walking distance...

Room Tip: Get a room with atleast 2 beds or get the suite, the rooms with one bed in them were so small, all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tkt2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thanks for the review Tkt2travel,

We are really happy you enjoyed the stay in Sydney. Also we are glad you liked our elevator's 'charm' we it's love character :) .

Hope to see you again. Hotel Coro,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Jetty, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I really like this hotel the price is right and the location is in the middle of the city so its only a short walk to Popular locations.
if your looking for a clean simple place to rest your head its perfect.
Woolworths is next door if you need anything too.
Train station is so close aswell.
Thankyou hotel coronation I will always be back. :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renny-racer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thanks for the review Renny-racer5. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a number of days in February 2014. My review is largely positive.
Positives
The hotel is fairly inexpensive considering that it is located in a very large and expensive city. The hotel is centrally located and provides easy access to the sights of Sydney. We even walked to the Opera House from our hotel. However, there is a free shuttle bus that you can catch nearby, which circles around the central area. It is called the CBD Shuttle and runs every 10 minutes, operating in both directions on a loop from Central Station to Circular Quay via George Street. We found the staff to be very helpful when we had any questions about sightseeing or we needed anything, for example, an electricity converter. We did not have a laptop computer with us, so when we needed to check email, we went to the PC room that is located inside Woolworth’s, right next to the hotel. The Woolworth’s turned out to be very convenient for us. We bought cereal, milk, and orange juice, which we put in the mini-fridge in our room.
Negatives
If you arrive on the weekend for check-in, you may be taken aback by having to walk into a bar. This hotel, in fact, has a bar on the first floor. However, there is a narrow hallway to the left of the bar where you actually check in. The old fashioned elevator is an adventure in itself, but you get used to it. When we arrived on our floor, I was surprised to hear music playing over the intercom in the hallway. I couldn’t quite understand the purpose of that, and I was afraid that we would be able to hear it in our room. However, we could not. I don’t know about rooms that are closer to the elevator. Our room was on the back side of the hotel, and thus not facing the street, so it was generally quiet. However, there were two glaring exceptions. One morning, we were awakened at 8:05 a.m. by a person speaking loudly. When I checked, it turned out to be one of the maids. There were two of them, working together in the room opposite ours. It did not appear that their conversation was about anything serious, but one of them was speaking very loudly. The loud one had a piercing Wagnerian voice that carried right into our room and woke us up. Someone should tell these ladies that they should do their work quietly and keep their voices low. Some hotel guests may actually be trying to sleep. We were also awakened one night at 3:00 a.m. by two drunken barbarians returning to their rooms. I do not blame the hotel completely for this type of problem. However, the hotel should have a strict no-noise, quiet hour policy that is made clear to each guest in the form of a printed handout.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Iconoclast526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for the kind words regarding the hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful and the hotel location was convenient for you.

Regarding our staff talking loudly when working early in the morning, we will speak with the housekeeping staff about considering sleeping guests to ensure this doesn't happen again. We also understand that noisy hotel patrons returning to their rooms could be a big inconvenience for you but please rest assured that this is a rare circumstance and generally there is not an issue with this.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you enjoy exercise this hotel is for you, had to walk up and down 4 flights of stairs for a week due to a broken elevator. Location is excellent but seriously do something about the ancient elevator.

Room Tip: check to see if elevator is working... then decide if you want to lug yourselves up and down flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012tourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We understand your frustration due to the elevator being out of service during your recent stay. This was an unforeseeable event which required significant repairs to ensure the ongoing safety of our guests.
Our staff made every effort to notify those who were yet to check in, and we apologise if they did not manage to contact you before you joined us for your week in Sydney.
Hotel Coronation management would like to assure you that this is not a regular occurrence and hope the rest of the facilities were to your satisfaction during your stay. We also hope you will consider our hotel for any future trips to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#67 of 179 in Sydney
274 reviews
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#126 of 179 in Sydney
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Hotel CBD
Sydney Hotel CBD
#116 of 179 in Sydney
184 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#103 of 179 in Sydney
1,800 reviews
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Park8 Hotel Sydney
#57 of 179 in Sydney
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coronation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coronation

Property: Hotel Coronation
Address: 5 -7 Park St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Coronation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Coronation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronation Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing