We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very atsmospheric”
Review of The Cenotaph

The Cenotaph
Ranked #172 of 475 things to do in Sydney
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cenotaph, located between Pitt and George Streets, is the ceremonial focus for remembering the war dead. It sits in a wide, simple space, designed not to detract from the symbolism.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very atsmospheric”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This place is very important to Sydneysiders and evocates a lot of emotion. It is an important part of the Sydney ANZAC remembraNCE ceremonies. Situated in middle of city of Sydney.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bjk447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The atmosphere was lovely,i used to go there when i was a young girl with my granddad and have taken all of my children there also it has alot of history .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“I like to remember”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My dad was in the war, and I remember him and his mates, every time I pass this place, then I think of the futility of war.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pflynn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Sydney Cenotaph”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Respectful monument to fallen service personell. You'll find it in Martin Place, Sydney, with the magnificent GPO building alongside.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockdale, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“special place to remeber the fallen”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The Cenotaph is a special sombre place for quiet respectful visits to remeber the fallen during or as a result of war.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cenotaph also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Cenotaph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing