We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“family local beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbord Beach

Harbord Beach
Ranked #204 of 470 things to do in Sydney
Attraction details
Darwin
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“family local beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Harbord Beach is very nice and is much smaller than Manly Beach it is a family friendly locals beach so great to get away from the tourist masses.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

So close to Manly and much more quiet. Great surf and its a big beach... Awesome cafe up the road and checkout the Harbord Hilton as they call it... Its the local pub about 200 metres away... fantastic food...

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank hardline_media
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
“My Favourite Beach in Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

I have been going to Freshwater Beach all my life and it is my favourite beach in Sydney. I think Bondi is over rated and too touristy. I love Manly to wander around and eat but Freshwater Beach is where I take friends and family to swim, surf and relax. It is a beautiful sheltered patroled beach with parking, tidal pool, kiosk, cold showers, surf club, and a pub nearby. The beach is ideal for families and young children. During summer you need to get there early before 9 am for a good parking spot. Beautiful views and lovely to walk on and around. Remember to only swim between the red and yellow flags which are patriled by life guards.
There is on street parking and parking for a fee close to the beach.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Agro_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Our 2nd Favourite Beach in Sydney!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We love this beach because it is so family friendly and the local village of Harbord is quaint and friendly. The beach is huge with grassed areas to the back for a picninc or BBQ. Only problem is parking... :(

Helpful?
3 Thank Aussie_Travel_Writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Freshwater beach, honestly my favourite for about 10 years before I stopped sun loving so much. Just be careful, even though the beach is fairly sheltered the water here can be deceptive and quite rough at times (the main reason I used to like it)

Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbord Beach also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Manly, Greater Sydney
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Harbord Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing