We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Important Site to Visit in Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anzac War Memorial

Anzac War Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
US$76.07*
and up
Sydney Bike Tours
Ranked #40 of 469 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An Important Site to Visit in Sydney”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Here in the United States, World War I seems a largely forgotten conflict. Perhaps the Second World War, Korea, Vietnam and more recent conflicts have crowded it from the national imagination. But for Australians, the ANZACs of World War I remain prominent in national remembrances. To better understand what makes Australians tick, visit this solemn monument. And when you return home, rent "Gallipoli."

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emerald-City N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    172
    57
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A solemn experience”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful memorial building. Definitely take a few minutes to go in and have a look at the displays which have actual pieces of history. The 120,000 gold stars on the ceiling which symbolise every soldier killed in the war is also a must, just look up! Free entry means there is no excuse to go and pay tribute.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank fieldo120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We shall remember them”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Fantastic memorial to australias fallen soldiers. The guides there are very helpful and lovely to chat too. Very moving place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelle190281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Extremely well done memorial”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stopped at the memorial after a walk through Hyde Park in November 2011. I had read a little about it before, but wasn't prepared for the impact it had on me. First, there was an exhibition area that was very informative. Second, we were in the Hall of Memory when they announced a moment of silence. It was incredibly moving to contemplate the sacrifice of soldiers in service to their country. It made me think of World Wars, loss ,and my own family. Really, I did not expect all of this during a walk in the park! The memorial is wonderfully done and respectful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RedNailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Really good and the history behind this place is unreal”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Huge building unreal history. Take camera get brilliant pictures place is full of amazing history and very informative. Go in day time and very central to city

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SWEENY30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anzac War Memorial also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Anzac War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing