We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A once in a lifetime experience & best way to see Sydney”
Review of Sydney Helicopters

Sydney Helicopters
Ranked #163 of 339 Tours in Sydney
Attraction details
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A once in a lifetime experience & best way to see Sydney”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Although not cheap, this is simply the best way to see Sydney and the local area, and the pilots and staff at Sydney Helicopters were great - very friendly, helpful and informative. We were two families (4 adults and 5 children aged 12 to 16) and had two helicopters, and a fantastic trip.
We took the ferry from Sydney Harbour up to Paramatta, and a taxi to the airport (make sure you have the address for the heliport as the taxi drivers weren't great). The ride took us inland to the Blue Mountains and then back out to the cost north of Sydney, form where we travelled down the coast and into the Sydney Harbour area.
Words cannot express how great the view was and it is really the best way to get a feel for the harbour / city and all the coves, beaches and surrounding attractions.
Will definitely do this again and would strongly recommend Sydney Helicopters - definitely a lifetime memory !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Si_H63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
beds
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must do in Sydney”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Had a fantastic 30 min trip from Paramatta to Sydney harbour visiting Sydney harbour bridge and the opera house.Big thanks to Hugh our pilot great value for money.I cannot praise this company enough.If you are coming from England like us do not miss out.We booked in Australia and was cheaper than booking in UK.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bedspip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable experience!!”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

I can't recommend this company highly enough. I booked a 30 minute trip over Sydney for my husband's birthday, specifically to take photos. Compared to other attractions like climbing the bridge it's great value for money, and though it is a little way out of town it's very easy in a car if you have one.

Everybody I spoke to when trying to decide which option to choose and then in the run up to the day was brilliant - they couldn't have been more helpful.

On the day Hugh was fantastic - he put lots of effort into making sure my husband got all the shots he wanted and made me feel safe as I was pretty nervous.

Helpful?
3 Thank AJT2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic!”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My Wife and I were delightfully able to enjoy a full day helicopter trip including wine tasting and a lovely meal in the Hunter Valley last week. Having never been in a helicopter before we were both a little apprehensive about what it would be like, but almost straight after lift off we instantly felt at ease and began to take it the magnificent sights. The low flight over the Harbour Bridge was just breathtaking!

Our pilot was called Peter and was very knowledgeable and gave us a commentary throughout explaining the views of the area. He was very polite and put us both at ease the whole time.

I agree with the comment below that the base is a bit hard to get to and out of the city, so would advise a taxi if possible as the train and walk was a bit of a faff.

All in all a great trip and definitely something I would recommend to others.

As we landed, another helicopter was landing next to us so I took a short video and posted it on Youtube. The landing of the helicopters was much smoother than I imagined!

http://youtu.be/w1Abwr6mHx4

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RicAllmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very cool, however...”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We went at sunset, it was brilliant.

However:

The staff didn't advise us on how to come so we ended up spending a lot more time and extra money using a train instead of a cab.

We booked a more expensive tour with the doors off at the behest of the agent and it was FREEZING (why wouldn't they mention that...hmmmm)

There were definitely two parts of the tour where I thought we were going to perish, but much to the credit of our pilot with an exotic African name that I cannot remember we did not.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank map_the_world_anew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sydney Helicopters also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing