We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
A highly informative and engaging guided tour

One of the best guided museum tours I’ve been on. The lead guide was engaging, knowledgeable and a... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
GlennS249
,
Melbourne, Australia
via mobile
Worth a visit

This is a guided tour visit due to the size of the place. The guide was knowledgeable about the... read more

Reviewed 23 April 2024
julieth534
,
Reading, United Kingdom
Read all 349 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Sydney
from £23.88
More Info
from £36.62
More Info
from £27.59
More Info
from £61.29
More Info
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
221
101
18
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
221
101
18
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big dig small museum homes stories rocks guide century tour demolition era housing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The Rocks in the 21st century is prime real estate, but Susannah place is a living reminder of a time when it belonged to the working class and is testimony to its struggletown beginnings. The houses have been preserved in different states according to their individual history, and there has been no glossing up or unnecessary restoration. The rooms have been put together according to oral histories gathered from all the surviving tenants and the guide tells their stories bringing the place to life. One can imagine the former inhabitants sitting around a coal grate on a cold night or hurrying through a cold bath in the outhouse bathrooms. If you are fascinated as I am by times gone by then don't miss Susannah Place Museum.

Date of experience: November 2012
2  Thank Margie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed this museum. Each of the houses is staged for different periods. Guide was very helpful and knowledgeable. Very glad they saved these houses. Shop interesting too. Another Sydney must see. Note: times in Lonely Planet guide are not right. Call before turning up.

1  Thank SarahS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Largely surrounded by modern development, this 'oasis' provides a unique snapshot into the lives of working class Sydney from the mid 19th Century until as recently as the mid 20th Century. Largely in original condition, the small terrace of homes reveals much of the life and times of ordinary people. Rooms are furnished in a range of styles to reflect a 100 years plus of change the area underwent and underlines the cramped conditions in which residents lived. The guided tour, costing AUD 8 (concessions AUD 4) begins with a short video, where former tenants recount their memories. Our guide was well versed in social history, illustrating his lucid account with photographs on an iPad, thereby enriching our experience. Questions are encouraged and fully answered. An authentic period shop is incorporated into the buildings, from where everyday 'heritage' products may be purchased. Unfortunately, photographs are not permitted, other than in the shop, as there has been a problem arising from publication on the Internet. However, this is a fascinating experience for anyone interested in Sydney's history.

Date of experience: November 2012
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2012

A terrific peep into the lives of ordinary Sydney-siders from the 1840s to the 1970s. A great sense of "wow" as you are guided around, and reminded of how tough life was for most people, and what we take for granted today. A lovely guide took us around, tour well suited to adults and over 8s - could be tricky with younger children.

Thank Thornbird3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The tour of Susannah Place Museum, houses built in 1844 for workers and their families was really interesting. It brought to life how families lived in such cramped conditions, no running water, outside loos and baths. When these houses were set for demolition in later years, about the 1970's, the locals were determined that they would remain and after mass demonstrations, these lovely old homes can still relate their story. A few alterations have been done to the houses over the years as people continued to live in them. The last were caretakers in 2007. An informative guide and the shop is just great.

Date of experience: October 2012
Thank kiwiart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews