We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long stayers let this hostel down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backpackers HQ

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers HQ
Ranked #60 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Long stayers let this hostel down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week. Although it is a nice hostel with good facilities the long stayers really give this hostel a bad feel.
Right from the get go they make you feel unwelcome kind of like you are in their way!. Mostly the staff are great apart from the night staff as you get the feeling they are also long stayers so seems like they find it difficult to tell them to be quiet or clean up after themselves. Hostel is quite clean although they could Hoover under the beds once in a while.

All in all the facilities are ok and the hostel is nice well organised free breakfast a plus. It's good if you are happy keeping yourself to yourself as there is no interaction with others here. Oh and you don't mind being kept up with loud noise coming from the courtyard area even though the signs are plentiful telling you that you can't be in there after 10pm it seems the long stayers can do what they want when they want!.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauz06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    30
    21
    8
    22
See reviews for
Families
0
19
54
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed in room 10 for the first few nights. It is a 6 bed mix dorm. Generally it is clean but the room is too small for 6 people. It makes packing of the luggage very difficult. There is water leaking in the room but I believe the leak has been repaired.

We went on to room 20 for the last night. It is a 4 bed dorm and I am surprised that the room is a lot more spacious than room 10. I am not sure about the difference in price as I pay the same amount for all the nights.

The hostel is less than 100m from the Kings Cross station. Kitchen is available for use and there is free breakfast in the hostel. WIFI tends to be laggy. Remember to bring padlocks as lockers are provided.

Overall, the hostel is well-organized and definitely a place to rest your feet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XinYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

It's a perfect location -- even though Kings Cross has a crazy nightlife, this felt like a little oasis. The metro station is practically next door so I used it daily to get everywhere. The rooms are clean, there are lots of power points and lockers for everyone. They close off the main courtyard at 10pm and then everything is nice and quiet. The free breakfast is a plus. The front desk staff is SO helpful and kind. FREE WIFI is my favorite thing! And one tip -- Joe's Coffee is right next door and it's delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Great location in the centre of kings cross. Good size rooms that are kept clean and tidy. Friendly and approachable staff. Good common areas- large tv room, outside patio and free BBQ to use when it's sunny. Only draw back is if you have a room on the front it can be a little noisy on a Friday and Saturday night but is expected in the cross.
Reasonably clean kitchen with good facilities-just depends who else is staying in the hostel and if they bother to clean their own things up.
A good hostel to choose if our planning on staying in Sydney for a while-would definitely recommend to other backpackers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juicy173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed in room 15 and it was possibly the noisiest room on earth. It's windows opened onto the courtyard and all night you heard people coming/ going/ being generally loud. Considering they reckon they shut the area off at a certain time they must have forgotten that during my stay.

It wasn't all bad, the lockers are good sized however I had to go buy a padlock. The wifi is decent and the staff are friendly. If clubs and things are what you're after it's location is a 2 minute walk from most of them.

Overall it's an average place to stay that has potential to be good If you get a decent room. If they offer you room 15 and you have to be up for an early flight then walk away!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loudbstrds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

One of the best hostels. Staff was very friendly and always ready to help. Rooms were clean and comfortable and my room even had shower. Great location, close to the city. Even it is next to street where night life is going on, the hostel is very quiet and save. Great people, great hostel. Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank likeanair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

HQ is an awesome hostel, the rooms are great, the hostel attracts a respectful but fun crowd of backpackers. They have great facilities, I love the court yard and the kitchen area is fantastic. Their wifi is really good, at some places it's so slow you can hardly open a web page on the net. Their customer service is fantastic, they helped me book a surf trip because I didn't have a phone, they moved my reservation back a week so I could do the surf trip, and they helped me carry my heavy luggage up and down the stairs. The place is really clean and the people are very friendly. I've been to a few other hostels and they don't even compare. There is promoters that come in offering free drinks and admission And then the people staying here go out for drinks together its very nice when your traveling alone. I highly highly recommend this place for sure! They even have a shuttle to the airport for the cheapest price I could find.. Cheaper then taking the train even.. Fantastic spot close to the heart of kings cross!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2 and thought it was great but choosing one with An exterior window would be nice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heartsdesires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#36 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#13 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Kings Cross
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 136 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Darlinghurst
Nates Place Backpackers
Nates Place Backpackers
#40 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers HQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers HQ

Property: Backpackers HQ
Address: 174 Victoria St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers HQ 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers HQ is a friendly, clean and safe oasis in the heart of Kings Cross. We have just undergone a major renovation to modernise this beautiful building. Our friendly staff will make you feel welcome with FREE Breakfast daily, FREE Internet, FREE airport shuttle pick-up (conditions apply), FREE entry and FREE drinks in local bars and clubs. Our rooms are spacious, clean and secure with beautifully polished wooden floor boards or tiles. Many rooms have en-suites and fridges. All have security locker storage. Relax in our new TV lounge area or out the back in the timber decked courtyard. A great place to make new friends. Our friendly and helpful staff can help you find a job, buy a car, show you Sydney like us locals know it or tell you where to party every night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers HQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing